We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean, value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Continental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #44 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here during the winter season so didn't get to use the pool. In a great location, restaurants in walking distance. Safe to walk around at night. Very clean rooms and large bathroom. All the staff were lovely would stay here again (-: happy customer (-:

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee_Williams029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Guest,


we would like to thank you for choosing Royal Continental Hotel during your visit to Naples and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.


We are so glad that you were able to take advantage of our centrally located property.
It is a pleasure to achieve our guest’s satisfaction.


Looking forward to your return visit from May to September in order you can get the use of the panoramic pool!


Kind regards


Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    1,034
    481
    159
    73
See reviews for
405
705
74
703
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

The thing that this hotel has got going for it is location. Right in front of the Castel dell'Ovo and in the heart of Santa Lucia. This is really the best place to stay in Naples. A short walk to the P.zza Plebescito and the Opera San Carlo or to Chiaia. It's a very large hotel - actually - two structures connected to each other and they have been modernizing it for years. My room was fine. I think that it probably had been redone over the past ten years - but it seemed older. I was there in the winter and the bathroom, where there's no heat, was freezing. My room had a sea view - if you really went outside on the terrace and strained to look! But for the price the hotel is probably a good choice - especially given the location. I travel very often to Naples and usually stay at the luxury hotels just next to the Royal Continental. They are fantastic and are worth the difference in price - if you want to pay it. People were very nice. However, the breakfast was unbelievably bad! The eggs were so strange that I could not identify them as eggs and were uneatable. The cappuccino was atrocious. I think they believe that the foreign tourists cannot discern either coffee or food... Altogether, the hotel is ok. If you can afford to splurge and stay next door, do it. If you want to save some money, the Royal Continental is fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - which is in the front of the hotel - not on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagherailcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Direttore vendite at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Guest,


we would like to thank you for choosing Royal Continental Hotel during your recent visit to Naples and for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay.
We are glad to read that you have appreciated the location of our property but we regret to read about your breakfast experience.


It’s important to underline that our Guests (Italian or foreign we don’t make difference) get to the heart of our hospitality, and we look after of them to make the stay a memorable one.


If you are travelling for business you can contact the Sales Office in order to go ahead with a special agreement reserved to the company, this will allow you to get special rate.


Kind regards


Maria Scopino
Sales Manager
Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

It would be nice if they had at least one English speaking channel. And the lighting in the room and bathroom is not very good. The room was very hot. $8 a night to use the internet is too much!! Even if you put up a 'do not disturb' sign housekeeping still comes in. Had a great view of the construction going on at the next building (they start work early so don't plan to sleep late). Staff was helpful/nice, location was pretty good and was within walking distance of several very excellent restaurants!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoLuvsDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review but we apologize that your stay was not comfortable.
For the future we invite you to ask to the Duty Manager who will be happy to solve your problems such as air conditioning, or lighting, or noise. We inform our guests they may have vouchers for free wi-fi. Vouchers entitle you to use internet for 15 minutes. For those who are equipped with laptop or smartphone vouchers entitle you to use internet for 30 minutes in the common areas. We remind our customers that we have Tv channels in English.
However, we would like to thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to see you here again for your next trip in Naples. So you will see that we have high quality standards.

Best Regards
Custormer Care Royal Group Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed here on two occasions on business and was very satisfied with the accomodations, staff, service and restaurant. The breakfast buffet is great and the view on the water is stunning. Strongly recommend, despite the hard matresses -- harder if you didn't have one...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
299 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

My wife and I spent nine nights at the Hotel Royal Continental and had a great time. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the bay and Castel dell'Ovo, which was wonderful. The hotel service was excellent. The property is not plush, but you feel very welcomed and comfortable. The room and bathroom were both large and comfortable. There are plenty of wonderful restaurants in the vicinity; but we found ourselves at the hotel restaurant quite often as the food and selection there was excellent. The hotel is walking distance from numerous sights and train stations. Parking and WiFi are at extra cost, but the hotel does offer free 30-minute vouchers for use in the lobby. The breakfast is pretty good, except for the eggs (runny and fairly tasteless), pre-made American coffee (strong and bitter) and the croissants (not fresh). You can order fresh made Italian coffee free of charge from the wait help. If possible, I would rate it 4-1/2, but since the choices are only 4 and 5, I give it the edge for the upgraded room, excellent service and great on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheiksan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Location of the hotel is perfect walking distance to every where seafront,museums,parks,teatro,shoping,and hotel surrounding of the hotel area was safety and quite you can walk every time , breakfast was average, decoration of the rooms floor need the renevation

Room Tip: annex buıldıng rooms are better than te others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Despite renovation still lacking, the lobby and the restaurant of the hotel have a great view of the Med.Sea as same as the some rooms.The room ı stayed was nice.Up to me if you are not looking for a luxury hotel,it has everything you need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#41 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing