We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Old Hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #43 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Old Hotel..”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very good location but old hotel, needs urgent renovation. Hotel is located in the best part of the city, walking distance to city center and many attractions. The front way is closed to traffic (I guess during the summer only) which makes it lovely at night. Crowd, of especially young people, enjoying the sea and music from seafront bars all night long. Very nice and variety of restaurants nearby.
I had a superior room which was facing the sea and the castle on sea. It was great to wake up to that view and watch the people from balcony all day long. The furniture and the carpets were very old, I guess not changed since my grandmom visited this hotel while she was at 20's. Something very funny and unbelievable happened; while I was naked and resting in my room, a hotel staff suddeny bumped into my room saying that he needs to refill minibar, as I was listening to music and didn't hear any door bell or door opening, I was fully shocked to suddenly see a huge man standing in the middle of the room. They do room cleaning and bar refill separately and be ready to receive someone in the room without any prior notice. Not to forget, there was no 'do not disturb' card to hang on the door and of course no electonic gadget to serve for that.
Final notes: breakfast variety was very poor and below my expectation, also daily garage cost of 23€ was a bit high, would expect at most 15€

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    1,077
    504
    164
    77
See reviews for
419
728
78
740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was my 2nd time to Naples. The first time I stayed closer to the train station which made the experience more interesting, although the hotel was excellent. The Royal Continental is in a much, MUCH, nicer location, but the actual hotel could use some updating. My room was on the 1st floor of rooms, and I had a view of the bay of Naples. Very nice. The room though had a little plaque stating that the room was the original from 1950's (I believe). It was nice, but older. Everything worked. It just seemed "aged". The staff was ok. The breakfast was typical. Although I could not get coffee to save my life. I had to keep asking, and no one seemed overly pleased to want to be of assistance for breakfast.

Getting to the hotel proved to be a challenge, as the streets of Naples are a maze (as are most Italian city streets I believe). For the first 3 days I had my route planned, on the last day there were police blocking the road I usually took. The police gave me directions in Italian to get back to the hotel, which I understood not a single word since I only know Italian words for food. After getting lost and ending right back at the police block, they were kind enough to give me a police escort through town. Now that was cool! Two motorcycle police escorted me right to the hotel. First class all the way.

Anyway, I would stay at this hotel again. The view was nice, the room ok, breakfast ok, the location was awesome. My colleague had a room with a view of the alley, so his experience was slightly different. I wouldn't have cared either way.

Room Tip: Get a map if you plan on driving to the hotel, or better yet a GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a nice hotel in a perfect location but very old decoration. Carpets was terrible and the tiles in the bathroom was really old fashion. I believe that the interior decoration needs a refresh in order to comply customer expectations.
Staff was polite and kitchen was in high standards.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azafiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in June. Very efficient reception staff, clean good sized room, plenty of wardrobe space, decent bathroom. Location was perfectly safe and could venture out at night alone as there were many perfectly adequate, and some very good, restaurants close by, however was a little distance from the centre and I would not have walked back from there at night. It was about a 20 minute walk to the port and in fact I took the hydrofoil to Sorrento from there for my seven night stay.

The breakfast was not that great and I struggled to find something to eat. However, the bar was quite another matter - drinks expertly mixed by Antonio, served with croquettes containing melting mozzarella and rice balls to name two. The bar prices are expensive, but no more so than, say, a London 4 star hotel and Antonio is a very professional barman with a good sense of humour.

Good view across to the Castel dell'Ovo - well worth a visit and also sat and had a beer on the marina side of the American Bar near the castle.

Swimming pool ok for cooling off but not for serious swimmers, but lucky to find one of the few with a pool at all in Naples.

I adored Naples - a contrast of madness (scooters and cars) and great beauty - once I learned how to cross the road the Italian way.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view if you are going to spend time in your room - I didn't so was not bothere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannaSorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vrsac, Serbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I was in this hotel alone. I use a deluxe room for one person. It is very clean and tidy. But I am not satisfied with the staff :(. Once, staff came into the room to check if anyone else in the room with me?! So they called me the next day on the phone to tell me not one that keeps me in the room. But nobody ever I was a guest at the hotel.
unkindness!!!
I came upon reservation at reception and they told me that they have no available rooms because I was alone, but after five minutes reserved through the site and there was availability.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a five star hotel.
Upside – located across the street from the water and a Castle. Very scenic and inviting. Many restaurants on the waterfront and in the street. Street is closed off to vehicles, aside from delivery vans etc, which allows for jogging, skateboarding and biking along the street and waterfront. Breakfast included American bacon and all the amentities.
Downside – it’s expensive, but worth it.
Recommend for location, friendliness and facility. Accommodation worthy of value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taipei
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in Naples, but this hotel was so well-located that we were able to make the best of our minimal stay there. On checking in, (early I might add, around 11:30 pm) the receptionist gave us all rooms with balconies. I actually didn't venture out on to the balcony, which was small, but I did open the window all the way and pull my chair up to it to enjoy the harbor view. We went out to dinner in a nearby restaurant: the walk was perfectly safe especially since the hotel is located in a guarded pedestrian zone. We even had a chat with the villagers hanging around in the area in front of the local church.
My colleagues unfortunately had their rooms on the opposite side of the hotel, next to a music festival which kept them up until 1 am. I myself slept peacefully, woke up early, watched the fishing boats float around the harbor...and then I took an early morning walk up the neighboring hill to visit the historical part of the city. The residents were very friendly if you approached them. I came back in time to have a large breakfast buffet with my friends. Capuccino is served upon request, and there was a large selection of fruits, pastries, cold cuts and cheeses. Because we had a train to catch in the early afternoon and a scheduled visit to the nearby Palazzo Reale in the morning, we checked out of our rooms after breakfast. The hotel provided ample luggage storage and safety deposit boxes behind the counter. The only regret was that there was no free WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taipeirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#31 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#38 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#30 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing