We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality vs Price”

Pizzeria da Gaetano
Ranked #48 of 2,794 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We accept reservations, takeaway pizzas, breakfast / brunch. Closed on Sundays.Working hours: Monday-Friday from 10.00 Closing 21.30 / Saturday from 10.00 Closing 23.00.Si accettano prenotazioni, pizze da asporto, colazione/brunch. Chiuso la domenica.Orari di lavoro: Lunedi-Venerdi Apertuta ore 10.00 chiusura ore 21.30 / Sabato apertura ore 10.00 chiusura ore 23.00.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality vs Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Doesn't look much from the outside (don't let this put you off) but serves really very good pizza. There's nothing else on the menu but pizza, so don't expect any starters or desserts, but if you want an excellent quality pizza which also happens to be exceptionally cheap then head here. It was a very pleasant distraction from the filth and madness of the rest of the city. The owner speaks a couple of words of English, but he is happy for you to point out your choice from the menu which mercifully has English descriptions.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sargsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzeriadaGaetano, Proprietario at Pizzeria da Gaetano, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour le merveilleux avis, nous sommes heureux que vous avez apprécié la pizza et vous étiez bien avec nous. Espérons que si vous revenez à Naples pour une autre pizza de nous. Merci encore et salutations de Naples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    157
    51
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT PIZZA!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is definitely not the kind of place you would imagine having such great pizza!!! I was a bit worried when walking up to the restaurant but the immediately changed when we sat down to have the best pizza we have had so far in our 18 day Italy trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzeriadaGaetano, Proprietario at Pizzeria da Gaetano, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are delighted to have made you eat the best pizza of your trip. Thank you so much for the lovely review that you have written we are happy that everything is piaciuto.Per us is a pleasure to meet nice people and so as you. Thanks again and greetings from Naples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brakel, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Tripadvisor we found this restaurant. From the outside you wouldn't guess they serve here the best pizzas of Napels, but they really do. This restaurant is a must when you're around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThibautNorga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzeriadaGaetano, Proprietario at Pizzeria da Gaetano, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review and for giving us confidence. we are very glad that you enjoyed the pizza. for us it is a pleasure to meet nice people like you. Thanks again and greetings from Naples
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply Heaven, the Food of the Gods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I apologize for writing this review so long after I visited this wonderful shop but it was simply the best pizza I have ever eaten and now I'm spoiled. I grew up in the Bronx so the pizza I'm used to is the Neapolitan style. I was in Napoli for a few days in November 2012, and was searching for a simple place for dinner. My father was born in Napoli and his name was Gaetano, and when I saw their sign, I just knew it was a "sign". On my first visit, (I ate there every night - when you find perfection why go anywhere else and since I had already spent over 3 months in Italy, I wasn't looking for a big meal) Gaetano's son had a friend who was in the US Navy visiting and since I was the only customer downstairs (there were several families eating upstairs) it felt like I was with friends. I basically inhaled the pizza while enjoying more than a few glasses of vino.
When I returned the next night, I was greeted by Gaetano like a friend. I watched him create his masterpieces and he even let me take my pizza out of the oven. Again, it was nothing less than perfection.
I had more than my share of fabulous food during my time in Italy but when I think of my two nights at Gaetano's, the memory always bring a smile to my face.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzeriadaGaetano, Proprietario at Pizzeria da Gaetano, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hello, thank you very much for writing a review so beautiful. My father and I remember it well for you, a nice and kind person. We are glad that you liked the pizza and we consider friends, even you've become a friend to us and we hope one day you can come back and visit. Greetings from Naples and the "Pizzeria da Gaetano."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I had a DOC, the missus a Diavola. Mine was delicious. Lovely base and sauce. The Diavola meat wasn't as expected due to cultural tastes differing. The two pizzas and a beer & soft drink came to €17.00. Quick and polite service. Would use again.

Helpful?
Thank andrewrmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzeriadaGaetano, Proprietario at Pizzeria da Gaetano, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review and for the good things that you have written. For us it is a pleasure to eat well kind people like you. We hope you can come back and visit us soon if you are in Naples. Greetings from Naples
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria da Gaetano also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Pizzeria da Gaetano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing