We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best show in town”

Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.16*
and up
Private Tour: Capodimonte Museum in Naples
Ranked #34 of 498 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century museum houses magnificent collections from such renowned artists as Masaccio, Titian, Raphael, El Greco and Bruegel, including the immense Farnese collection.
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
270 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Best show in town”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is my number one for attractions in Naples. The best paintings of the Neopolitan Baroque are found here. For someone who likes the visual arts this is the first must-see. The close second is the archaeological museum. The paintings here are the best preserved and illuminated. Sadly, many of the paintings throughout Naples are in poor repair--darkened and lighted inadequately.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,021
    448
    130
    47
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After our leisurely lunch we visited the Capodimonte museum. I was expecting to see ceramics but instead we saw paintings lining the walls of the lovely and ginormous museum. We kept setting off the alarms, even our guide set them off, and the place was so large I wished I had a Segway to maneuver the great hall after hall. I realized we were all exhausted from traveling and touring 4 days in a row, and all I could think about was the sea day that I so badly needed! We all wanted to get back to the ship early, desperate for sleep and a hot shower. I rarely poop out while traveling, thankfully we didn't have far to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Some superb highlights, but also mediocre works on show”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If one likes Caravaggio, one should visit this museum - one of the best works of this painter (the Flagellation) is on show here. Ans some other highlights of art history too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiniotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Worth the effort getting there”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This Royal Palace isn't the easiest to find by public transport, but repays the effort with a great selection of rennaisance art in a fine setting. As you progress you find a number of rooms where the orginal decorations and furniture have been restored. There is a tiny selection of (rather poor) contemporary art in the attic.
Separate from the main musuem, and easily missed, is a smaller one, 'Oro' , with restored rooms where the royal family actually lived and a rather random selection of their own mainly19th century art.
The views from the main building over Naples are lovely and the palace is surrounded by a well used public park.
Entrance is free for EU citizens over 65 yrs (as it is in many Italian state musuems). We used our EU Health Insurence cards as evidence of age & citizenship: it was always accepted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
349 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Where were the masters??”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Lovely building in a great parkland setting above the city. However, the guide book I had (Thomas Cook) talked about stuff by Rembrandt, Raphael, Titian, Renoir, El Greco and others. Now I'm in no way an art connoisseur, but I can read labels alongside paintings, and couldn't find any of these. Maybe suffering rather too much from the previous night's intake of red wine? Who knows. Just left a bit disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank soul_man_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte also viewed

 

Been to Museo Nazionale di Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing