We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,393)
Filter reviews
1,393 results
Traveller rating
757
407
141
50
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
407
141
50
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay of naples rooftop restaurant marble bathroom beautiful hotel mount vesuvius overlooking the bay top floor turn down service egg castle front desk staff breakfast service superb location roof garden high ceilings cakes stayed here for two nights rooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,393 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior has seen better days. It has a superb location right on the Bay of Naples, and is within walking distance of nice dining and great sightseeing; Castle dell'Ovo is right outside the front door and across the road. It's a little far from the old city, but an easy cab ride gets you there. But the hotel is old, and it looks it--particularly inside. Very tired decor, dirty and gouged walls in our room, 50s style sink in the bathroom with no place to spread out gear for two people, dated and faded drapes/bedspread in our room. As a place to sleep, it's fine; also a nice breakfast buffet. But there are three modern hotels on the same street on the same Bay. I'd try one of those...

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Murdoch312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Clean room, safe and quite part of the city near the port, little bit older furniture in the room, nice and friendly staff on the reception, beautiful view from the top terase, bigger room and bathroom than usual in this part of Italy, good breakfast

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Evicka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The Eurostars Hotel Excelsior in Naples, Italy is impressive. The staircase, hallways, and guest rooms are all grand. The front desk staff and conceirge were professional and very helpful. The guest room we stayed in overlooked the Bay of Naples and could see Mount Vesuvius in the distance. We also noticed the building was needing a bit of TLC. From our balcony the concrete seal was pealing off. Which makes the view bit of a an eyesore. The biggest compliant we had is the poor design of the shower. There was no way around not flooding the floor when taking a shower. Water spilled over the tub and sprayed the whole bathroom no matter how hard we tried to keep water inside the bathtub. Which made the marble floor a major hazard and liability for the hotel. Plus, we did NOT enjoy mopping the wet floor after showering. We were also disappointed with room service. The Excelsior is a 5 Star hotel so we were expecting the restaurant to know how to make sunny-side eggs. Sadly, we had to send breakfast back twice before they got it right. And two of the three times that we ate at the restaurant on the roof top patio we had to chase down the waiter to get the bill.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel on the bay. Great views from rooms facing the bay of Naples. Many restaurants , bars on the strip. Large rooms with comfortable beds. Clean hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast not included and not worth the price. Beautiful rooftop bar and restaurant. Walking distance to ferries to Capri, Ischia.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

On our most recent trip to Italy we stayed at this hotel twice. Once, for a quick overnight stay before we started a group trip to the Amalfi Coast and for two nights at the end of the group trip to visit Naples and Pompeii and Herculaneum. Both stays were very good, but with one caveat that I'll explain. The hotel itself is on the pedestrian mall overlooking the bay and has fantastic views. Our first night here we arrived very late from Sardinia--about 12;30am. There were no bellman to help us with our luggage. The lone person at the front desk was adequate at that time of night. Our room was huge and had a lovely view of the port. On our return visit, we met the day staff, who were very nice. One caveat--this room had so many electronic and electric upgrades that it was somewhat hard to determine what light went with what button. Not the biggest problem, but a nuisance. Alas, only a street view this time. During our second trip, we decided to have drinks on the rooftop bar. Lovely! I was quite content watching the sun fade with my drink! Breakfasts were on the ground level with a port view and covered both American and European tastes.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews