We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We managed to get a cheaper rate for this hotel because we are members of the Starwood Preferred Guests programme, and with that rate, this hotel was honestly very worth it for the 5 star quality it is. In fact price-wise it was just slightly more than some of the other 3 star accommodation we stayed elsewhere in Italy, but of course being so much better in terms of quality, service and comfort.
The room was really spacious and luxurious, and with a balcony to a fantastic view (overlooking the bay, with Mt Vesuvius on one side and the city on the other). The staff would do house-keeping twice a day, including once before bed-time.
The breakfast place was on the roof-top and had a lovely view, and the hotel lobby is also really ornately decorated.
Most of all, its in a very safe and peaceful location away from the bustle and griminess of Naples.
(note: actually travelled in April 2013)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 786Sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    301
    104
    39
    25
See reviews for
171
524
32
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, N.Y.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have to say at the outset that, owing to some glitch on the hotel's part, we could not get the "deluxe" category room we had reserved, and were instead given a junior suite with balcony, direct view of the charming port, and beautiful bath. This added immeasurably to the pleasure of our 3 night stay in Naples. This room, we were told, would cost E. 500-600 per night, depending on the season.

We were extremely pleased with all aspects of the hotel. The bed (very important to us seniors), was excellent, with extra pillows and blankets supplied. There was generous storage space, a safe and fridge, an English newspaper at the door each morning. Breakfast, as others have noted, was included in the price, and superb. All pastries and cakes are made on the premises. The dinner at the hotel is a buffet. Unlike most buffets, the food was not overcooked (possibly because we were there early), there were choices for all courses, and the only problem was that we ate too much, even though we did not eat every course! An a la carte menu would be appreciated, although there are many restaurants at the port where one can eat as little or as much as one wants. The restaurant staff is excellent to a person--friendly and efficient. We wish we could identify all by name, but can mention one, Mario at breakfast, whose good spirits and humor made starting the day a pleasure. The top floor dining area was a beautiful open and covered terrace, planted with a variety of blooming plants and vines with views of the port and sea. We looked forward to eating there.

The concierge staff is available for any assistance, and is likewise, cordial and patient. However, if you like hotels where the concierge actively asks if you need this or that, offers a drink at check-in, etc., you may feel disappointed. We were fine with the availability of the staff when we had a need. For example, on arrival we checked with the hotel's doorman, on the fare our taxi driver had insisted upon from the Central Station to the hotel (E. 25). He said it should only be E. 15, and actively took this position with the driver, so that we paid E. 15.

Housekeeping is superb. The beautiful linen sheets are changed daily, the marble bathroom is pristine, everything works. Drinking water is supplied gratis each day.

Our only criticism is that it seems wrong to be charged at all for internet service at a luxury hotel.

We would be delighted to return to the Hotel Excelsior, and to Naples, which, for all its problems, is a terrific tourist destination.

Room Tip: You can economize by choosing an interior room, or room with a street view, but it's a great ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ge0rgeandGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a very large room overlooking the bay of Naples and were walking distance to restaurants and the pier. It had a couple of small Juliet style balconies. I was thought the 60 Euro charge for an extra be was rather excessive (this was the first Starwood hotel in more than 10 years of gold status that did not waive the extra bed fee, because of my gold status) and I had to repeat asking for my Starwood benefit of free internet, as they seemed as they didn't want to offer it, plus we had to renew every 24 hours. I think the hotel while very nice could use and update and did not seem to have a new bed with a pillow top and duvet as most Starwood hotels do. The breakfast had a good choice and the terrace on top was a nice place to overlook the bay and have a glass of wine or coffee and a snack.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I echo the comments about the Hotel being an oasis from the inviting hustle and bustle of Naples. A price to pay for the oasis is that it is not as convenient to go to different places to visit as it would be if one was staying in the hustle and bustle of the center city. To us it was worth the inconvenience and expense of traveling to the sights from our quiet atmosphere. (If you take a taxi from the hotel, ask the desk to call a taxi for you, as they will get a set price that is fair, compared to negotiating a price yourself.) We also stayed in a seaview room with balcony. We were particularly interested in having chairs, which room 523 has. It was so relaxingto look out on the Bay of Naples, with Vesuvius hovering over the background.

The staff was helpful and while formal, they were also friendly. Housekeeping service was exceptional.

So why only 4 stars. We wee not happy with the breakfast. While the dining room staff were quite charming, the food was not exceptional in comparison to breakfasts we have had in other hotels. The hotel only serves a buffet for dinner. There was a choice of only two entrees, both of which was sitting in a heating dish. The quality and the diversity of the foods was mediocre at best. There is no comparison to eating locally, but it is nice to have a good dining room in a hotel to to when you are too tired to go out for dinner.

Room Tip: We were happy with room 523.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for (2) nights 1 &2 May. Chose the seaview room with balcony and loved the room & view The Excelsior is a gem and the staff is outstanding. We loved everything about our stay, from the room, location, gym, breakfast, etc. Naples itself is not the best city in Italy, but staying at the Hotel Excelsior is a a wonderful retreat.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Bay of Naples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I understood that visiting Naples would give me the experience of seeing a city fizzing with activity and bursting with humanity. What I hadn't altogether expected was that my hotel would be a haven of tranquillity in an area of carefully fashioned uber-cool.

My room was huge, the bathroom was utterly superb ( perfectly designed) the view ( bay of Naples & Vesuvius) was stunning and the rooftop bar/breakfast area, the cherry on top of the icing on top of this wonderful cake!

I only ate breakfast at the hotel and this was first class, with a good selection and everything deliciously fresh.

Service was equally first class.

The concierge recommended a restaurant in the nearby marina/ old Fort complex. This was a very pleasant walk and an excellent eating place.

Room Tip: Ask for south or east facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed at the Excelsior April 24 & 25, 2014 in a deluxe king room overlooking the bay of Naples. Room was large, bright, and sparkling clean with two sets of narrow french doors overlooking the bay that were truly soundproof and included exterior shades (controlled by a button on the interior wall) that totally blocked out sunlight for those who need a dark room. I could open the shades and doors for sea air. We were on the "first" floor (2nd for Americans) and with the doors open the street noise was there with chatty pedestrians on the seaside promenade but when the doors were closed (or open during the wee hours of the morning when the pedestrians were all home asleep) there was no noise from outside. No noise heard from other rooms. Wifi connection was free and fast, the best of our 14-night trip. Bed was very comfortable with nice linens, tables at each side of the bed and good reading lights. Bathroom was not huge (meaning no wasted space) but very comfortably sized to allow two to get ready for the day at the same time. Water pressure was good and water was hot.

Breakfast was served in a very large, sunny room overlooking the bay. Food quality and service were excellent. The fruit was absolutely beautiful and plentiful. Selection of hot egg and meat dishes along with cold cereals, yogurt, cured meats, cheeses, pastries, juices. The breakfast at the Excelsior was by far the most beautiful of any trip to Italy. A very elegant and wonderful way to start a day in Naples. Staff were warmly attentive but unobtrusive.

The hotel building is elegant and well-tended. Location is fantastic in a pedestrian-only area overlooking the water with several restaurants nearby. I noticed a very slight cigarette odor on entering the hotel the first day but not again and especially not in the room or other interior areas of the building.

Rooftop is spectacular and very large with tables and chairs set out in groups throughout the very large area with 180 degree views out over the bay. Service for evening cocktails was attentive and prices reasonable especially given the setting.

Would I go back? In a heartbeat. In fact, I would go back to Naples just to stay at the Excelsior. On our single full day in the city we walked as far as the Duomo and back with several stops in both directions and looked forward to returning to the elegant haven of the Excelsior at the end of the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Continental Hotel
#44 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Eurostars, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing