We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedlam!”
Review of Centro Storico

Centro Storico
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.99*
and up
Naples Guided Tour by Bike
Ranked #32 of 498 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This part of Naples is considered the historic center of the city, which contains the Palazzo Reale and the splendid churches of Gesù Nuovo, San Lorenzo and Santa Chiara.
Milawa, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Bedlam!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed just on the edge of Centro Storico, and when we arrived we where lost and disoriented. It was noisy, dirty and very hectic, with honking cars and madcap scooter riders trying to run us down. But once we settled in to our accommodation, we slowly eased into this maelstrom. We learnt to love this ancient place. There's a market on every corner with constant street theater with the animated locals enjoying life to the full. It was always so much fun exploring the old streets like Via dei Tribunali, Via Vecchia, Via San Gregorio Armeno and so on.
So exciting and lots of fun! My favorite part of Italy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    384
    126
    30
    21
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,342 reviews
1,242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“NAPOLI”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The centre of Napoli is very big and not the prettiest I have seen in Italy.
To walk from the harbour to the railway-station allow plenty time since it is a large distance
different in atmosphere from the more affluent resorts near Positano

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“walk, breathe and enjoy napoli”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The town was diry and this is reaaly a big shame.......but we loved to walk around this fantastic old town. Spaccanapoli, quartieri spagnoli, San Gregorio armeno (the famous presepi road), via chiaia, the gallery. You could spend a day simply walking and visiting monuments and breathe the history of this unbeliveble town. Don't miss pizza and sfogliatella and if you like the expresso, well....this is absolutely a must here.
Enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
388 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
“Just wander around!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This area is really cool to visit! So many different kinds of architecture and monuments. It is kind of chaotic but I guess that's what gives it its charm. Stop for a Granite and have fun exploring!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolu, Turkey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Worn but beautiful”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Narrow streets with touristic shops and pizza restaurants, local people riding vespas and shouting around gives you the genuine taste of being in Italy. Yes, that is something different and worth to experience. You shouldn't be very alert about the safety; just make sure that you do not give the impression of a rich and careless tourist. Historic center of Napoli has lots to offer; one should never skip the chance of aspiring this atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centro Storico also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Centro Storico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing