We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #14 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

The hotel is in the safest area of Naples located right on the marina but that is about all it has. Naples is a very dirty and unfriendly city. Most of the people we encountered were not very nice. The hotel staff was not very accomodating. Being a gold member and on my honeymoon, I expected to receive a little higher level of service. I was supposed to receive a room upgrade, but according to management, there wasn't anything available nor any other amenity like breakfast which I had to suggest for the inconvenience because according to management, an upgrade is given upon availabitily but if there is non, then they don't have to do anything which is exactly what they did. I was given the run of the house room after speaking to all the management on staff to no avail. Here are the pics from my room and keep in mind that I am a gold member on my honeymoon. The bed (I mean plank) was harder than a rock and that is an insult to the rock and I am not exaggerating. It was a very dissappointing stay and the uneasyiness of the area did not help. If you are looking for a good place to sleep and appreciative customer service - stay away from this place. They even increased the category on the spg website. What a mistake!! They should have reduced it two times. Best of luck if you decide to stay. I would suggest you look at all the rest of the hotels on the same street Via Partenope. They are probably a much better choice and probably much cheaper too but stay away from the city center, it looks scary.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JermanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    314
    106
    40
    25
See reviews for
175
544
34
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
740 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This is truly a gorgeous place. The room was just gorgeous. The hotel has done a nice job of retaining its historical beauty while also renovating it so that it does not feel dingy.

The bed could be better, other than that, the room was literally breathtaking. the architecture was incredible. it is worth coming to naples just to have a room here.

The hallways and stairways are just gorgeous as well. The staff do a great job of keeping this property clean and looking sharp!

The staff can be a bit surly. I had a very minor issue and they were not very nice about it. Besides that, I would suggest to anyone this place for a great spot to stay for sightseeing, relaxing, romantic, or whatever other type of reason to come here!!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

The Excelsior is in a nice location - there are luxury hotels all around and it's nice being right across from the water. In the evenings, it is very pleasant to walk along the waterfront and the area feels very safe. The Piazza del Plebiscito is very close (10-15 min walk) where you can catch the beginning of the hop-on hop-off bus tour, see the Palazzo Reale or the Castel Nuovo. We took cabs to further sites (such as the Capodiamonte Museum) since you are not that close to the city center (there is a taxi queue just a block away). The hydrofoils to Sorrento/Capri are close, but with luggage, you need a cab. We had breakfast in the hotel one day and it was good (lots of variety and great selection of pastries), but for 30 Euros/person, you are better off going to a nearby cafe for a coffee and pastry - for 4 Euros. Go to nearby Ettore restaurant (a few blocks away) - locals and tourists love it (for good reason) - it's always crowded, but its very reasonable and has great food (it's well regarded on chowhound.com)! Our room was luxurious and pleasant with windows that open and you can see the water if you lean out. They leave bottled waters every evening and has nice large marbled bathrooms (also with a window that opens). As noted in other reviews, the shower does leak, so our bathroom door didn't close (with all the water damage). That aside, the hotel is very nice and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

This is a great hotel if you want the everything. It is a luxury hotel, so you get the best. The one thing is with all the luxury you should get better beds, so if I had to comment on one thing is that the beds aren't that great. They are way better than most places, but I have slept in better (though if I had to rate the beds in all the places I have stayed in Europe I would give them a 7 out of 10) - I go to Europe every year since I have 5 years old, so I have stayed at many places...I am just starting to help rate them now because I use this site all the time.

Try and get a room with a view because you will see the entire bay of napoli and Vesuvius...it is just wonderful. If you go down one block north then hang a right you will hit a coffee shop that is always crowded but very good for a quick cafe and pastry so you don't have to pay hotel prices ;)

Oh ya, the hotel rooms are very roomy...they just remodeled half of the hotel when we got there so it should be finished by now...much better than the year before...

If you are looking for something much less expensive, with a good view but further away from everything...stay at Hotel Paradiso (by Best Western)...I love that place too.

Ciao!!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Stayed a few days over Christmas & new year 2007.

Very good location, with a view over the bay, so no hemmed in feeling. Nice to walk along the promenade in front. The main town & sights, & train to Pompeii/Herculaneum are a pleasant 15-30mins walk, but plenty of taxis around.

Room & bathroom very clean & spacious. Decor slightly dated. Furnishings very nice, & bed very comfortable.

Communal rooms also very large / spacious, but again slightly dated decor. Also, probably seemed quite odd, since there were few people around.

Staff generally very professional & pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

What a wonderful experience we had at this hotel. This hotel is a better experience than the Excelsior in Rome (we stayed there first). By the way the hotels are not related. The property is beautiful, is decorated in such good taste. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, some of them have wonderful views of the bay and the surrounding area is wonderful to walk by. I agree that Naples can be a little dangerous but if you are careful, you'll be fine. We walked several times for dinner, one time at midnight, and we did not find the least of a problem outside. Breakfast buffet is very good, above average from Europe. Service is amazing, someone walks you through the hotel facilities and show you to your room at check in, in fact, I think some people would feel uncomfortable with this quality of service. We had a car but hotel location is perfect so we did not use it during our stay. Staff gave us good pointers for a visit to Pompeii and Capri. A big drawback is that parking rates are enormous at the hotel, we know now a better alternative was a public garage just a couple of blocks away. I strongly recomend this hotel and would stay here again. Loved Naples by the way...

  • Liked — The place is beautiful!
  • Disliked — The parking rates
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank adragonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We booked a large oceanview room and were not dissapointed. The room was by far one of the most beautiful hotel rooms we have stayed in. The walls were covered in gold silk fabric and the decor was equally posh. We really enjoyed having two bathrooms and the many windows overlooking the bay and castle. After a day in Naples we saw what we came to see and were not too upset to be leaving but were sad to leave our gorgeous room...

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank coltsfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,384 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
2,437 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#31 of 186 in Naples
676 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
953 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Excelsior

Property: Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via Partenope 48 | Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121, Naples, Italy (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#10 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#19 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior is located close to Castel dell'Ovo, with spectacular panoramic views of Vesuvius, the Gulf of Naples and the paradise islands of Ischia and Capri. Every space of this classic building is elegantly decorated, with Murano crystal lamps, Carrara marbles, fabrics and silk coverings. The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior offers beautiful and luxurious event rooms with views of Vesuvius and the Gulf, with large, stylish windows and refined decor. The hotel has 109 luxury rooms and 14 suites of different categories with an elegant interior design and the best services. Here you will also find the excellent Ristorante La Terrazza, located in the roof garden on the last floor of the hotel, offering high quality Mediterranean cuisine and stunning views of the Bay of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Eurostars, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing