We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a Neapolitan!”
Review of A Santa Brigida

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naples
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Santa Brigida
Ranked #195 of 666 Naples B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
“Live like a Neapolitan!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you're tired of impersonal hotels and want to experience a slice of real Neapolitan life, then this is the place for you! The wonderfully charming Silvana provides B&B in a room in her gorgeous palazzo in the heart of Naples. The large, airy, spotless, and beautifully decorated room is ideally suited for a single person, couple or a small family (there's plenty of room for a sofa bed). Each morning, Silvana serves breakfast in the room - a trolley laden with tasty local specialities. The palazzo is extremely well-located for all the main sites in Naples, including the boat to Ischia and Capri. Silvana doesn't speak very much English, so this place might be more suitable for those with at least a smattering of Italian (or be sure to bring your phrase book!) All in all, a fantastic, memorable stay. Grazie mille, Silvana!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    16
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
43
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The building is situated near Castel Nuovo & Molo Beverelllo and is ideal to discover Napoli. All the major "must sees" are within walking distance. The boats that go to the islands are only a 5 min walk from the B&B, as are the bus stops to the airport and the central station, so the location can't be better!
There's only one room that is lodged by an elderly couple in their big and elegant appartment and you have a bathroom for yourself. The room itself is clean and spacious with a little balcony overlooking the street. It's a quiet street in a "better area" of Napoli.The breakfast is Neapolitan (which means very sweet) and is served on a wheeling car in your room. The owners (Silvana & Benny) are very friendly and always ready to help and advise you. They also informed us on when and where the boat to Ischia departed and recommened various restaurants. Silvana only speaks Italian but Benny speaks very good French, so this helped as we don't speak Italian. Silvana does everything to let you feel welcome an at home.

I definitely recommand this B&B!

Sarah & Kenny

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgiumSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Beautifully furnished room with good views. Great location - close to the castle, walking distance to the hydrofoil terminal to Capri, Via Toledo, funicular station. The hosts were lovely. We don't speak any Italian but managed to communicate with Silvana who was most helpful when booking a cab for us to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Königswinter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Everything was just wonderful:
The room is bright, white and clean.
The view from the large window is nice.
The location close to sea promenade is perfect.
The host, Mrs. Silvana, is charming and friendly.
The "Apfelstrudel" made by her husband was delicious.
The silence was amazing - no city noise at all.

Thank you!
Bettina

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Arrived back yesterday (17th October). Previous reviews say it all, just trying to think of something someone else forgot to add. Real Italian breakfast - I hope Berni makes you his apple strudel, bathroom excellent and modern. Good privacy.

We (Mark and Angeles) walked to most of the sights from here (and also very convenient for train for Pompeii), and in an upmarket area of Naples 20 metres away from a beautiful, glass domed scupltered shopping arcade. Very easy to walk to funcular to Vomero (to see Museo Di Martino), and remember to walk back down the cobbled walkways which present wonderful views of the Bay of Naples, to their appartment. Also walked easy enough to Museo Di Archilogico (sorry about spelling) which you also must visit.

The (nearby) restaraunts they kindly booked for us were excellent especially the Osterria Napoletana "Il Gobbetto", where we had very personal service- go to find out what we mean.

Naples is a wonderful romantic city and we came after spending 4 nights in Rome. Much fewer tourists and great to wind down after busy and wonderful Rome trip.

All the best to Sylvana and Berni and I look forward to reading future reviews on their establishment (we will probably go back so as to explore the Almafi coast and perhaps Sardinia / Capri.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkEDinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a lovely apartment on the third floor of a building just outside the Spanish Quarter. The owners, Benny and Silvana, could not be more helpful. They reserved tables for us in local restaurants every night and advised on train times and bus routes.

The street, Santa Brigida, is quite small and at least one taxi driver did not know where it was. Tell the taxi driver that it is near the Piazza Municipio.

The entrance to the apartment is set back from the road - you have to go into the parking area of an insurance office. Also, have 10 cents ready for the coin-operated elevator.

Strongly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AidanL1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The lovely elderly couple that welcomed us warmly to A Santa Brigida made sure we had every luxury and privacy. Though they don't speak much English, they were SO friendly and made every effort to bridge the language barrier (even calling another B&B hostess to translate over the phone for us) while they had us come into their wonderful drawing room and sit for espresso and a pastry. After that, we enjoyed the HUGE room (with a little balcony looking onto the street from the 4th floor) and the newly refurbished bathroom (perhaps the nicest bathroom we utilized in all of Europe across a 13-day trip). You feel very secure in this lofty apartment; you have to punch in a code and step through a little (yet massively thick) hobbit-like door, go up an elevator, and go through their always-locked front door. Breakfast was served on a cart wheeled into our room! Our hosts were so accommodating; we had to catch an early taxi our final morning (which they arranged completely) and they got up before 5:00 to make us one last espresso! Could not ask for a better B&B experience in Italy, I imagine.

Room Tip: There's only one room as far as we could tell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benval, Proprietario at A Santa Brigida, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Cameron and Sarah,
thank you so much for the beautiful words you had for us and of our B & B.
Thanks for the pictures you attached.
We were also very well with you and happy to have met two people so nice.
We sincerely hope to see you again one day.
Silvana and Benny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
B&B Art Suite Santa Brigida
B&B Art Suite Santa Brigida
#242 of 666 in Naples
59 reviews
San Ferdinando
B&B Attico Partenopeo
B&B Attico Partenopeo
#5 of 666 in Naples
266 reviews
San Ferdinando
B&B Megaride Santa Lucia
B&B Megaride Santa Lucia
#52 of 666 in Naples
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
B & B Carolina Plebiscito R.
B&B Dell'Opera
#339 of 666 in Naples
3 reviews
Pendino
Bed and Breakfast Via Toledo 156
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Santa Brigida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Santa Brigida

Property: A Santa Brigida
Address: Via Santa Brigida 51, 80133, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing