We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, well renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #20 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, well renovated”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Caracciolo for a short weekend trip to Naples. We found the location to be fine. While others have said that the surrounding area was not nice, I don't think picking up the hotel and moving it to a different part of the city would make any difference. The whole city is rather rough around the edges! The renovation of the hotel was nice. The place has an airy feel and it is a clean, modern oasis in the city.

The sleeping rooms are nice and spacious for European standards. The bathroom could use a good scrubbing, especially the tiles in the shower/tub, but other than that, it was all very clean.

The service is one area that could use a bit of improvement. You really have to ask about everything (wifi, city map, bus schedule etc) before they tell you anything. The staff at the reception are nice, just not overly friendly. They are helpful if you ask, but they don't offer much extra information.

We had the breakfast at the hotel and that was actually quite nice. They have a good selection of fruit, some good bread/pastries and savory items.

I would probably stay at this hotel if we went back to Naples. It's close to the train station and the city center and the rooms are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expateurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    921
    209
    58
    31
See reviews for
359
1,212
115
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This ancient palazzo on a formerly grand boulevard leading to the central train station has seen better days...despite an impressive and elegant makeover. You will be counselled to take a taxi anywhere once the sun goes down (I didn't) because safety near the train station leaves something to be desired. Though nominally on the border of the Centro Storico, its a couple of blocks through the maze of the old town before you get to any of the sites for which it is justly famous. When we were there (April) the air had not yet been turned on and when we asked about temps were advised to sleep without covers (!). The restaurant (where you will regularly eat if you don't want to taxi everywhere) has a limited menu and a staff (with some notable exceptions) more interested in their own convenience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. You will have lots of choices at this price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel was, as most of the other reviews say, clean, comfortable and pleasant to be in.

However, in our view, Naples is horrific. We only stayed for one day and night, but in general the city is grim and dirty, with locals eyeing you as you walk past and there is a general feeling of poverty and desperation in the air. It is hard to believe that this city is in the same country as Rome (which is generally clean and safe) and the Amalfi Coast (which is beautiful and super safe). On our way to dinner at around 7:45pm, just around the corner from the hotel on via Duomo, we were attacked by a youngish man, and my mum's necklace was ripped off her. No one on the street seemed to care. We were then too petrified to go anywhere else and raced back to the hotel clutching our handbags. We were then told not to walk around at night and to remove all our jewelry (thanks for telling us that before the fact, Palazzo Caracciolo). However the hotel staff were calm and seemingly well trained for this instance, and called the police for us as well as a cab to the police station so we could report it. The police said at least 50 muggings are reported per day but there are probably 3 times that number unreported. Be very careful! This is a bad area, but most areas of Naples seem to be bad. Call it edgy or gritty, until someone holds a knife to your throat - after that it becomes terrifying!

Only bad thing I would say about the hotel is that they charged us for extras we did not have and then refused to refund them. Check your invoice carefully, as the theft does not seem to be confined to the streets.

Cheers

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKO82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONIA A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to sincerely apologize for the terrible experience you lived and we wolud like to express all our sorrow for any disservice suffered by you not due however to our staff.
We are sorry and we totally respect your opinion but we felt really surprised about your overall impression about Naples.You certainly know that everywehere in the world unfortunately you can live bad and terrible situation like yours.
Palazzo Carcciolo is located in the very heart of the Decumani historic area, in which the whole surrounding zone , is soaked in everywhere of the true and authentic history and culture of the city with its zones of shade and light as many historical districts of numerous cities of the world.
This will probably not change the perception on your stay but thank you for choosing our hotel and for the chance you would hopefully give us on a future stay, this would be a great pleasure for us and unmissable occasion to regain your trust.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

It's a shame that the location is so bad, because anywhere else and this hotel would be top of any list.

We arrived via train and walked through the neighbourhood to get to the hotel, and we both felt intimidated. We've travelled to loads of places and stayed in some really dodgy areas but this was right up there - if you are to go, drive or get a taxi there.

Other than that, the hotel is excellent - clean and comfortable, with good staff.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rekrabwuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Naples is not the ideal first introduction to Italy but for the well traveled, it grows on you like a edgy relative. This hotel is an oasis of calm in the middle of the busy, noisy, dirty city. Room noise proofing is impressive. Rooms are well appointed, few small bits did not work, like safe, one of the bathroom sinks was clogged and stayed that way the whole stay. But breakfast excellent, courtyard dining/bar area beautiful and staff could not be more helpful. I would stay here again. The location is excellent for getting to the train station and exploring old Naples where all the best Pizza places are. Taxis are outrageous in Naples and the ocean restaurants far from this hotel so keep this in mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

my friend and i arrived at the hotel and we were a bit upset because of the area. it is in the historic centre of naples which isn't very clean. however a very nice member of staff called Elena, convinced us to stay and upgraded our room for free. the suite we got was absolutely beautiful, clean and gorgeous. they were very nice and made our stay in naples very comfortable. the breakfast was also very nice.

it's important to however research on the location before choosing the hotel because it's not a very nice area. but overall, the hotel was the best part of our stay in Naples.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teedee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing