We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top-notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“top-notch”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

pros:
excellent location
grand, historic building
lovely room with balcony
charming bar and bartender

cons:
none!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdrileynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    304
    104
    39
    25
See reviews for
174
528
32
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Excellent levels of service and incredibly good value. Everything was in good condition. Great roof-top bar. Great restaurant (La Terrazza) overlooking the marina.

The hotel is away from the main sites but it does provide a great oasis of (relative) peace to return to to relax and re-charge.

Ottimo!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2GentleTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

It happen to stay at the hotel Excelsior, never again.
I stayed for 5 nights and even if the room was prepaid through an agency and i showed the voucher at the arrival, the girl at the desk Oriane didn't care at all and charged my credit card for an amount of over 1000 euros!!!
When i realize it, and i asked for an explanation... with her bad attitude she said that they would cancel it after a week or so!!!! she didn't even apologize.
After a while the Manager approached me and he said that was a mistake and that he was really sorry, and that he would try to refund me as soon as he could after the check out.
Credit Card Danger at the Excelsior.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We recently were in Naples for the weekend & stayed at the Hotel Excelsior. Our stay was fabulous. The hotel was old world luxury and charm. It was gloriously elegant and its setting, right across from the Bay of Naples, and the Vesuvius, was captivating. Rooms were large and spacious. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts were in a lovely, opulent dining room and the food was yummy. The neapolitan pastries and cakes on the buffet table were so delicious. This hotel is great for anyone who wants to visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanmaria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I recently spent two nights here and enthusiastically recommend this hotel. The hotel itself is lovely in the manner of grand hotels...think the Gritti, the Ritz in Paris,the Peninsula. More than that, the service was exemplary, particularly the front desk, but everyone really. The breakfast room was elegant, and the bar, cosy. You kind of expected to find Fred Astaire dancing in the lobby. Our room was lovely, overlooking the Bay and we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a suite. It is truly wonderful to find that there is still some elegance in the world.

Room Tip: Do splurge on a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We originally planned to stay 3 nights here, but returned for 3 more after cutting a side trip to Sorrento short. The hotel is very quiet, in both decor and noise levels. We had a lovely terrace overlooking the harbor, the Castel and Vesuvius. The sheets are linen, something I've never seen in a hotel before. The breakfast is served in a lovely room which adjoins an even lovelier roof top terrace. Breakfast is great. We had a fantastic lunch at the hotel restaurant, La Terrazza also. The bartender downstairs was very nice, but we preferred the cozier bar down the street at the Vesuvius hotel. Across the street is a huge selection of casual restaurants. We mostly ate at La Scialuppa which I thought had better pizza than some of the more famous places like Sorbillo. We also ate at Fresco, a few blocks away, and Antonio&Antonio, also a couple blocks away. Infante Gelateria on Via Toledo was the best! All these restaurants appeared to be frequented by non-English speaking customers. A taxi stand is a block away, and you can contract with the taxi drivers for an excursion like Pompeii much more economically than with your hotel (if you don't want to deal with trains and buses). The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good minibar.
Naples was very enjoyable, good art, good food, nice walkable city. We did not have any problems with crime. The Capodimonte museum has some great paintings. Good shopping district west of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace. Some of the other rooms might be a bit larger, but it is nice to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsmaxernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I selected to stay at the Hotel Excelsior after watching "Journey in Italy/Viaggio in Italia" a film about Naples in which the main characters stayed at the Hotel Excelsior. To our delight we found the hotel still in operation and we would have been very happy even if the Hotel Excelsior was just a faded version of its former grand self (the location and views are glorious) but Hotel Excelsior's charming and efficient staff, memorable food (I still daydream about eating the freshly made orange marmalade and pear and basil mamalade from the buffet breakfast on the rooftop with its breathtaking views), and beautiful rooms provided us with all the charm and attention to detail of a bygone era with up-to-date efficiency of a busy present.

The bed was huge and soft, I think the mattress had a down pillow top on it (I didn't look but that's what it felt like) and the sheets were linen - as if some Italian nonna had made them especially for us! The feeling of luxurious comfort and deep relaxation each time I got into this bed - is something I will never forget and which I know money can't necessarily buy elsewhere.

Coming back to our rooms after a day of exploring we would find our rooms immaculately cleaned with little sheets of gold embossed linen at each side of our bed on the floor for us to step onto when getting into and out of bed - how thoughful and beautiful.

I've noted other reviewers comment on the moments of noisy plumbing. It's not that bad and there is so much to enjoy to even notice it really.

While watching TV is not a main activity while on holidays, for those times when you're in your room getting ready for the next day etc. we really apperciated Hotel Excelsior providing a classics cinema channel .

I could go on and on with more details - being gently woken each morning by the tinkling of the fountain outside the hotel in the quiet of the early morning; the curtains which make the room absolutely pitch black even while the sun shines brightly right into the window each morning: I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Staying in this hotel made our time in Naples extraordinarily lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#35 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Eurostars, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing