We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated hotel with friendly staff able to give good tips on restaurants in the neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pinto-Storey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinto-Storey
Ranked #82 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well situated hotel with friendly staff able to give good tips on restaurants in the neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a well situated hotel in the Chiaia district of Naples. A 10-15 minutes walk down to the sea where boats to the islands (Capri, Ischia and Ponza) leave. It is in the middle of an upscale shopping area and there are good restaurants nearby. The staff give good tips on restaurants (e.g. Noi del Manzoni) and one member of staff is particularly good at this as he once had a restaurant. It is a safe area also at night. There is a taxi stand on the square. When coming from the airport there is also the possibility of taking the bus from the airport to the main station and then the metro to Piazza Amadeus (buy ticket in the Hudson newspaper shop close to where the metro leaves). You then arrive right on the square where the hotel is. Sometimes prices on their site can be lower than on other hotel booking sites. In the summer it makes sense to book including the air conditioning option. WIFI is available but is not yet free if I recall correctly. Nice Italian breakfast with Napolitanian pastries. Guidebooks and daily Italian newspapers in the reception area. From the small balcony in the room you have a beautiful view on Naples. I have come back here several times.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_connaisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    107
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
22
134
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed in a spacious room with a sea view out one floor-to-ceiling window and a balcony overlooking town, park, and mountains out the other. In addition to the high ceilings and comfortable bed, there was a table with two chairs, a desk, a huge armoire, completely adequate bathroom, and even an entry hall! The Pinto-Storey building is beautiful (and, usefully, has an elevator - though you'll have to walk some steps up to enter the building and some steps down to reach the lift). The reception staff are great, very helpful, and breakfast is the usual sweet Italian affair but with some nice Napolitano specialties and outstanding fresh-squeezed blood orange juice (at least in May, when I visited). Best of all, though, was the location in Chiaia district. I was traveling alone and had read awful things about shoplifting and safety; also, even though I'm a frequent and comfortable traveler, I found myself overwhelmed by the sheer size of Naples. Again and again, I wasn't sure where to stay. This district was perfectly in my comfort zone. It's just off a small piazza with taxi rank and subway station, giving great access. It's a beautiful short walk to the sea. Around the corner is an excellent, up-scale shopping street that will meet most people's needs (it gets more upscale as you progress down the street). Honestly, I loved doing my business there, I loved branching out and returning each day, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: End of the hall room was large and had double windows, creating a cross-ventilation and giving prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I truly enjoyed my short, one-night stay here. The hotel is in an upscale, very quiet neighborhood with excellent shopping and restaurants steps away. The desk employees were very helpful and quick to give good advice on everything. I wanted to take an overnight ferry and the desk clerk told me the best and easiest way to make my reservation, as a travel agent was located directly across the street. Public transportation was right outside the front door, as well as taxis. My single room had a beautiful balcony and a lovely view. I only wish that they had one or two english speaking satellite channels on the TV. I will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a very nice old style hotel with good views. The location is excellent, near metro and shops, also short walk to the bay. The hotel staff is helpful and courtious with restuarant recommendations and help setting up tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWRCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel four times over a couple of months of work trips to Naples so clearly I found something worth returning to...

First off, the location is great. But let me clarify this. Naples, like New York, is a big, bustling, and sometimes dangerous city. So some locations that seem great (e.g., next to the station) are in fact considered to dangerous by the locals, and when it comes to safety I'm going with the locals. This hotel is in Piazza Amadeo, one of the of the two or three nicest residential areas of Naples. It is right opposite the metro stop and a taxi rank, which is a big help. The area is quite and generally very safe at night. It's true, you're not in the heart of the action, but in Naples for reasons of safety and noise, you don't really want to be, and all interesting places in the city center are a 10-30 minute walk or short metro ride away.

Second, the hotel is located in beautiful historic building. Just walking up the central staircase gives such a sense of atmosphere. (Having said that: word to the wise: there is a elevator -- use it if you have bags!)

My room itself was one of the single traveler rooms (basically the size of a dorm room, with a single narrow bed). I'm fine with this, and have had similar rooms in Rome and Milan.

In fairness, I have not note some shortcomings of the hotel as well. The finish and furnishings in the room were pretty old. I didn't watch TV, but if you do then it's an old picture-tube style set. The bathroom was clean, but the fixtures and so on are pretty old. The front desk is only staffed during certain hours. You have to check in before 11 pm. And if you are checking out before 8 am you need to pay the previous night. Breakfast is on the simple side (croissant, piece of cake, coffee). That's fine with me, but don't count on a lavish breakfast buffet here. Finally, there's good wifi in the rooms, but you have to pay for it (it's not too expensive: something like 3 euros for 90 minutes, or 5 euros for 3 hours).

All in all, I really liked this hotel. It has a discreet charm and superb location. The rooms are clean, and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombaybeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This has been my favorite hotel in Naples for years. The location is excellent and so is the hotel itself. It's unfortunate, then, that there was an attempt to process our credit card charge in U.S. dollars instead of Euros, at an extra 3 percent fee. This is a practice called "Dynamic Currency Conversion,'' and should be avoided if possible because of the extra charge for the so-called "convenience'' of knowing what you'll pay in U.S. dollars instead of doing the conversion yourself.

The Visa rules say the merchant (in this case, the hotel) has to offer customers the choice, but this didn't happen. Instead, we signed a credit card receipt saying that we "had been offered a choice and agreed,'' when we didn't until we noticed the fine print on the receipt. We brought it up immediately with the desk clerk, who didn't seem to know what it was (so, obviously couldn't have offered us the choice). We ended up starting over, using a different credit card, this time processing the charge in euros. The clerk agreed to cancel the other payment which he did (the refund came in about a week later). That was fine, but it was a hassle that could have been avoided if we had been charged in euros in the first place as we were at every other hotel where we stayed in a three-week trip.

The hotel also needs to change its Wi-Fi policy to free from paid, given its room rates.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. On the first, we discovered the toilet was leaking. The person at the front desk indicated it would be fixed. It wasn't. The next morning the toilet was gushing water. The person at the front desk came in and shut of the water saying that it couldn't be fixed until the following week. He gave us a key to a single room down the hall -- so that we could use the toilet. He said they had no room in which to move us. We were offered no compensation or even apologies when we checked out.

The area is very nice; good restaurants nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonya5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PintoStoreyHotel, Manager at Pinto-Storey, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
It needs real nerve to publish a negative review as it did this customer!

When the toilet in the bathroom had the fault we weren't able to change rooms because there weren't other double rooms available, but we gave a single room Extra (FREE of course, and obviously we apologize for the inconvenience) to be able to let them use the bathroom privately for the last night of stay...

We don't understand how we would have to refund the customer if in the end he used the room, slept and had breakfast too... Obviously, this client did not want to have fixed the problem, but the only thing he wanted was do not pay the bill (166 EUR instead of 286 EUR)!!!

Is it right to be penalized in this way? Unfortunately on this web site it happens very often because anyone can write what he wants and the Hotel can not defend themselves... Unfortunately...

Oscar di Nocera
Manager & Marketing Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Chiaia
Hotel Exe Majestic
Hotel Exe Majestic
#33 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Chiaia
Hotel Mergellina
Hotel Mergellina
#81 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Chiaia
Ausonia Hotel
Ausonia Hotel
#94 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cimarosa
#25 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#23 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
San Ferdinando
MH Design Hotel
MH Design Hotel
#88 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinto-Storey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinto-Storey

Property: Pinto-Storey
Address: Via Giuseppe Martucci 72, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Chiaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinto-Storey 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinto-Storey is to be found in a beautiful liberty building at the City center in the heart of Chiaia, which located between the Ancient Center and sea side road, one of the most exclusive and elegant parts of Naples. Located on the 4th floor of the building, the Pinto-Storey welcomes its guests with a warm, familiar atmosphere, an impeccable service and a friendly environment. Furnishings are in classic style, with period furniture from the end of the 1800`s, with details in wrought iron and bronze. Soundproofed rooms fitted with a wide range of comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinto-Storey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinto Storey Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing