We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Serenity and luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

A beautiful, clean, cool, friendly oasis in a palace that once housed the king of Naples. We are definitely coming back.

Our room was of adequate size, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Soft bed with a large, fluffy duvet. Very good breakfast buffet.

The service was very friendly and efficient, and we always felt welcome and well taken care of, sometimes exceptionally well.

The restaurant is a tad pricey. Room service is fast and relatively cheap, but do check out the pizzeria next door as another reviewer suggested - fantastic place, where they serve delicious, local pizza and ice cold beer (served with plastic cups!) for very little money.

The place is potentially difficult to find, our GPS sent us the wrong way through narrow, one-way streets, but thanks to our backup, directions from another reviewer here, we managed. Just look for the elegant, large building with large men in dark suits posted outside.

Naples has a special vibe that can feel slightly threatening, and I can understand that some people have issues with the area around the hotel. We did not feel unsafe there, however. Just follow advice from guidebooks and other travellers about what and where to avoid.

If you come by car, the hotel has a pretty good deal with a nearby parking garage. We had some problems with the voucher we got when checking out, but the attendant at the garage sorted it all out quickly for us.

The infamous garbage problem was not an issue on this street when we stayed there.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on the first floor have their own private outside seating areas overlooking the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blubbalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    908
    203
    58
    28
See reviews for
359
1,192
114
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was by far the most luxurious, yet least expensive hotel we stayed in on our beautiful trip to Italy. I had read reviews of this hotel before visiting and people are correct: Naples is not a great city. But this is a terrific hotel. An oasis! We had to stay in Naples one night on a stopover. We walked around town and saw all we needed to see and decided to spend the evening in the hotel. We sat in the gorgeous, quiet, spacious courtyard at the outdoor couches and tables under the giant umbrellas and snacked and drank and eventually ate dinner and couldn't believe how small the bill was when they brought it to us. It was one of our favorite times on the trip.

BEST PARTS: Clean, luxurious, well-appointed rooms. Much fancier for 100 Euros than our much more expensive hotels in Rome and Venice. Soft fluffy comforters, lots of room, flatscreen TV's with more channels than I've ever seen before in Europe. An on-site free shuttle transports a couple times in the afternoon to a tourist area to walk around near the port, and brings you back later if you wish. Great food at the restaurant. Very nice and accommodating staff. Very attractive property. Offers safety and seclusion in a not-very-nice part of town. Chilly perfect air conditioning. Great shampoos and soaps. Terrific full shower. We actually ordered a burger and fries at the restaurant and it was one of the best we'd ever had! Breakfast is not free, but it's an excellent presentation and a great breakfast. I think it was 10 Euros.

YOU SHOULD KNOW: It's a bit off the beaten path. You won't want to walk around outside the hotel much. Take a taxi to the shopping areas or port. Or make use of the hotel shuttle. Pay for wifi or use the free computers near the lobby. I don't think anything about this hotel will disappoint you except maybe that it's in Naples, which is not the best city in Italy.

ONE LITTLE THING: I left a makeup bag full of expensive makeup there and emailed the hotel in hopes they would save it for me but never heard back.

Room Tip: Not sure: my room was quiet and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PostingonTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Although naples itself was disappointing, the hotel a former 13th century palace was the most stylish and beautiful i have stayed in. Interior designers, visit this beautifully post modern styled building which brings together the old and new seamlessly. If you visit nples to see Pompeii and herculaneum this hotel is a must

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Right at the edge of the centre of Naples is Palazzo Caracciolo. We were able to stay here because we got an excellent price from Expedia. The moment we stepped foot in the property we were impressed at how much our dollar got us!
SERVICE: The porters were excellent. Service with a smile. They were also quite helpful.
The receptionists were also helpful but from their look and at times, their tone, I felt that they were not too happy, as if I was imposing on them.
The shuttle driver was excellent but he could not speak English.
The waitresses in the restaurant were excellent as well. One of them gave my mother a rose. Very sweet.
Housekeeping was so-so. The room was spotless when we arrived but they missed a spot or two upon cleaning the next morning.
And room service needs improvement. They would not answer the first 2 times I called. When I did get through, they failed to bring me one of the items which I ordered. Fortunately, I wasn't that hungry, and they did not charge me for the missed item.
LOCATION: The hotel is at the northeastern edge of the town centre. The train station is a good 7-10 minute walk. Most of the sights in the city centre are walkable but keep in mind...there are a lot of things to see in Naples outside the city centre. For those, you can take the free shuttle van which will take you to Castle Nuovo. From there, it is a 7-10 minute walk to the Royal Palace, the Piazza Plebiscito, the Galleria Umberto I and the Royal Theater San Carlo.
HOTEL: It is a renovated, modernized palace. It is named Caracciolo after the Caracciolo dynasty that lived there for centuries. Even a former king of Naples lived there. You also get the feel that the building was built for royalty but without the pomp. It is modern luxury, the decor: simple but elegant.
RESTAURANT: Excellent food. Anti pasta prices: 8-12 euro. Pasta prices: 10-12 euro. Meat and Seafood prices: 16-22 euro. Desserts: 7-8 euro.
ROOM SERVICE: Very good food at cheaper prices than restaurant. 5-12 euro. There is a 5 euro surcharge on all orders regardless of how much.
TRANSFERS: From and to the airport: 18 euro each way, fixed price. From and to the port: they quoted me a price of 30 euro. We arrived from the port but I wasn't going to pay 30 euro. Taxi at the port cost me 15 euro. Later, I found out that their free shuttle to the city centre actually picks up within walking distance from the port. I did not appreciate not being told of this option.
All in all, for the special price we payed, it was a great hotel and great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaredxtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Just booked one night prior to flight home - perfect end to our holiday. Very cool modern touches in a fabulous old building with a gorgeous courtyard. Cost £88 for room only,
( probably £300 in London or Rome ) but we did have an evening meal which was the best food during our stay in the area - even including a very famous, ( and overpriced ) Michelin starred hotel restaurant in Ravello! Feels a bit rough outside the hotel but not unsafe. Also close to the main centro storico and rail and bus station but we just got concierge to order a taxi to the airport for 15 euros - a good bet after using various buses and trains to move around. Staff were very good and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank new1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Enjoyed very much the design combining history and modernity. Excellent restaurant and buffet breakfast. Extremely cosy and confortable. Extraordinary value for the price.
Some rooms with air conditonning difficulties...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravelling06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing