We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 5-star hotel, fantastic spa, best of Naples”
Review of Romeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Romeo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My friend and I got a spa weekend gift from our husbands. Check-in was pleasant, we got escorted to our room on the 6th floor, got showed everything, and it was a beautiful room with a nice bathroom, shower room, and plenty of space. Bed had large comfortable pillows. We went to the spa for mani/pedi and spa staff was very courteous. We had wellness teas and also enjoyed the heated outdoor pool on the top of the hotel with an amazing view of Vesuvius and the port. Yes, you do see the buses, ships, etc but that's part of being by the port. It's still a lovely view. The outdoor pool with its many jets was absolutely relaxing and great for sore overworked muscles. We had pre-dinner drinks at the sushi bar and the bartender made me a very special wasabi martini that was just perfect. Ill write a separate view of our dinner at the restaurant (also fantastic).
The next morning, we had a delightful breakfast on the 9th floor. Then we went off to visit the spa with its thermal pools and saunas. It was the best and cleanest spa I've been to in Naples. Then we had an exfoliating scrub and massages at the spa. They did a great job, again the best massage I've had in Naples. The standards were true to luxury American spas. Some of the spa staff don't speak English but it wasn't an issue for us. The only complaint is that they only put one layer of nail polish with the mani/pedi and no top coat protection, so a day later the nails are chipped. This happened at other spas too so perhaps it's the standard in Italy.
Overall, a true Italian 5-star experience, a very relaxing weekend, very accommodation and professional staff. I'd love to spend another weekend there.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear SallyM,.
thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you here again.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

I've been to a business meeting at Romeo's hotel last Saturday. I found the staff welcoming and very professional.
Beautiful hotel, unique art and luxurious design.
This kind of boutique high luxury hotel is more likely to find in London, Paris or NYC.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ladyshirel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Ladyshire,
thank you for your review!
Your satisfaction is our satisfaction. We hope to see you sooner.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we didn't want to spend too long in Naples. Not the greatest of cities to say the least.

The hotel overall was no better than average. The service, food and size of rooms were no better than average with a very poor and underwhelming view of the dockyard. The hotel tries to be stylish being mostly black and quite often the look doesn't work although some of the technology in the rooms is quite cool.

In our one day there we were lucky enough to enjoy the underground spa which had the luxury of not having a view of the city. Also the spa pools were excellent and had a lot of variety. If you ever find yourself in this hotel then you must experience the spa which is the one shining light from the city and the average hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simonpope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear simonpope2,
thank you for your review and for the special words used to describe our luxury SPA: indeed, at the moment it is the best SPA in Naples.
As far as the hotel location is concerned, everywhere when the hotel is described, the proximity to the harbour and the cruise terminal is underlined. As you can imagine, it cannot be a pedestrian area, and it is a little bit crowded during the rush hour. On the other side, this location is very useful for people who would like to visit the Islands, Amalfi and Sorrento Coasts, and for business travellers that need to reach train station and airport in few minutes!
Analysing your words, I think that you did not like the view from your view, but actually you do not prefer Naples too much as one of your favourite holiday destinations. Like other cities in the world, Naples shows several cons, but , believe me, it has also a lot of pros (history, monuments, food and wine, people, place of interests,…)!
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel was a curious contradiction. The property itself is very nice. The lobby is Interesting with its various chairs and electronically controlled waterfall display. The entrance itself is also quite lovely at night with its lighted front and sidewalk.

We were upgraded to a corner room which was somewhat small but adequately sized for the two of us and our extensive assortment of luggage. The shower was somewhat of a challenge to figure out but we finally did. Controlling the motion sensitive light in the bathroom was beyond our collective abilities but was a minor inconvenience at best. The zebrawood floors and walls was a little much but not unpleasant. Notwithstanding these negatives, we generally liked the physical aspects of the hotel, especially the deck overlooking the dock for the buffet breakfast.

The breakfast was quite good and we were able to order eggs and beverages to our liking.

The concierge staff was very pleasant and helpful in suggesting restaurants and arranging for our drivers and touring.

Unfortunately, the location for this hotel is not great. It is right across from the docks so unless you're meeting a cruise here it is a questionable choice if you like to walk around a lot at night unless, of course, you're ex-Special Forces. If you're street smart, you take a cab to the restaurant of your choice at night or, as we did, go to a nearby restaurant staying on the main drag as long as you can. The restaurants suggested by the concierge staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 993Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear 993RON,
thank you for review!
The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in front of the main harbour (where everyday ferries and hydrofoils depart for the Islands of Capri and Ischia) and the cruise terminal. As you can imagine, it cannot be a pedestrian area, and it is a little bit crowded during the rush hour.
On the other side, this location is very useful for people who would like to visit the Islands, Amalfi and Sorrento Coasts, and for business travellers that need to reach train station and airport in few minutes!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were so excited to finally reach Naples and were looking forward to this hotel as it looked great in the pictures but were totally disappointed. Its a very cheap quality hotel with cheap furniture and poor rooms. Looked like a playschool, the bathroom also wasnt good.

The only good thing about it was the breakfast.Staff was also very ok, not friendly welcome. When u phone them it took ages to service us. Location was ok, but not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear flam18,
thank you for your review! But I am totally disappointed about what you wrote.
Our rooms are not poor, and moreover we do not use cheap furniture. Just to let you know, in all public areas, and in our rooms too, we use only the excellence of Made In Italy, like B&B and Poltrona Frau, which are, if you do not know, two of the most important design Italian brands.
And I can assure that our photos and our website are the “real picture” of our hotel. Try to click on Virtual Tour in our website home page, you have the possibility to visit in advance every corner of the property and realise what kind of prestigious furniture we offer.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Romeo for 2 nights as part of our Italy honeymoon. Much better than the hotel we stayed in Milan (more expensive too). The service was impeccable, (they even allowed us a free 4pm late checkout on our last day). They upgraded us to a corner room with views of the port and city. The hotel is right across the port so you get mixed views of the the bay of Naples, the ships in the port and the port buildings some of which are not very nice but in all a very Neapolitan picture.

The room and amenities were great, the decoration too. Free wifi but signal too weak in the room (strangely enough it worked in the bathroom) but ok in the lobby and breakfast room (ninth floor with a great view)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pantelis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Pantelis D,
thank you very much for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again...
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Staying there 1 night only for a soccer game was a good choice. Breakfast and location of the restaurant are very nice. The rooms clean, small but also nice. Area around the hotel is everything in walking distance or 5 min. Taxi. We didn`t try the Sushi Bar, because during our stay it was not open, but we didn`t check opening hours. Good for a weekend trip for couples. Def. not a family hotel, as you would miss a bigger lobby e.g.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Roger S,
thank you for your review. I am very happy that you appreciated the hotel, its facilities and its perfect location. I suggest you to come back again and try our Sushi Restaurant..you will enjoy our Japanese tasting menus.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,538 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Parker's
#25 of 185 in Naples
1,134 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Hotel

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 45, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Naples
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £202 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Romeo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the famous Japanese architect Kenzo Tange & Associates from Tokyo, Romeo hotel is the perfect balance of modern design, contemporary art and antiques expressed in the highest quality “Made in Italy”. 83 luxury accommodations, an amazing rooftop pool and a 10,000 sq ft luxury SPA, for a memorable experience of luxury and bliss. Romeo hotel’s gastronomic offer includes a refined Sushi Bar & Restaurant in the lobby area and the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant Il Comandante on the 10th floor. An authentic luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing