We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for airport, few nearby restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ferdinando II
Ranked #103 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient for airport, few nearby restaurants”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed three nights in late September. The hotel is indeed a good 15-minute walk to sights such as the Archaeological Museum, and a good deal farther to the port area, but we had an early flight on a Monday morning and wanted to be sure we didn't get caught in traffic. The bus stop for downtown, though, is right in front of the hotel. There's really only one restaurant relatively close (A Figlia do Marenaro, which itself gets average reviews), plus a few pizzerias. Our room facing the main street was quiet, and the room was clean. An earlier review led us to believe that the staff spoke excellent English. That was not the case during our stay, so perhaps those staff members have moved on. Some staff had some English; others were not much help. BTW, there is a good Ukrainian restaurant fairly close (Kobaulka Bababa), but I had to draw on my limited Italian and some Russian, as they spoke no English at all. We would stay at this hotel again the night before an early airport departure, but if staying multiple days we'd stay at a more convenient location until that last night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    59
    51
    15
    12
See reviews for
26
63
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I was quite happy with the hotel, but there are a few things you should know that are misleading on their website:
1 - the hotel is in quite an inconvenient location, to the north east of the city centre. It is about a 15 minute walk to the central train station, and 20 minutes to the old town
2 - the hotel has wi-fi (it was included in the price when I booked), but the signal is terrible. I stayed in two different rooms and in both you had to basically sit by the door to get a connection. It's not a big issue, but the hotel sells itself as a business hotel and as such needs to improve its internet quality
3 - the night staff are quite friendly, but the day staff were not particularly helpful. They couldn't direct us to a good place to change currency (we were told any bank would change money for us, but neither of the two closest to the hotel actually would), wouldn't answer clearly whether it was safe to park our car on the road behind the hotel, and the restaurant recommendation they provided was pretty poor

All up it wasn't a bad stay. The rooms and breakfast area are quite nice, but it is definitely not 4-star hotel (more like a European 2.5-star or European 3-star).

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the main entrance can be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanryan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We were very impressed with the quality of this hotel, it IS a 4 Star Hotel (well the best 4* hotel that we stayed in, during 12 nights in Italy). Even though we were staying on the front-side, facing the busy road, the double-glazing cut out almost all of the noise, giving us a very peaceful night's sleep. Great shower, 42" Plasma TV with Sky, Air Con. Reception booked us a taxi which takes less than 10 minutes (at 8am) from the Naples Airport, costing 12 Euros. The National museum was a 10/15 minute walk away (unfortunately closed when we went) but there are some great spots (piazzas) within walking distance and restaurants. The reception staff were very helpful, speaking excellent English, you may not want to venture into Naples at night for a meal, we didn't as we heard it was rough, the reception staff ordered us a Pizza to our room - an excellent hotel! Stayed with my girlfriend mid May 2012, would definitely recommend to others! We used this as our last night before flying home from Naples, perfect for this purpose. Didn't stay for breakfast as we left too early, but they have a roof-top food area which you can use all day. no swimming pool.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, very nice room and peaceful night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We arrived in Naples late on Saturday evening and had made arrangements for the hotel to pick us up at the airport. Unfortunately, the flight was late and their van had already departed. When I called them, they gave me the name of a taxi to call that would give me a special price for the trip. My wife is handicapped and uses a motorized scooter and the hotel was very helpful to her. The property was clean and modern and the room was very comfortable, although a bit small by American standards. The hotel personnel could not have been nicer. I asked about ordering a pizza since it was so late and they took care of it. In the morning, the bill did not have a charge for the pizza or for two beers that I purchased from the store next door. They said not to worry about it. Breakfast is served in a nice roof garden and the selection was adequate, but the atmosphere made up for it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UPSCAYCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Suite Esedra
#128 of 190 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza
#51 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
#108 of 190 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#50 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Serius
Serius
#73 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ferdinando II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferdinando II

Property: Hotel Ferdinando II
Address: Piazza Carlo III 59, 80137, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ferdinando II 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ferdinando II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing