We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful sanctuary in the magic madness of Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful sanctuary in the magic madness of Naples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend and found it to be the perfect place to rest, relax and recharge after a hectic day exploring Naples. It's a city where you need a bit of courage, plenty of common sense and stamina. Well worth the effort but you will be tired at the end of the day and this hotel is a wonderful sanctuary. Friendly and helpful staff and wonderfully comfortable bed. The only negative would be the street noise in front facing bedrooms, although we were moved with no fuss to a quieter room on the courtyard. Don't be put off by the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    908
    203
    58
    28
See reviews for
359
1,192
114
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Driving through Naples, old & a dirty city, we were pleasantly surprised arriving at this beautiful hotel. It was a castle in the 13 century and has been converted into a boutique hotel. Rooms very large with a separate sitting room,the best beds in Europe & a lovely bathroom. It has a large courtyard which was great to sit and relax. The restaurant also was nice. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week and used it as a base from which to explore Naples and the Amalfi coast, including the islands of Capri and Procida as the ferries are not that far away. The decor is clean and modern, and the old palace has been beautifully restored as a fantastic boutique hotel. The thing that really hits you is how tranquil and relaxing it is when inside, given that straight outside the front entrance is the busy street and hustle / bustle of old Naples. Our room overlooked the courtyard where we often dined and drank in the afternoons and evenings. The food, especially the squid ink pasta with octopus, was exquisite. As others have said, this place really is a sanctuary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24HoursFromTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only one night. It was reasonably priced and the rooms were fairly large and well appointed. They have free wifi everywhere in the hotel including the room.

It is outside a very busy part of town, so if you wanted to sleep earlier that would not be possible. We didn’t, so we did not have this problem. The staff were very nice and helpful, they gave us good recommendations to see the city in one day, we did the hop-on/hop-off tour, I would totally recommend this. At first, Naples looked seedy but after this tour, I really started to change my mind and see its beauty.

Also, use their taxi services; the hotel has a plan in place so that you don’t get ripped off. Our taxi ride from the train station to the hotel should have cost us 8 euros, we ended up paying 25, plus 5 euros he took as tip. Normally, we are not the kinds of people that gets ripped off, but it was a long day, we had exceptionally heavy luggage and were very tired, we just gave in. I didn’t have the strength to fight; we just wanted to get inside the hotel. Learn from our mistake, the hotel does its best to protect their clients from this type of thing. Also, try and carry change, it seems that even the trustworthy taxi company, arranged by the hotel, can’t break your bills, so you end up giving them more. The hotel does tell you that tipping taxis are not required as it is already included. We generally do but we like it to be our initiative – not theirs.

In any rate, I would not let this prevent me from making the recommendation that Naples is still a must see city.

Breakfast was good but there was a tour of over 30 people and although, we were there at 7:30am, it was like a mad rush, so we ate very quickly and left.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Palazzo Caracciolo is a 'sanctuary', within the busy old part of Naples. A palace that has been beautifully restored, its staff are friendly, multi-lingual, polite and helpful. Our 'superior' rooms were extremely clean with a modern decor; it had great bathrooms, a rain shower. Our balcony overlooked a busy street - it was amazing to watch the street below at night, the vibrancy, many scooters and constant chatter; close the shutters and the noise was non existent! The courtyard in the middle of the hotel was quiet and calm. You could have coffee, a bar meal or just an apperitif. My teenage son left an expensive 'hoody' in his room and the staff had no qualms about arranging this to be delivered back to the UK - with payment, of course! I recommend this hotel as a great base for exploring.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
567 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Rooms comfortable, staff incredibly helpful, hotel beautiful, sleep quality great, air conditioning most welcome, breakfast delicious, location convenient for exploring Naples. Easy walking distance from station (although not the nicest of walks).

Naples itself takes a bit of getting used to but if you can cope with the noise, hustle and bustle and dirt then you begin to appreciate how amazing it is. This hotel is an oasis of cleanliness and luxury in otherwise quite a run down area, especially turning right from the main entrance towards the station. Turn left however and you quickly reach bustling shops, restaurants, museums and churches which enable you to get the feel for this vibrant and unique city. We ran out of time to see everything and will definitely be returning, most definitely to the same hotel. Staff were incredibly helpful and after the heat and dirt of the day the rooms were clean, comfortable and cool. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ours was on the third floor above the bustling Via Carbonara. Great way to watch Naples go by withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StelucLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Arrived in Naples by train, heard lots negative comments about this city, not impressed by the look of train station, worse, couldn't hire taxi due to taxi drivers on strike. 15 mins walk from station to hotel, exhausted with heavy luggage walking on uneven path. Luckily, got upgrade rooms with balcony, very comfort bedding, beautifully decorated, helpful staff,spent time with my cousins after sight seeing, resting, sipping wine on balcony, it indeed made our trip special. Will recommend and stay again!

Room Tip: Book the room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w37wu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Carbonara 112, 80139, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Naples
#9 Family Hotel in Naples
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated decor of the 146 rooms in this stunning hotel help create the perfect blend of historic detail and modern comfort. Take in the enchanting architecture and decoration of the stately buildings near the elegant Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel. Delve into Naples' past and explore the antique shops on nearby via Foria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Gallery Palazzo Caracciolo Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing