We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“striking”

Teatro di San Carlo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.84*
and up
90 Minutes Naples Segway Tour
More Info
US$148.40*
and up
Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome
More Info
US$77.79*
and up
Naples by Sea from Sorrento
Ranked #4 of 509 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Teatro di San Carlo was designed by the architects Giovanni Antonio Medrano and Angelo Carasale for the monarch since Charles wanted a new and larger theatre for Naples to replace the old and dilapidated Teatro San Bartolomeo of 1621. On 12 February 1816 the San Carlo was destroyed by fire. The Theatre was re-designed by the architect Antonio Niccolini and rebuilt within ten months on order of King Ferdinand IV. In 1845 there was additional refurbishment and, by 1854, the theatre's interior appearance changed to the now-traditional red and gold.Now carefully restored to its former splendour, the San Carlo is the oldest working theatre in Europe.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“striking”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Beautiful, though like much of Naples, under scaffold ok by and renovation. Some lovely little cafes inside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank paddy5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,520
    495
    76
    22
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is well worth a visit andthe tour guide is wonderful - very entertaining and engaging - glad we visited

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Don't be put off - opera in Italy is for everybody. We strolled down the Via Toledo, found the opera house, saw there was a performance on that evening so took a chance and queued at the box office for tickets. They had 40 euro and 60 euro tickets available. Don't worry about dress code - I saw only one person in evening dress, everyone else wore ordinary day clothes. Staff are very helpful - even went to find out for us when the metro closed. Box office opens 8pm, performance starts 9pm and finishes just before midnight. We saw Madam Butterfly - excellent.For 40 euros each you can get your own box - we were quite near the stage. Lots of taxis outside when it finishes. I could go on about the theatre - it is glorious - but the best thing is to go see it yourself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 412Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“naples opera house”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

saw a recent production of "cavalleria rusticana" - the orchestra was wonderful, the acoustics superb... but i needlessly worried about the dress code and showed up in a long-sleeved shirt and tie - i thought they might not let me in because i was wearing black jeans! no chance of that happening: there were people there wearing shorts and in varying levels of décontracté/négligé! be forewarned: there's no air conditioning and my "formal wear" lasted all of 15 minutes before i had to dash into the loo and change back into something cooler... bring a fan if you visit during the summer months - and for god's sake, skip the tie!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LHS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Unfortunately I didn't have opportunity to see opera or ballet, but I was on excursion and saw all the theatre. Magnificent and majestic

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KsBlanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teatro di San Carlo also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Teatro di San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing