We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms”
Review of Romeo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Romeo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great rooms”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Great rooms with good service. The pool is ok, but in the wrong direction, only sun in the mornings. The sushi resaurant is crap. Very high prices over all. There is not many restaurants in the area, more or less only offices and the harbour for ships.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Petter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Petter K,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Romeo Hotel. Our main goal is to offer our guests a very comfortable and design space with excellent services; we are therefore happy to know that you did enjoy your stay with us. We have carefully read your review about the Romeo Sushi Bar & Restaurant. We are surprised to hear that you didn’t enjoy your dinner and that you’ve not had this occasion to appreciate our restaurant’s real value. We want you to know that our chef elaborates every plate according to the Japanese tradition and with fresh and high quality ingredients. We invite you also to try our starred restaurant which proposes more traditional and occidental plates that will certainly satisfy you. We hope to have you back with us at the Romeo Hotel sometimes soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    238
    114
    43
    43
See reviews for
134
529
30
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
327 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We would recommend staying at the hotel for a Naples city break. We stayed for 5 nights and it really stands out in the area. The furnishings are very hip. Our room was clean and large with a separate gym area and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast selection was excellent and the staff very helpful. We used the great spa most days and again the staff here were an asset to the hotel. In terms of the hotel experience it was very good with only a few niggles - the bathroom layouts are poor with toilets too close to the sinks, and why give you a coffee machine with only 2 free capsules for the stay - mean - at least 2 a day surely, after all you've paid for a room everyday.
The roof top pool whilst small is lovely, but short of enough sun beds, but the worst thing is that when people finish lunch they poor outside and stand next to you have their cigarettes - one afternoon 8 people next to us puffing away - a caring hotel would create an appropriate area foe smokers. The main concern we have the hotel is their "Michelin Star Restaurant". Whilst I have reviewed this under restaurants it should be noted that despite several visits to the hotels reception we didn't get any contact from the hotel general manager, nor have we since our return. I mention this because the way a hotel deals with problems says a lot about the hotel - I would therefore have zero confidence that if we had any other serious problems they would have be dealt with. This

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sheffview,

We would like to thank you for your precious review about the Romeo Hotel. We are very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and all the services provided by our hotel. The Romeo Hotel isn’t only about design, but as you mentioned it, we want our guests to live a special experience by staying with us. We read carefully your review, and took note of every comment that will be helpful to improve our services and products. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t fully enjoy our starred restaurant. You will find our answer about your experience at Il Comandante in the appropriate review. We hope to see you soon back with us at the Romeo Hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels in my life time and on this occasion I had my 10 month old son and wife with me. I read many reviews before booking the hotel and I would say that all the rumours of people being racist or ignorant were stupid.

From the time we arrived at the hotel to the time we left ( we stayed for one full week ) it was a wonderful experience. The staff were first class and helped us on everything we asked for. Within a week I felt like I have a very big family because of the hotel staff. The set up of the hotel is very perfect and they literally have everything that you would week in a 5 star hotel. I would go as far to say that I feel it should be a 7 star hotel.

The room was very specious, modern and clean. It was big enough that my son learnt to walk a little as he had lots of space to move into. The room was cleaned twice a day and we were always left surprised every evening when we came from outside to see the room so clean.

I want to take this opportunity to thank every one at hotel Romeo and I am very certain that I will be staying there again if I visit Naples again in future. Thank you everyone and keep up the brilliant job your doing at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalbag Singh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Dalbag Si,
We would like to personally thank you for your review about the Romeo hotel and especially for having mentioned the qualities of our staff. Providing our guests within an unforgettable experience and therefore satisfying them is the best award for us. We would be very happy to welcome you again at the Romeo hotel!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

From the first look you know that this is a special hotel.. From the glass front, to the fountain inside to the unique decorations. the staff was attentive and helpful -- we arrived at the hotel in the morning so they kept the luggage until a room was ready, and moved it up while we went out sightseeing. the location is good for central Naples -- on the bay, you can watch the city from the rooftop pool, which is actually a huge massaging hot tub to relax in after a long day walking on the stone sidewalks and streets. We at in the restaurant on the 10th floor and the chef's tasting meal was inventive and delicious. Drinks in the lobby bar were easy. They organized a driver to take us to Pompeii English speaking was a bit over stated. the rooms were modern with lots of glass but not stark. buttons by the bed control the lights and drapes. the bathroom light turns on as you walk into the room, but may also turn itself off if you "overstay" the timer.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator and we never heard any outside noise. Next time we will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Kathy S,
We would like to thank you for the review about the Romeo Hotel and especially for describing every service you enjoyed during your stay. The Romeo hotel is a unique boutique luxury hotel not only because of its decoration but also because of its staff and its high quality facilities. Providing our guests with an unforgettable experience is our main objective, we are therefore happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back at the Romeo hotel sometimes soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked this hotel through an internet site having no prior knowledge of it or of Naples and we could not have picked a better place to stay. We have stayed 7 nights so that we can have time to properly explore Naples and all the visitor attractions in the area. It is perfectly located opposite the port so it is a short walk to the ferries to the islands of Capri and Ischia. We booked a deluxe room which faces the sea and had a stunning view of the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. The room is well equipped with a desk and chair plus a relaxing chair. The shower is amazing and has a sliding wall to open up the bathroom area to the bedroom area or close it off. Ultra modern but still cosy. The housekeeping staff are excellent, we have been given fresh towels every day along with a turn down service each evening and complimentary water and chocolates in our room each day plus a card with a weather report for the following day. The rooftop pool is stunning with views of the bay and Vesuvius and the breakfasts each morning have been excellent with a choice of cold meats and cheeses, lots of fruit choices, yoghurts, cereals, breads, cakes, pastries and hot buffet also, and the best american coffee I have had the whole of our holiday. On our first night we ate at the Michelin Star restaurant and it was an amazing gastronomic experience - compliments to the Chef! The staff have all been extremely friendly and helpful from the front desk, to the restaurants, the housekeeping and the valet who has been parking our car and returning it to us as we needed it. The Spa on the lower ground floor is also amazing - we spent 2 hours there yesterday and left feeling thoroughly spoiled and revitalised. An oasis. I can't fault this hotel and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a special place to stay in this truly awesome City.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view but we stayed on the 3rd floor and our view was amazing anyway. Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliebaby1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear JulieBaby1963,
We would like to personally thank you for your review about the Romeo hotel. Hearing that our guests completely enjoyed their stay is the best award for us and a great motivation for our staff to get even better. The Romeo hotel’s concept is based on the art of contrast and your review clearly demonstrates it; beauty does never mean lack of comfort at our hotel. We would be very happy to have you back with us at the Romeo hotel soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a beautiful and seriously cool hotel with very helpful desk staff, wonderful rooms and a fantastic rooftop pool. It might not be in the best location if you're in Naples for more than one day but for us it was perfect, being close both to the port (we arrived from a stay in La Suite on the underestimated island of Procida - see separate review) and the airport Alibus bus stop (though we ended up taking the taxi which at €19 is worth it over the 2x€4 euro bus fare)

The public areas of the Romeo Hotel are amazing, full of crazy artwork and furniture and with a fabulous light/water sculpture downstairs. It's a hotel you just want to be in, particularly when you're out in the hot and bustling streets of Naples - it is a cool (in every sense) haven to return to.

We had a 6th floor corner suite with views of Vesuvius over the Bay, exactly as requested. The rooms are luxurious and very comfortable (with bedside electric operated curtains revealing the panoramic views in the morning making us feel not a little like James Bond +1;)

The only downside is the somehow-Michelin starred restaurant Il Comandante (see separate review). Despite the pretty views and admittedly pretty food, this is the worst kind of old school restaurant, treating hotel residents on a dining package like dirt, and offering neither choice nor quality in the food, which was as tasteless as it was tiny (particularly coming to it after Procida's abundant sweet seafood). And the service wasn't just snooty it was plain inept: they literally didn't know how to chill a bottle of white wine (hint, you need a little water in the ice bucket as well as ice guys) and - cardinal sin - left you to pour it yourself, having of course left it just out of reach. Maybe the hotel's sushi restaurant would have been a better choice...

In short the hotel cannot be recommended highly enough, but, unless you like eating sushi in Naples, eat out.

Room Tip: As other traveller's have noted a high floor and if you can afford it a corner suite with bBay v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnard1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Magnard1963,
Thank you for your review and especially for your positive comments about the staff, the hotel and the rooms. We daily focus on details and on the wellbeing of our guests. We are so sorry to hear that you didn’t completely enjoy your dinner at il Comandante. You will find our reply to your comments about the restaurant in the appropriate section. We hope to have you back with us soon, that could be a great opportunity to evaluate our restaurant il Comandante again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a stylish hotel with some great decor but lacking in five star service. Attempts to have a drink in lobby bar failed, or to have previous guests' detritus cleared away. That said, location, near to ports is great as is the tiny outdoor pool with views of Mt Vesuvius, however we came away feeling there must be a better hotel in Naples for the price. Service from front desk staff was disinterested at best. Also bathrooms are badly designed. Lack of space, drainage (so water splashes around) make things messy.

Room Tip: You'd have to ask for room facing water; alternative view of Naples not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsWaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Romeo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mrs Waterh,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry to hear your disappointment about the services, which usually are Romeo hotel’s key factors. Thank you for informing us about the technical issues you met with the bathroom, we will therefore check that with our collaborators as soon as possible so that it won’t happen again. We would be very happy to have you back soon at the Romeo hotel. Have an excellent day.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,384 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romeo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romeo Hotel

Property: Romeo Hotel
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 45, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Business Hotel in Naples
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#37 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Romeo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the famous Japanese architect Kenzo Tange & Associates from Tokyo, Romeo hotel is the perfect balance of modern design, contemporary art and antiques expressed in the highest quality “Made in Italy”. 83 luxury accommodations, an amazing rooftop pool and a 10,000 sq ft luxury SPA, for a memorable experience of luxury and bliss. Romeo hotel’s gastronomic offer includes a refined Sushi Bar & Restaurant in the lobby area and the Michelin Star awarded gourmet restaurant Il Comandante on the 10th floor. An authentic luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Romeo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing