We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed five nights at the Vesuvio in Naples in early September as part of our trip to Sorrento/Amalfi Coast. It proved to be a perfect base for our time in Naples. The hotel is excellent, from the knowledgeable and helpful staff to the fantastic roof top restaurant. It is beautifully decorated and up to date. Breakfast was excellent and the work out facility was adequate. Both were included with our room rate along with serviceable Wi-Fi. We had a seaview room with a breathtaking view of the Castel d'Ovo and Bay of Naples (Mt. Vesuvio, Sorrento Peninsula, etc.). The room was clean and spacious with comfortable bed, two-vanity bathroom and sitting area. The Vesuvio is in a nice, safe area of Naples. We felt very comfortable taking the 15-minute walk to the royal area (Castel Nuovo, Royal Palace, etc.) and there was no problem strolling in the evening in the area of the hotel. There is a lot of activity around the Castel d'Ovo and the noise from revelers at night can be a bit annoying, but certainly tolerable. We used taxis a lot to get to sights and restaurants and fares seemed reasonable, averaging 8 to 10 Euros one way for most trips. We do recommend you get a quote for your trip before entering the cab. We recommend the Vesuvio highly. It is a much better deal for the money than comparable hotels in Sorrento (booking for 5 nights helped). We also highly recommend spending several days in Naples as part of a trip to Sorrento/Amafi coast. At first we had planned to stay only a night or two in Naples, but the more we read about the City the more we felt we needed to set aside more time to it as part of our 12 day trip to the area. The city is a little gritty in places with graffiti, litter and ever-present motor scooters zipping in and out of traffic, but there are sights in Naples that are not to be missed: National Archeological Museum, Capodimonte Museum, San Martino Convent, churches along the Spaccanapoli, San Gennero catacombs, the royal area, just to name the major ones. Also, we enjoyed excellent restaurants recommended by the hotel and the pizza is everywhere and awesome! We were sorry to leave Naples and the Vesuvio. A final note: for one of our days in Naples, we had an excellent guide, Fiorella, who was arranged for us through Hugo Somma's guide/driver service (which we recommend - Ugo Somma <ugosomma@libero.it>). Fiorella is a charming, knowledgeable woman (she has written an excellent travel guide for Naples) and helped make our stay in Naples a time to remember.

Room Tip: We recommend spending the extra $ to get a sea view on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantatoEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Since 1882... Guy de Maupassant, Oscar Wilde, Enrico Caruso, the Aga Khan, Pablo Picasso, Rita Hayworth, Grace Kelly and Rainier III Prince of Monaco, the Princess Margaret, Francois Mitterrand, Bill Clinton, the King of Spain, Juan Carlos I°, Claudio Abbado, Luciano Pavarotti, Sting, Claudia Schiffer, Woody Allen, Sophia Loren, Giorgio Armani, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Anjelica Huston, José Carreras, Roberto Benigni, Neil Young, Anastacia, Keith Jarrett, Lou Reed, Bill Murray, Bruce Springsteen, Roberto Bolle, Ranya of Jordan, Adrien Brody, Tom Cruise, Julia Roberts and many others celebrities made the Grand Hotel Vesuvio their Neapolitan home.

This is why after my short stay in Rome for a wedding of dear friends, I have decided to visit Naples after 5 long years , see my local friends and obviously add my name to the important list of guests .

This legendary hotel whose breathtaking views overlooking the wonderful Bay of Naples and the 1st Century BC Ovo Castle have been responsible for the coining of the phrase "See Naples and die " during the reign of the Bourbons of Naples which at that time it was considered by historians the city's Golden Age.

And in my opinion , like of the many stars mentioned above, nothing better than experiencing a pint of this " Golden Age " at the majestic Grand Hotel Vesuvio strategically located at the city’s elegant seafront boulevard .

We arrive on a taxi whose driver tells my husband he is the most charming American man he has ever met and explains in detail how it's important to tip taxi drivers a coffee. We also realize that the beautiful Hotel is only a few steps from Plebiscito Square, the Royal Palace, the San Carlo Theatre and the city's most elegant shopping district.

While we wait for our suite Barbara Mancini the Hotel director of sales suggests we step up for a typical neapolitan breakfast at one of Naples most acclaimed restaurants, Caruso Roof Garden, named after the famous tenor who lived at the Vesuvio and was a passionate cook, provides a supremely elegant dining venue where to savor excellent Mediterranean cuisine and any of extensive selection of prestigious wines. The restaurant entirely opens out to a panoramic terrace for an unforgettable al fresco dining .

The pictures in the gallery above are a clear showcase of the most delicious cakes, pastries, jams , breads and you name it. To name just a few and stimulate your appetite , Pastiera generally prepared during Easter, Struffoli for Christmas, Zeppole for San Giuseppe, sfogliatelle and babà at any time. Here you can find them all together for breakfast every morning nicely displayed until 1030.

Our suite is ready when we are. Walking around white walls adorned with Italian works of art such as Mimmo Jodice, Mimmo Paladino, Fabrizio Ferri, Lello Esposito and Paul Thorel we head down to the 8th floor. To my surprise on opening the door , a small balcony with a curtain in the centerpiece of the room. Tt's also called the Caruso Top Class Suite Main Bedroom and believe it or not we are facing the magnificent Castel D'Ovo surrounded by a beautiful array of all kind of small sailing boats, in the middle the traditional and historical fish restaurant La Bersagliera where we have a reservation for lunch at 2.

I feel I have lived here forever. After lunch we will walk on the lungomare maybe for one hour or so until we will reach " Ciro " my favorite place on earth for ice-creams . My favorite is "Nocciatella" a mix between nocciola ( hazelnuts ) and delicious nutella spread.

Almost sunset, I want to enjoy it laying down in bed with the window open. The temperature is just perfect and after that will attempt to burn the many calories at the spa a perfect venue to relax after a a busy Neapolitan gourmet day : wellness facilities, jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath, indoor pool and a selection of tailored body treatments are my plan.

In the evening, my closet friends have promised to surprise me with a special pizza . Oh Gosh so much for just one day........

Room Tip: Any one facing Castel'd Ovo.a must otherwise not really wort it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We had two rooms and both were great. We loved the location. The street is blocked off for cars so it is super safe and great for walking and an excellent view of the castle. The service was excellent and we loved the buffet breakfast, lots of choice but still very Italian. We were within walking distance of the hop on hop off bus and we did two routes, which I highly recommend. We also walked down the coast to the embassy area which was a scenic walk. The gym is smaller and there is a fee to use the indoor pool but that did not matter as we did not have time to use. Rooms are definitely bigger for Europe, a bit older but turndown service is good and the room is very dark for a great sleep at night! We loved the little cocktail bar at night. Prosecco served with some light hors d'oeurves.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A pleasure to stay at the Vesuvio...very close to almost everything. The staff was great, the service also...you cannot miss the restaurant on the top floo with a breathtaking view on the sea !!
If you go for business you will find a nice and quiet place to rest after your day, if you go with your other half is a romantic stay !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabioBonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here while visiting the Amalfi Coast. This hotel is a 20-30 minute drive from the Airport thru congested Naples. Be sure to negotiate cab fare before getting into cab. The hotel itself is on the Bay of Naples with excellent views of the Bay and the Castle across the street. It is located on a pedestrian street that seemed very safe and pleasant at night. There are innumerable restaurants walking distance.
Check in was simple and pleasant. I found the desk staff to be always helpful. The hotel is nicely maintained. The rooms were generous in size and the bed very comfortable. The view from the balcony of the harbor room was very nice.
Two negatives are the charge for the pool and wifi. I think the wifi should be included.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank onconc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I needed only one night in Naples to make early connecting flights the next morning. The Vesuvio was beautiful, the staff was extraordinarily helpful and the setting wonderful. We had a beautiful balcony room overlooking the marina.
The staff was fabulous. I was having difficulty confirming my Alitalia flights, and they spent a great deal of time trying to help. Our flight was at 7AM, so with a looming taxi strike set for 6AM they arranged our transportation the night before, and were ready to help with a 4AM wake-up call. They also recommended a great restaurant as their rooftop was closed Mondays.
The only improvement would be free wi-fi access as €30/day seems pricy, as well as €30 to use the pool.

Room Tip: Request a balcony seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jppjrcemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Grand Hotel Vesuvio perfectly fits the image of the turn-of-the-century Grand Tour Hotel. We had a room with a view of the bay of Naples and the Vesuvio. No problem with noise once you close the window. The bathroom was luxurious! The hotel restaurants are extremely expensive but the bar serves food that is reasonably priced and truly delicious, much better than that of the restaurants that line the Via Partenope. Like many large hotels, the service at the desk was courteous, though a bit impersonal and not always very efficient, as we found out when we tried to reserve a taxi to the airport. Visiting Naples proved to be more demanding than I thought: take taxis but expect to walk a lot no matter what. It was nice to come back to the room after a long day of exploring.

Room Tip: We got a pre-paid room with a view at an excellent rate on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windinthewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 185 in Naples
1,118 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#42 of 185 in Naples
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,072 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 185 in Naples
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £174 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), SAS Ticati.COM, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing