We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grand hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved the area that the hotel was in especially since we were a little leery of Naples in general. The hotel was spectacular and our room was beyond imagination. We were upgraded to a corner suite based on my husbands points within the Westin system. It was huge with four large windows a balcony in the room and the bathroom as well! The bath had a large shower and a separate extra large tub with jets. Breakfast was in a formal room downstairs with view of the bay of Naples. It had both hot and cold options with a large variety of fresh fruit, sweets and other options. The only thing we didn't appreciate was the coffee which we asked for "coffee americano", in every other hotel we received good strong coffee which we enjoyed but this was almost undrinkable. I would also agree with the comments about the doormen not being as attentive to the general tourist. Our driver had to go in and find someone to help with our bags even though we were the only ones arriving at that time. They did not go out of their way to open a door for you even though they were there.

Room Tip: Room 424 was beautiful, spacious with awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    324
    107
    40
    26
See reviews for
182
553
35
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We visited Naples for my wife's birthday so that we could visit Pompei and Herculanium. Naples is not the cleanest city but the area of the hotel is lovely. We paid extra for a room that overlooked the sea and the yacht marina and were not disappointed. The hotel staff were extremely professional and helpful. Lots of Restaurants nearby so plenty to choose from.
Our only slight niggle was that Breakfast was always cold and we prefer scrambled egg and bacon to be hot.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, MA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The Excelsior is a grand experience in early 20th Century elegance. Apart from an ideal location, the facility is very memorable. One example, be sure to walk up at least one flight of stairs. If you can get a room looking over the harbor the view is breathtaking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oahu
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

wonderful hotel. great location on the bay, and in-between the touristy walking areas and the residential areas.

hotel room was nice and spacious. bathtub was huge, and to even have a tub is great in Europe, but seriously HUGE for a basic room.

lanai was nice size, and the rails were not so big that I felt my son was going to get thru them. felt very safe.

Concierge was impeccable, giving sound advance on shopping and food in the area.

Service to the room was "immediate", literally. We had an issue with our safe and when I called someone was at my door in less than 3 minutes. Same went for the chambermaid. I asked for housekeeping to stop by with some extra pillows for my wife and son and she was here with a full cart in less than 5 minutes.

don't be surprised if you see police outside the hotel. we had so many high profile people staying here they had police escorts for them whenever they came in or left.
====================
Minor issues is the only reason I did not give them a 5 star rating:
1) safe did not work, so I called and someone came up to try and fix. SHe couldn't. Then maintenance came while we were out and the issue again was not fixed correctly. the safe itself seemed like an afterthought, as the numbers were so old and worn down. interesting that everything so nice in a hotel like this the safe as so bad. but again, in a hotel of this nature a safe probably isn't required.
2)due to the nature of the hotel, sometimes the greeters/doormen at the door seemed "disinterested" if you were say "commonly" dressed as compared to the dignitaries and high profile people who came though the door.

=========================
family notes:
1=there is a grocery store and market 5 minutes walk away toward the palace, so easy to get milk and snacks for the kids
2=you are literally on the main walking drag for the bay, so the entire area was patrolled by police, and traffic is mostly blocked off with a few cars only. the street along the bay is typically car free and only families, bikers, and people walking. bike rentals close by.
3=park, playground, and aquarium are about 10-15 minute walk along the bay
4= go to the restaurant "Fresco", best food in Naples. Pizzas to go and the staff always gave my 2 year old a free dessert when we went. the owner is literally making the pizzas for you.
5= if you take a cab to or from the airport or train station, be carefully for price gauging. I was taken by someone from the train station. if you feel you are, simply go inside and have the concierge talk to them. they already have approved flat rates for travel to and from the hotel.
rail station should be about 10-15 to the rail and the airport should be 23 euros.

Room Tip: we were on the thir d floor with a side view of the water. the only thing I noticed is that the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Truly excellent service and a great location on the Napoli coast- walking distance from restaurants and a good 15 minute walk to the Old Town.

The hotel is beautiful, with outdoor terraces, loads of amenities, and a nice fitness centre. My hotel room was clean and very well equipped, including newspapers and bottled water. My room came with a balcony and some wide water views.

Food at the hotel was good - decent variety at the breakfast buffet on the 7th floor but it was the very friendly and attentive service that really stood out.

The Reception staff was very attentive and proactive in order to meet my needs.
I would return gladly and can recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna0481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for three nights in February and would certainly stay again, although the hotel did have some quirks.

The Good:

* Excellent service. Couldn't fault the staff.
* The common areas of the hotel are superb. Styled with a classic early 20th century feel they are well kept and really look the part.
* The breakfast is great. Served on the 7th floor with a big outside area overlooking the bay and Vesuvius. Great range on offer and attentive service.
* Some of the rooms (ours included) have a large outdoor seating area.

The Bad:

* The hotel offers no Iron & Ironing board. I asked to have one sent up and was told absolutely not. It was the policy of the hotel not to offer an ironing board. The only option was to have my clothes pressed by the laundry service. I've never in my life struck this before, every hotel I've stayed in (and I've stayed in many) has offered an iron & board. If your clothes go into a suitcase they are going to need an iron when they come out.
* The rooms are quite dated now. Still comfortable but showing their age. The TV's are small & the bathrooms are looking worn.
* The noise insulation isn't the best, if your neighbors decide to party you are going to hear it.

Room Tip: Get one with a view of Vesuvius or an outside balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wehi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We really liked this hotel. I was concerned about staying here after reading some of the reviews of the front desk. I'm glad we came. Reception was so friendly and helpful. Our luggage was lost by AirFrance and we had a lot of trouble communicating with the airlines. The front desk could not have been more helpful in helping retrieve our luggage. It took 3 days. They also made dinner reservations for us as well as continuously giving us directions. We had a large room with a king bed and a sea-view. The area outside of the hotel has been cleaned up and is pedestrian friendly. The location was perfect and we were able to walk everywhere. Breakfast was included and very nice

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TERRI SCHWARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,414 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#44 of 186 in Naples
2,488 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#29 of 186 in Naples
690 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
989 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing