We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but poor value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location, but poor value for the price”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked this hotel following the raft of positive reviews on trip advisor but could not have been more disappointed. Contrary to what is said below this hotel is most definitely NOT good value for money. At the rate of 280 euros per night (despite being booked some 6 months earlier) this was by far the most expensive hotel of our 9 day tour of Venice, Rome and Naples, but unlike the former two cities, our room at La Ciliegina was far from worth the money. Labelled “deluxe” the room we were given had a tiny bathroom, with a shower which was filthy from limescale, and with very little storage. There was only one mirror in the room (which was in the bathroom – nothing full length), there was a handle missing from the chest of drawers, a stain on the bed cover and a chip on the wardrobe door. While I can see that the very white contemporary design of the bedroom would be great in the summer (as would the impressive roof terrace) no compensation was made for the fact that it was winter – the room had a cold tiled floor for which no slippers were provided, and the bedding was altogether too thin, and only one pillow each provided. The breakfast was very simple with no hot options, and so small that ingredients frequently run out. Finally we were very put off by the entrance – a dark courtyard with a lift going up 3 floors.

This review would not be fare however without pointing out some positives – the staff were exceptionally polite, attentive and friendly, the design was fresh and modern, and the location near to Naples’ castle and coast was great. This hotel would however, in my experience of European hotels, be better classed as a three star, and our “deluxe” bedroom labelled “standard”. Overall, I would have been much happier with my stay if I had been paying a lot less.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NicoDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    228
    35
    8
    1
See reviews for
126
643
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed at the Ciliegina Hotel for one night this December and had a wonderful stay.
The rooms seem very new and the bathroom is very luxurious.
The breakfast room is quite small however they do serve good products including local pastries

Room Tip: The room 1007 is lovely and has a very spacious shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleonora I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Little cozy beautiful hotel located in the heart of Naples shopping district, close to Naples' castle and many other amenities. Rooms are lovely, spotless clean, modern and very stylish. The personnel is polite and professional. Free wireless and few free iPad in the lobby for customers' use. Breakfast good but could be better with more options. Didn't give 5 stars only because I think that they could have done better with breakfast choice. Overall we loved it, very good value for money. We will go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Get a good map and make sure you can find the place. But it is worth it. Back of the square, through a door into a courtyard and up several levels in a lift, and that's where the effort ends. Very friendly welcome (in English which helped with non-existent Italian) and shown around a fantastic room. OK so I'm a sucker for marble in the bathroom, but someone had good taste when they put this together. Spotlessly clean throughout, great size room and en suite. As much storage space as you could expect (maybe a bit light on hangers if you really are bringing a wardrobe full), and lights everywhere with presets on the switches (so no running around the room to turn everything on or off). Decent recommendation for a local restaurant (non-tourist) which served a very nice tagliatelle and espresso. I'm on business so not sight-seeing but I think it's in a decent spot, and if shopping is your passion, you've only 100m to walk up to Via Toledo. Light sleepers may find the city noise a bit intrusive but that may be hard to avoid here in Naples.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobJDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. It was very hard to find but well worth the search. My advice would be to do thorough research in how to find it or better still... Get a taxi. Once in the hotel it is hard to believe that nearby is a very hectic and bustling shopping street.

The rooms were very lovely and well stocked with all you could need. I particularly enjoyed the spa type shower. The continental breakfast was very nice with adequate choice. Reception were helpful with booking us a taxi for onward travel. Any questions were cheerfully answered.

There are a church and a castle nearby if you like to visit this sort of thing. The church is graffitied and looks horrible from the outside but inside is quite beautiful and worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dollydaydreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifestyleHotelNapoli, Guest Relations Manager at La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear dollydaydreaming,

Thank you for the review following your recent extended stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities and that our dedicated team were welcoming, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable throughout your stay. Also, let me thanks for the feedback reserved to our breakfast service.

Hope to see you again at our property, wish you
Best regards

Massimo Santangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

From the train station should be a 10 15 euro cab ride if you get an honest driver. Not easy to do here. The hotel is in a building which seems to be in a bank district and it's on the 3rd floor. Elevator available. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Most speaking great English. The hotel and rooms were clean but we did have a slight problem with cigarette smoke filling our room and the hall beside us. Turns out the staff lounge was right across our room and they would smoke in there a lot and during the night and the smoke crept in through the vents and the door. We did complain and it got a little better but still continued to happen. The room was very pretty. The bathroom was nice with a great shower. Lots of channels on the Satelite although we didnt use it much. Free wifi is always nice. Breakfast buffet was good. A pretty standard italian breakfast buffet more or less. The young lady who tends to the breakfast buffet is a sweetheart. The hotel location is very ideal. Great spot to be. Close to the shopping street. 10 15 min walk from main restaurant roads and 5 min away from the ocean. It has a beautiful rooftop terrace lounge and hot tub aswell. We visited in cold weather so it wasnt really available to use. Beautiful view none the less. Overall I was happy and thought we made a good choice. Value was definitely fair. It was the smoke that bothered us and disturbed our sleep that made this a 4 star rating rather then a 5 for us. Other then that we were happy. Thank you to all the staff who helped us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LexLuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifestyleHotelNapoli, Guest Relations Manager at La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear LexLuger,

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you found our hotel and setting, beautiful with wonderful views, we are very lucky to be located in a such area of outstanding natural beauty.
Thanks also for the nice feedback about the breakfast.
I would like finally to apologies for any other inconvenient procured through your stay. We are working hard in order to avoid any displeasure.

Best Regards
Massimo Santangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The very best location in the perfect neighbourhood to explore Napels with a roof top terrace with a stunning view. Hotel where the friendly staff gives you a homely welcome and arrange valet parking. I never wrote a review before but this hotel deserves it. Go there!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoefsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LifestyleHotelNapoli, Guest Relations Manager at La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Hoefsmith,

Thank you for your recent review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our fabulous location, we are very lucky to be located in such an area of outstanding natural beauty. As you wrote it can be very easy reach us by car, thanks our garage's pick- up service ! Greatfull to have induced you to write your first review ! but mostly to have deserved it.

Best Regards
Massimo Santangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel

Property: La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Address: Via P. E. Imbriani, 30 | P.zza Municipio, 80133, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel is a brand new luxury experience. Fully equipped rooms are ready to make You feel at home, details such as marble baths, linen sheets, mastro raphael tissues, soundproofed doors and windows are only a few of the total offer. Bio breakfast buffet also avaiable with the continental one. Your Friend In our exclusive concierge service that will provide You a special, unique stay experience. All of that in an extremely strategic location, in the heart of the Town, opposite to the Port, the san Carlo Theatre, Plebiscito Square and Via Toledo. A Relax and luxury oasis in the middle of Naples, welcome to La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing