We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meraviglioso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #17 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

For me personnally, the best of the best....spacious rooms, great amenities, and a staff ready to help! After 10 trips to Naples, over the past two years, my every experience has been beyond expectations - the professional resturant staff, especially Mario, Lisa, Paolo, are the best....Alla prossima.

Room Tip: The doorbell is on the Lions nose!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Everything about this hotel is beautiful. We had our son's Bar Mitzvah service and luncheon here and they were wonderful helping to arrange everything. Our room was wonderful, however the tub/shower is very hard to get in/out of. The staff did bring up a nonskid safety mat. The location is beautiful and the rooftop breakfast area is stunning. Staff was very helpful. Old world charm abounds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a wonderful four night stay in this beautiful hotel. It is very clean, comfortable with excellent friendly staff. We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. Of special interest are the rooftop restaurant and bar with stunning views of the magnificent Bay. We really enjoyed our sojourn here and highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lesley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I spent almost a month touring Italy for our honeymoon and we spent 2 nights at this hotel, mainly as a base for us to explore Herculaneum, Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii.

What we LOVED about this hotel:-

1) Location - Felt relatively safer here than in the other parts of Naples. We have received lots of warnings on safety in Naples from our friends who have been to Naples as well as the locals! We have been told to stay clear of more shoddy areas and not to venture too far out from the touristy parts of town. We took many walks in the vicinity of Hotel Excelsior by the sea, never venturing too far out at night and it felt perfectly safe.

2) Rooms - We were allocated a room with a balcony and a great view of the harbor. As opposed to the other Italian cities, we actually spent quite a fair bit of time in our room especially after dark and it was a pleasure.

3) Service - Concierge was helpful in recommending and helping us book a day tour to Mt Vesuvius, Pompeii and Herculaneum. They also recommended a restaurant for dinner near the hotel by the sea and it was lovely. A live band also played there later on that night. Wonderful experience.

Room for improvement for the hotel:-

1) Shower/ Bathroom - Bad design. Showers are located on top of the bathtub and there are no shower curtains. There is a partition which covers only 1/3 the length of the bathtub but it doesn't really help, so water splashes all around and out of the bathtub whenever we took a shower. Naturally our bathroom always got partially flooded whenever we took a shower.

2) Breakfast - Standard buffet breakfast with a wide selection of food. Our only gripe were that the freshly cut fruits were not covered and there were tons of little flies swarming around. Not appetizing at all.

Aside from the above, I would highly recommend this hotel mainly for the location.

Room Tip: Definitely one with a balcony and on the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a grand hotel in the old style. Lush, plush with courteous service and spotless decor. Above all it has the most stunning views over the Bay of Naples out to Mt. Vesuvius - so go for the superior room (with a view). If you are as lucky as we were you might get upgraded to a suite - it was bigger than our flat. Good luck!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is in a super location overlooking the Bay of Naples and Naples Yacht Club. Our room was spacious with a double balcony and a good sized bathroom. The housekeeping service was one of the best we have experienced. Breakfast outside on th terrace was blissful and the service there too was excellent. The food was good and plentiful with a selection of juices and sparkling wine too. Dinner in La Terrasse was also very good. The streets around are traffic free so tehre is very liottle noise. Public transport is a little far away but a 15 minute walk brings you to the main R2 bus route. One gripe was the cost of wifi and the fact that it was not especaiily good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is beautiful on the main floor when you check in and the front desk staff a woman that checked us in was very nice. But the hotel rooms are very outdated , up charge for everything , TV, Internet, Room Service breakfast was on time but lacking in quality...located in a very horrible location, traffic is insane, area is shady , but to be positive beautiful views of the ocean.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,520 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 186 in Naples
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,138 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,083 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 186 in Naples
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £85 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Eurostars, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing