We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive physical plant, inside and out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Caracciolo, after careful research on TA, for our last two nights of a wonderful southern Italian vacation. We have been spoiled along the way by really top-notch B&B's so our expectations were high.

The hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport, part of our selection criteria. It is on the edge of the historic distinct, so depending on your initial approach you may be badly put-off. However, once into the hotel the facility is first rate, and the ragged memories of the old section of town fade quickly. The good news with regard to old town is that you only have to walk around the corner and you are there. Our room was not large, but was impeccably furnished, and boasted high ceilings as well as an expansive balcony.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is valet parking (only) at €25.00/per night. Since a car is a liability in Naples, we opted to return our rented vehicle a day early and finish the holiday on foot. I have seen no evidence of a pool, spa, or exercise room (and none of these were among,our selection criteria.)

The hotel reception was particularly professional and helpful; they had our special request for a courtyard room and made good on it. Although there was never a concier on duty at the desk, the crew was efficient with our luggage. Dinner at the restaurant was on the expensive side for what we ordered, but service was first rate. Breakfast was a different matter. Our server was far more interested in how we were going to pay than seating us and ensuring we were appropriately fed. Housekeeping didn't appear until mid-afternoon, after we called and asked.

Bottom line: excellent location for seeing downtown Naples, well-maintained and clean physical plant, service spotty, good for a business trip or upscale couples vacation. The restaurant has a limited menu. We would return

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Cigano-Gitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,568)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 2,568 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel occupies the monumental aristocratic palace in heart of Naples close to Garibaldi train station as well as to Duomo and archaeological museum. We had no difficulty to access the hotel by car. Moreover hotel features a valet parking that is quite handy in Naples with its heavy traffic and lack of parking. The duplex room was magnificent with 6 meters ceilings and lots of space. Rooms fittings were working fine. A/c was very effective. The breakfast was of a good quality with emphasis to sweets as that is usual for Italy.

The main feature of the hotel is the building itself and its atmosphere: by walking around impressive inner yard or glorious galleries you get back in time of Neapolitan kings. Definitely this hotel is a great place to stay at Naples.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night at the beginning and end of my stay in southern Italy. The hotel was well maintained and clean. Most of the front desk staff were pleasant, but a few seems not very interested. the junior suite was very nice with an interior courtyard view.

The location however, was not very good, although very close the this historic center, the neighborhood was not very nice, and was busy and dirty. However, for a transit hotel en route to southern italy or a cruise it works well. I used taxis for the most part, except it is in easy walking distance to the archaeological museum and cathedral.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Katzen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

this hotel was an oasis in a frankly grubby Naples. we stayed three nights. hotel is gorgeous, lovingly and tastefully restored. Rooms were great and beautifully designed. drinks and food were expensive, although the rooms themselves were good value. Waiters were generally friendly and attentive but service is sssslllloooowwwww getting drinks in the outside seating\bar area, but that may just be Italy's culture. the breakfast was the most amazing breakfast ever, ever, ever - and I've stayed in a fair few hotels. there was a massive parmigiano reggiano to cut slices from and on our last morning there was a leg of prosciutto to cut your own slices from. I've never been so excited about breakfast. if you have to stay in Naples I would stay here. It's in a frankly not very nice part of Naples but we struggled to find a nice part of Naples, very run down, huge amounts of litter - it's seen better days. We came to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum - I would recommend staying in Sorrento if you do not need to stay in Naples.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was ok, not tiny but not huge and unfortunately overlooked a residence that was untidy and dirty. The area was dirty and we felt quite vulernable, as there were lots of groups of men just standing around. I found the Italians to be quite rude and unhelpful. But the taxis were a pleasant surprise and we always asked for fixed rate and paid 20 euros from the airport but 15 euros back to the airport . Around and about it was 10 euros. The hotel is about 39 mins walk to the ferry terminal. We went to Ischia which was absolutely beautiful and the return ticket cost 24 euros return. Naples is lousy and I would never visit again, we met a guy to said the only reason to vist Naples was to pass through it, and I couldn't agree more

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runforrestrun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My family and I had a trip to Naples and stayed at Palazzo Caracciolo for two nights. The hotel was located in an historical palace that was in a very good shape after a restoration and not far from famous points of attractions! The rooms where very comfortable and quite, I was shocked when saw how clean they where and the view on the Vesuvius. The breakfast in the restaurant of the hotel was nice, but there was a not big menu. Other services where good and I had a really memorable experience about the hotel! Yes, the name of the hotel approved "Memorable hotels".
I highly recommend to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeskitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We, a family of three, stayed at Palazzo Caracciolo for four nights during our Naples trip. The hotel occupies a huge historical building that witnessed several centuries of Naples history. The building is nicely restored and all public areas are tastefully decorated in what I would call “modern barocco” style. Following the local palazzo tradition, the hotel has nice cozy inner courtyards, welcoming guests to relax and seep a drink in the evening.
We had a family room, which consisted of two hotel rooms (a double and a single one), connected through a shared balcony. I liked the concept, though both rooms had just one shared window – the balcony door. Thick walls and double doors (outside and inside balcony doors) ensured good sound proofing, despite a noisy street outside. The balcony was small, but still nice for seating outside and admiring the view (street life and Vesuvius). Both rooms were quite small, so only combined they provided reasonable living quality. Rooms were equipped with a safe box and a refrigerator (stocked with non-alcoholic drinks). Wifi in the rooms was available at some nominal price and worked well. For some reason we never succeeded in making the A/C cool down the room temperature, but we did not really bother. The bathrooms were functional and well-equipped, though the double room had just a shower cabin. Everything was very clean. We were welcomed by two small bottles of water in each room (just once) and a welcome drink voucher for two at the hotel bar.
The breakfast is served in a nice dining room. The service was good, but the food choice was more of the “three-star” level. Hotel staff was friendly, professional and multilingual.
I usually start hotel reviews with the location, but in this case I am mentioning it at the end, as Palazzo Caracciolo has some issues. The hotel is located on the boarder of the Old Town (Citta Antica), not far (but not too close – which is good) from Piazza Garibaldi and the main train station. The location is good for exploring Citta Antica, which, unfortunately, is also the dirtiest and the most shabby area of “touristic” Naples. Nicer, 18-19 century, districts to the North are hard to reach on foot from the hotel. We ended up using taxi service quite often, even going to the other side of Citta Antica for a dinner, as walking through it in the evening is not a very pleasant experience. There are no good eating places close to the hotel. So, the hotel (standalone) is good, particularly if you are a part of an organized tour and take a tour bus every morning. Otherwise, get prepared for the contrast between the hotel and the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikolay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,469 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#40 of 185 in Naples
2,609 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 185 in Naples
2,112 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £99 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing