We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow this is a must in Naples!”

Cimitero delle Fontanelle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$199.62*
and up
Fontanelle Cemetery and Sanità District Private Tour
Ranked #19 of 498 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Gorge, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow this is a must in Naples!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I saw the cemetery here on trip advisor and decided to go. So very glad I did. The place is a bit creepy as there are millions of bones surrounding you and skulls everywhere you look. I read a bit of the history and lore associated with it and was glad I had that knowledge while viewing. Seeing how people prayed to these poor ppl and their souls and then adopted the skull (and placed them in a small shrines engraved with sentiment. Many are engraved with prayer answered, where a person after visiting had a dream in which they understood how their prayer was answered returned to the ossuary and "felt" which soul answered their prayer, they then created a shrine for that particular skull (soul). There are many small alters to pray and even a small pulpit and pew where masses are held. There are a few statues inside. We visited the famous skulls of the captain and the sweating skull. My 7yo son found it fascinating yet was too uncomfortable to leave any offerings. I left small change here and there to the souls. There is this clothed skeleton without a head with all kinds of offerings on it that creeped me out a bit, but I was in awe of this place. I've been to Naples 2x and hadn't heard of it till trip advisor. This is a must if you are in Naples! You will be pleasantly surprised and in awe of what you see.

Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    460
    83
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spookily interesting”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This one wasn't in our guide book, we saw it mentioned on a television programe before leading the UK and as it was near our hotel popped in on our last day in Naples.
We were very surprised to find it was free entry and a very interesting place to look around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting but a little spooky!!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited this site following a visit to the Catacombs of St Gennaro in Capodimonte. The guide at the catacombs told us that all the bodie/boness had been taken to the Fontanella Cemetary. We visited this a few days later and found it a very interesting place albeit a bit spooky. The caverns are very large and there is plenty of space for more bones if required. A little difficult to find but our satnav did the business.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Naples Curiosity”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Easy enough to find, but had no idea how enormous these caverns would be!
Free entry, which was a surprise.
The skeletons have been placed all around the edges of the internal walls of the caverns. Some arranged in decorative piles, with leg bones under and skulls lined on top in rows.
Some skulls have been placed inside little boxes and have offerings in with them, like items of textile or jewellery.
People have left offerings at random, and some have placed coins on the heads of some of the skulls.
We would have liked to know more about the history behind the place, other than the little paragraph in our guide book.
Everything was covered in a layer of dust, and this added to the atmosphere of death, sadness and decay. It seemed abandoned, as if any living relatives of the dead had long since stopped visiting, which added to the poignancy of the place and made the numerous crucifixes dangling here and there seem quite futile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BraidWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Incredibly different!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

If you've seen enough churches throughout your tour of Italy, and you've had enough (or even if you haven't), hop a cab and make your way to this bone chapel - it will broaden your perspective and humanize the dented, ugly city of Naples. Your cab driver probably won't know the way, but no worries, the locals will give him directions. Once there, you'll find out that it's free to enter, but no photos are allowed. No worries about that either, as the guy who watches the place will offer to take a picture of you at the entrance to the cemetery. This is a must do because it's so incredibly different from anything else!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cimitero delle Fontanelle also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Cimitero delle Fontanelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing