We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek design, dockland location”
Review of Romeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Romeo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This property was a nice surprise after having navigated through an unpleasant neighbourhood in Naples. However, a luxury hotel facing docklands looses a bit of its charm. Fortunately, rooms on the higher floors offer a beautiful view on the Vesuvio and on the bay. Others don't, so don't even look out of your window. Breakfast is served on the top floor, which makes the view even nicer. But as in most design boutique hotels, you need to waste some of your time looking for the right switches to turn off the light in your room before going to bed. That's the drawback as always!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room on a high floor with a view on Vesuvio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a long overdue review as I stayed at Romeo Hotel last August for one week. We chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed, on the contrary, our expectations were by far exceeded. We enjoyed everything about our stay.

First, the hotel is incredibly stunning, immaculate and very modern. The lobby area is absolutely amazing, it is like a fabulous design museum, you would want to take a picture of every single furniture (don’t miss the fountain, it is truly fascinating).

The staff is very professional and discrete, just perfect.

Spacious, quiet and immaculate bedroom (we had a deluxe bay view). Amazingly comfy bed and pillows, beautiful and high tech bathroom space, with everything you could expect from a 5 star hotel, and excellent water pressure. There are beautiful sliding glass and mirror doors so you can manage to preserve some privacy. Only a very minor issue with sensor motion lights that would sometimes switch off out of the blue.
There is indeed a nespresso coffee machine, with only one pod provided. But as we had read the other reviews, we took extra pods with us and could enjoy free espressos as much as we wanted, and it was great.
Everything is really as on the pictures provided on the website, or even more beautiful I would say.

From the rooftop swimming pool area, the view over the Vesuvius, Naples bay and the port is spectacular, either during the day or the night (don’t miss the sumptuous pool lights at night, while enjoying a cocktail). The swimming pool in itself is not big (you couldn’t swim) but is big enough for a very relaxing break and has amazing Jacuzzi chairs. If you want to enjoy the sun, it’s better to come in the morning. While we were there in high season, it was never too crowded.

At breakfast, which was delicious, there were a large choice of products, and it was also possible to order espressos, etc. (though freshly squeezed orange juice would have been a must).

We tried the Japanese restaurant (upstairs) and the Michelin star Il Commandante and both were amazing, although a bit pricey, but given the fabulous food, exceptional surroundings, stunning view and perfect service, this was totally worth it.

The location is ideal, in immediate proximity of the ferries to go to the islands, and also very close by the historic center. We walked the whole time. Contrary to what other reviewers may have said, we found that the area was safe enough and never encountered any problem, even when coming back quite late at night.

Overall, an amazing stay (our only regret is that we didn’t have the time to try the spa). I will definitely come back the next time I will be in Naples, and would never consider going anywhere else. Romeo Hotel was a truly luxurious refreshing heaven after exhausting days spent visiting Naples and the surroundings.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor room if you want a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dussaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you appreciate art and design, you will love this hotel. The location is spot on, great views, close to the port, close to the historic area, easy access for all that Naples has to offer. Oh and the Spa. The spa facilities are fantastic, very relaxing and a total oasis of calm. Breakfast was superb, the rooftop spa pool was much appreciated too. The rooms are ultra modern and sleek, as are all the public areas, it was a feast for the eyes to look at all the fabulous design pieces located all around the place. The cigar room was a novelty, a room where smokers can go inside the hotel, but with an amazing air filtration system that stops the smell of smoke from escaping.
The only negative point was that they charge for absolutely everything, using the gym on a daily basis - really? yeh really! they charge for spa access even when you are paying for treatments, which i think is rather poor for a 5* establishment. You get a nespresso coffee machine in-room, the first coffee pod is free, then you pay for additionals, again, i would expect a daily refill to be complimentary. Maybe i'm being a bit English. But that said, would it stop me from visiting this hotel again? In a word, No. I liked the luxury and the location, the room rate was reasonable enough, so all things considered, it was a great trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yummymummynorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Location: This hotel is perfectly located – easy access to main highways if driving, practically right across the road from the ferry and within easy walking distance into Naples town. We booked to stay here for a week as we planned to drive to the Amalfi Coast, visit Herculaneum and Pompeii, Vesuvius, Naples itself and anything else we could fit in. There was nowhere to park at the hotel but they offer a valet parking service and the car was parked or brought to us as required. The parking was VERY expensive at 34 € per day which really added up. We should have researched this better.

The Hotel: Very slick and modern with a really unusual, eclectic reception area. From the minute you walk in you know this place is special. The reception is off to the right which is not immediately evident and there are a few steps up which you have to carry your own luggage (or leave in by the door). Presumably there are porters who will deal with this but we did not know that at the time having just arrived.

Everything from the elevators to the light switches have been thought through in this hotel, it's a real gadget-lover or designer's dream come true. Unlike many other luxurious places we've stayed, this is not a case of style over practicality. Everything looks good and the gadgetry just enhances your stay.

The rooftop pool is fairly small, large enough for a dipping not rally swimming. The subtle pool lighting makes it a relaxing area to sit even after daylight hours with the added benefit of having the bar nearby – the bar staff were happy to bring drinks along with large portions of delicious nuts and nibbles – and of course there are the amazing, ever changing views of Vesuvius and the bustling Bay of Naples. Stunning really. At first we weren't sure about being right next to the ferry port but by the end of the week it was part of the routine to have an early evening drink and watch the ferries and boats arriving and leaving.

Room: We loved our room (rm 604). Clean. Super comfy bed with an assortment of fluffy pillows, gadgetry everywhere, hairdryer, safe, toiletries, etc. Nice big sink, mirrors, bathrobes and lots of electric sockets for toothbrushes, blow dryer, etc. The controls for room such as the lighting, temperature control, do not disturb sign, light switches and the tv were pretty hi-tech. Huge glass widows with views over the Bay of Naples and blackout curtains so you could control the light.

Bathroom: Great shower, possibly the best shower I've ever encountered in a hotel. Easy to control, perfect water temperature and excellent pressure. By the way, you could not see into the shower from the bed area. My one and only complaint is that there was a lack of somewhere to hang stuff (i.e. towels) around the sink area.

Food: Breakfast was good. It was buffet style in the main restaurant area (next to the pool) and also what was the Japanese restaurant at other times. Nice selection of fresh breads, cakes and pastries, a small selection of hot food as well as cold cuts, cheese, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc. The sun can be pretty low and some of the tables had quite a glare in the morning, the staff can put the blinds up if you ask.The coffee was great one and day very weak another, best to just specify how you want it.
We ate in the hotel only a couple times as we were out a lot sampling nearby pizza, gelato, etc! The Japanese for some reason was being served upstairs and not in what seemed to be the 'proper' location on the ground floor. It did not matter really as we had the great views. The waitress we had was really helpful and courteous, the entire dinner was excellent, we wished we had time to go again. The bill was around 150 € for 3 courses and drinks. We also had lunch one day which was around 45 € with drinks included.

The Spa: The Spa was smallish, unsurprising as it is a city centre hotel, but it seemed to have everything, plunge pools, massage rooms, etc. I personally found it a little claustrophobic as I like space – so not the best spa I've ever been to but certainly adequate. There were quite a few local business people using it during lunchtimes so it must be pretty good.

The staff: I read some TA reviews about the staff not being very helpful or friendly. In fact we only had one guy at reception who was a bit snappy and offish, we never actually saw him again and without exception everyone else was very helpful, friendly and could not do enough for us. The restaurant and bar staff were particularly great and really went out of their way to help.

Overall we loved the Romeo Hotel – there is no question if we ever visit Naples again, we will be staying here.

Room Tip: The higher the better as you can see more of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Fantastic modern hotel, featuring a unique design and esthetic, fusing contemporary Italian and classical Japanese themes, with superb amenities, including two excellent restaurants and an outdoor rooftop pool, convenient location near the waterfront, providing easy access to ferries for island excursions, also in close proximity to the historic district of Naples.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel looks new and is clean, but they've consistently chosen looks over functionality. Whether it's the nice but useless bread knives at breakfast, or the good-looking but privacy-deprived bathroom doors, if you care about good and functional design, you'll find something that annoys you around every corner. Ok location, good service.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Spradebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Hotel is uber modern but very comfortable.
The rooms are spacious, quiet – everything on a button control. The Bathroom lights on a sensor which can be confusing.
The Breakfast is absolutely wonderful - Top floor with view of Harbor and Vesuvius.
The Staff, especially Reception, and Breakfast Service is very accommodating with excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,491 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,055 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 185 in Naples
2,650 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Hotel

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 45, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Naples
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#37 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £190 - £471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Romeo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the famous Japanese architect Kenzo Tange & Associates from Tokyo, Romeo hotel is the perfect balance of modern design, contemporary art and antiques expressed in the highest quality “Made in Italy”. 83 luxury accommodations, an amazing rooftop pool and a 10,000 sq ft luxury SPA, for a memorable experience of luxury and bliss. Romeo hotel’s gastronomic offer includes a refined Sushi Bar & Restaurant in the lobby area and the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant Il Comandante on the 10th floor. An authentic luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing