We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

OK its a bit old fashioned. But beds comfortable, rooms quiet, great view and super nice staff. We had expected Naples to be dangerous and to be hassled. We weren't and felt perfectly secure. So many things to see concentrated in a small area. The Vesuvio well placed for historic Naples- you can walk to almost everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Vesuvio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had tickets for the rugby in Rome however the flights had already hiked in price so we decided to fly to another part of Italy and get the train to Rome.

We settled on Naples due to super cheap booked a few months in advance flights. My other half loves the sea so I looked for Hotels on the bay. He also has food allergies so I emailed a couple to see if they could accommodate them - we settled on the GHV with a room with a sea view and I am so glad we did.

This Hotel could not be more helpful (especially Rita on reception - thank you again Rita !). Its easy to get ripped off by taxis - they explained what we needed to do at the airport. I needed tickets printing for the rugby - happy to help. Room has fab view of the castle (which I had somehow missed from all the reviewing), lovely toiletries and super comfy beds. Naples is not a posh city but the bay is lovely. We had a huge allergy friendly breakfast, a nap with the balcony doors open, then a lovely long walk around the bay, gawping at boats, eating ice cream and enjoying the sun - topped off by a tour of the castle. The restaurant in the Hotel is lovely for dinner and cocktails and again, my partners food allergies were accommodated without fuss.

The Hotel is not cheap and its old school in style which I rather liked for once. Maximum stars are for service with particular reference to food because when it does go wrong, the results can be horrendous.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view and balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superfatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a suite with sea view and the room was just average. Nothing special and actually really out dated. The staff were very nice and the location is great.

The breakfeast was decent and like I mentioned the location is excellent and our view from our room was great.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Enjoyed the view each time when walking out of the hotel! The decor is a bit dated but the breakfast buffet is awesome! I can probably spend good numbers of hours to enjoy the great selection of the food, the cappuccino and the fascinating view! The rooftop restaurant is great but costly though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidiliketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel was to be the premier hotel of hotels during our entire trip to Italy. We booked to stay one night due to its proximity to Teatro San Carlo and location on the water. Location was undoubtedly good but most everything else was disappointing. Upon arrival we were luxuriously greeted and taken care of, only to be nickle and dimed for things like internet access. Are u serious?!?....we've stayed in much lesser hotels with free wifi and this is a five star?! Only when we were obviously disgruntled did they offer it to us for a "generous" 8 hrs. PLEASE!

So, lets just talk about our gym and pool experiece. First off, what pool experiece?....we never saw it...it was closed on Sunday...huh? The gym you may find if you take the staff elevator by accident (and i wasn't the only one). It was small, stuffy and their wasn't any staff to be found. Needless to say I ditched and went running outside which was delightful.

The room was ok but I really thought I would be wowed. It seemed a bit outdated and I was most surprised at the "do-it-yourself" calking job around the tub. Attention to detail overall seemed to be lacking.

On a lighter note, the inclusive breakfast was expansive with options for everyone. That most definitely was the highlight of this hotel and it's my understanding their restaurant is also very good. I will say we got a pretty good deal because we visited during the off season, but IMO they should not make cuts in quality/service for this deal, at the expense of their guests. Not bad but just an average hotel wearing the big boy 5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I searched and searched for a hotel on Trip Advisor for a post Christmas visit to Naples and the Amalfi coast. I found Gran Hotel Vesuvio. It is a grand dame from last century in terms of location (on the coast facing Castel Dell'Ouvo).

Check in started out ok but then the room that they provided had a water problem in the bath. The staff tried to reassign us to another room but the other rooms were not as nice and didn't have the space nor the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. We waited in the hall for our room to be repaired and cleaned. We waited for our key. Our check-in front desk staffer never came upstairs to finish the task requiring me to call and request a key. I only mention this because on multiple occasions the front desk said that they would do something (call back with a restaurant reservation) but never did until I called or went downstairs.

The room we finally received was plush, updated and featured a large marble bath (yes with jacuzzi) and a commanding view of the Mediterranean.

The breakfast alone is worth a return visit to Gran Hotel Vesuvio. Any place that serves fresh buffalo mozzarella as well as buffalo ricotta for breakfast each morning is a plus for me. the baked goods are fresh each morning. The fruit was fresh and ripe. There are also fresh juices and an assortment of eggs, another Western breakfast fare. What sets apart this breakfast though is the service. The manager of the breakfast dining room is classy, accommodating, highly receptive to your needs as a guest and works hard alongside very efficient and handsome staff.

The Restaurant Caruso is not to be missed for dinner. Again, the manager and team are highly efficient, accommodating, receptive to your needs and nice to be around. The foods are exquisite and also worth a return to the hotel.

Wifi is at a cost to the visitor.

Would I stay here again for pleasure? Yes of course. Would I stay here for business? Again, yes most certainly.

Room Tip: Be sure to splurge for a water view with balcony!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Hotel is located in one of the most beautiful scenic view in the Gulf and very well positioned to go sightseeing in the monument area (including spaccanapoli and S. Gregorio Armeno). Delicious breakfast buffet with local "patisserie" like baba' and caprese cake (almond and chocolate).

Rooms are clean, large and very comfortable. We always had very warm welcome.

Room Tip: Some suites are really huge
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gusemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Royal Continental Hotel
#42 of 185 in Naples
2,597 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#17 of 185 in Naples
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,036 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#28 of 185 in Naples
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Partenope 45, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#7 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £199 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the seafront, the prestigious Grand Hotel Vesuvio overlooks the Gulf of Naples, the island of Capri and Mount Vesuvius. These views can be admired from its rooftop restaurant.Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. All air-conditioned, they also feature a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels. Some have a balcony with sea views.Caruso Roof Garden Restaurant on the 9th floor offers fine Regional cuisine and panoramic views across the Mediterranean Sea (closed from 12-25 August, 2013). Reservations are mandatory.The hotel is opposite the Castel dell'Ovo in the historic quarter of Santa Lucia. The port for boats to Capri, Sardinia and other destinations is 15 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing