We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting but rough area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but rough area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed one night before flying back to the UK after a week on the Amalfi coast. It took us around 1.5 hours to find the hotel in our hire car. We had no sat nav and the maps lacked detail. We should have been better prepared but I have never driven in such a crazy place as Naples....if there are any road rules, the locals have not read them. The hotel is beautifully converted but our room had no lift access without climbing floors. The area outside the hotel was quite frankly too dangerous to walk around (security guards on the gate??) and the public car park was a good 400/500 metres walk...not very nice. The staff lacked any warmth and we beacame a little frustrated by their lack of interest...maybe we had an off day. Food in the restaurant was good (steak superb) but service fell short again.

Room Tip: Don't drive in Naples, it is a nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1468VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    908
    203
    58
    28
See reviews for
359
1,192
114
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel was really gorgeous inside, very clean and the rooms were sizable and very well decorated. Breakfast was great and there were lots of lovely areas to sit and relax outside your room. The staff were also very helpful. It is well positioned close to some of the key sights of Naples and also the train station and airport. The area we found to be a bit lacking in restaurants and also run down in appearance but that for us was just part of the charm of Naples. We did though find a little family run pizzeria, about 10 doors up, where we got two delicious pizzas and drinks for 12 EUR!

Room Tip: We took a 10 EUR upgrade to get a deluxe room which was gorgeous so definitely worth considering if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_rossbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, ME
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel, itself, is beautiful and our interior, courtyard room was very clean and quiet. The service was "ok" definitely nothing to brag about. But, the two guards at the entrance best describes the type of neighborhood! Graffiti and garbage everywhere (For blocks and blocks) Definitely not a safe place to walk around any time of day... it really turned me off of Naples.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L4Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My son and I stayed at this hotel this past fall. We absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were spotless, the beds super comfortable , white crisp linens, modern bathroom, gorgeous public rooms. The food at the restaurant was one of the best meals we had in Naples and the restaurant staff could not have been more helpful or gracious. The setting for the restaurant is in a gorgeous courtyard which made for elegant nutritious breakfasts.
The only negative of this hotel is the location which is a little seedy. But i never felt threatened. The hotel has so much security and during the day there is absolutely no problem walking around. Just a little sketchy at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here in May last year. Room was pretty good except three very loud sound bombs went off through the night. Said a crazy guy was at work. When I checked out, I asked for a cab to go to the ferry, expecting it to be one of the many waiting right outside the premises. Whatever arrangement they have, they basically ordered one of their own taxis but it came so late that I missed my ferry. Ferry guys were very nice and let me take the next one at no charge but no thanks to the hotel staff. Awful attitude when I said I simply wanted a taxi like they did not care. Probably waited 15 min for their own to arrive. Needless to say, never will return. Gave me an overall nasty feeling about Napoli.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very good location near the old part of the town, you can walk from the station, and you can walk to museums etc., delicious breakfast, helpfull staff.

One thing is bad. There is not free Wifi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CopenhagenPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here over the Easter weekend. The hotel is clean, quiet. The room is a good size, we had a terrace that overlooked a courtyard. The room was clean. Breakfast was a nice continental breakfast. Only downside is the location as it feels a bit dodgy but we walked around in the evenings and had no problem. Once you're in the hotel you feel safe. The good thing about the location is that it is handy for the main train station & airport bus. I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay as we found it reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralLola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing