We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Average experience. Poor rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #15 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location. Average experience. Poor rooms and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I would give this place (a 3 instead of the 2 I considered briefly), because they were quick to help rectify a guest-count issue at check in (no fault of theirs- Starwood website defaults to 1 guest when changing searches)

Now, to explain the remaining score of 2.

One for the location (like the other hotels on that street but with a corner location). One for the daytime concierge (also top notch and took his time to explain stuff and the reasons for it- well done!).

Rooms are disappointing. Furnishings are staid. Sound proofing is one of the worst encountered at such a hotel- we could hear next door showers, toilets, people (and on our last night there, from 11pm-1:00am!)

The 7th floor restaurant (also had breakfast buffet there on the days we were there- normally downstairs) and 8th floor bar offer fantastic views, so may be you could check those out over a drink/meal and not stay at the hotel to experience these.

The breakfast service was terrible at best. On Day 1, we asked for a baby seat and got one with food all over it that we proceeded to clean ourselves. Someone came to address only when they saw us do it. On Day 2, we asked for a baby seat and were told it was on its way. It showed up 20 mins into breakfast. Our 2-yr old, like most, prefers not to wait 20 minutes after they sight their first meal of the day. We were looking forward to our coffee on EasyJet (yes!) on the flight back, because it was warmer than what this hotel serves. The buffet itself is disspointing for a hotel of the claimed calibre. No fresh counters (pre-made scrambled and boiled eggs). Juices were not fresh or natural- flavoured/pre-made/canned variety. Only two types of sliced bread, one of which ran out on both days and was only replaced when asked. Glasses for Prosecco, but Prosecco bottle replenished once in a while. In short, not becoming of a Luxury Collection hotel.

Lastly, I have to admit that this review is contrary to this hotel's rating of being rated the second best in Naples. May be we were unlucky, or may be, if this really is the second best, it's slim pickings on hotels in Naples!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UniqueCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    301
    104
    38
    25
See reviews for
171
522
32
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was my first stay ion Naples and only stayed three nights. This hotel was very nice, clean rooms and all of the expected amenities. Beautiful location, right across from the old fort. nice sunrise location for breakfast. I was there in January so there was little activity and few people but the stories of summer sound very interesting. There are many food opportunities close by. All with good food and great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embassyworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeB50
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We chose the Excelsior Hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We also upgraded to sea view again well worth the little extra, views to die for.
You know you've made the right choice of hotel when you first walk through the entrance It is a definite WOW factor. We arrived very early and was prepared to leave suitcases and go out and about but was told it would only be an hour so we went into the lounge to have a drink and relax and take in the absolute splendor and beauty of the rooms and views out of the beautiful windows to Mount Vesuvius and the surrounding area
An hour later we were shown to our room on the 6th floor with a small balcony with 2 chairs and a table and view of a small harbour, a Castle & the island of Capri in the distance. side view of Mount Vesuivius All breathtaking.
The room had large wardrobe, safe and 6 small drawers, just inside the door to room with bathroom just off the corridor with bath, large sink and mirror, toilet and bidet. and I'm afraid my pet hate a small hairdryer the sort that gets hot in your hand after a short use and you have to keep your finger on to use. No use whatsoever for a lady to style her hair.
The bedroom was large with high ceilings 2 french doors to balcony, 2 single beds fixed together to form one large bed. 2 bedside cabinets, a desk/dressing table but no mirror, and a chest of drawers with mirror over .All furniture was of a high standard in keeping with age and style of this wonderful hotel. A modern TV on a glass TV stand. A fridge with mini bar and nibbles which we didn't use as we preferred to go to the hotel bar where the service was wonderful and every drink was accompanied with a trio of nibbles, or hot drinks accompanied with pastries.Utter luxury and service The bar tenders who were very professional knowledgeable and so friendly Pure pleasure.
We brought our travel kettle as my husband has to have a coffee first thing in the morning and there was not one in the room which we knew before we went .I will be bringing my hair dryer next time we go. as I didn't realise the hairdryer they provided was in the bathroom. And we will go back as the Excelsior is one of the rare hotels you have to go back to its Perfect.
The Excelsior is in a really good position for sight seeing and within walking distance of many of the sights which reception pointed out to us on the map provided when we checked in.Also the promenade is perfect for walking along after the wonderful meals we had during our stay in the hotel and surrounding restaurants and cafe's
Breakfast was included in the price we paid for our room, was of a very high standard with everything you could possibly need, hot and cold buffets, with pastries, toast, cakes, fresh fruit in abundance All served in the most sumptuous surroundings and as much tea, coffee all kinds, hot chocolate and fruit juices, even 'Processco if you wanted a treat.
The absolute best thing apart from luxury surrounds of this wonderful hotel is the Staff so professional and friendly thank you All for making this a perfect break away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at the Excelsior over the New Years holiday and were most pleased with the experience. First, its location on the Bay of Naples, across from the Castel dell'Ovo, affords magnificent views of Vesuvius and, at greater distance, Capri. Second, the quality of the rooms, including the public rooms, is excellent. The bedchambers are capacious and decorated in classic style; The public rooms are lovely and perfectly maintained. Service in the bright, beautiful breakfast room and at the front desk is efficient and friendly, although Americans might find the polite reserve less than warm. We appreciated the professionalism and found personnel to be most accommodating at every turn. A note about the breakfasts (included in our room rate of around $400.00 per night): The choices were broad and of high quality. We ordered at least two cappuccinos each for no additional charge and should also note that egg and meat dishes were available, as well as numerous pastries, fruit, and yogurt.

In conclusion, we found the Excelsior to be one of the best hotels we have visited over the years. Its prices are quite reasonable for a hotel of such quality, and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Make certain to choose a room with a balcony overlooking the water. Enjoy a stroll along the Via Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drewsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

With a room with a view on the gulf, one would want to stay there forever. The noise of the city is far away, the sky and sea blue, the Vesuvius and the islands on the horizon. Breathtaking! And it brings memories of old movies... you can almost expect to meet Ingrid Bergman in the lobby. Service is impeccable and competent. A patina of old style permeates the ambiance, something that many big chain hotels do not have or have lost.

Room Tip: Ask gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maurizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Naples is a city of culture, chaos and character, but when you step into the Hotel Excelsior you get the culture and character of a 5* hotel with all the culinary delights expected from a hotel of this caliber. The rooms are clean and spacious with staff that are attentive and helpful. For this, there is no city in the world like Naples. Nothing is too much for the guest. The restaurant on the terrace offers some of the best food to be found in Naples along with the best views over the Castelo do Ovo. My only advice for travellers to this wonderful city is to dress down. Don't go out with your jewels on show and ladies if you can, no handbags. Play it safe. Take this advice and you will have a most wonderful time. The Neapolitans are the friendliest people on earth.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FairReviever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

First, class rooms that are clean, spacious and quality built. A beautiful location on the sea and a respite from achaotic days in Naples. I found the conciege desk knowlegeable and helpful. A reason to reccomend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitchell_cutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Eurostars, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing