We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #44 of 186 Hotels in Naples
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Great location, rooms good plenty of space.
No tea or coffee making facilities, though safe in room free and big enough for an iPad.
Swimming pool only open 11.00am till 7pm which is disappointing as we like to swim early before we go out. Disappointment eased as it should not really be called a 'swimming' pool it was a plunge pool.
Also if you like to use your own electrical hair styling equipment you will need to bring a mirror as there is no electrical point near a mirror.
We were disappointed to be given a room on the side of the building as we love to spend time on the balcony, all the balconies on the front had chairs and a table, we had no furniture on the balcony which made it unusable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue62derbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    1,113
    522
    169
    80
See reviews for
433
754
81
763
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The Royal Continental is a rare hotel. It offers friendly and efficient service combined with spotless rooms and some of the best views in Naples overlooking the sea and the Castell dell'Ovo, Naples' oldest castle.

The food was excellent. Dinner at the hotel turned out to be an unexpected treat - wonderful Italian cooking in all its variety - and a great antidote to previous over consumption of pizzas all around Naples. After dinner you would be missing out if you did not promenade along the seafront. Night time is when everyone comes out - families, couples, groups of teenagers - it makes a great end to the day.

Room Tip: Although seafront rooms are good, you still get the sea view at breakfast and in all other areas of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senescence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljungskile, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Good service, nice rooms and great views. The Pool area on the roof was great as well.
We would gladly recommend this hotel for those who want to visit the lovely city of Naples.

We had our own terrace overlooking the Castle. It was fantastic to sit there and watch the fishermen early in the morning.

Room Tip: Please book one of the rooms with a terrace on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Beware ! This is absolutely not a 4 star hotel.
Mould on the ceiling bathroom, dirty shower, no chair and/or table on balcony, dirty and damaged carpet, toilet without cover.
Please take a look at the photo’s if any doubts of my findings.
This hotel is from the 1980’s and hasn’t been maintained properly, I think this has to do with bad management.
Some pros thought: nice view from breakfast/dining room, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here recently with a pal and can recommend this hotel 100%.
We had Deluxe Room, which was spacious with a balcony and excellent view of the bay and the castle.The staff at the hotel were very friendly and informative - I also recommend the trips they offer to Pompei and Vesuvio. Breakfast was very good - much choice and a first class cappuccino.
I have no hesitation on recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe room for more space, a balcony and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMO308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The views from the room are amazing, with Castel dell'Ovo, Capri and the bay of Naples right in front of you. Staff were always helpful and the breakfast room is in a really great position. We had a suite for four people and it was very spacious. For sure will visit again.

Room Tip: Seaview room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FS_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WICKLOW IRELAND
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is my third time staying at this hotel, this was the first time I got a travel agency to book it.
They booked a standard twin room, when we arrived I asked for an upgrade to a seaview room which we got.As you can see from the hotel pictures the hotel is made up of two buildings, I have stayed in the left hand side on two occasions this time it was the right side.When we got to the room it was a double not a twin, on informing the porter he made a phone call and we were moved to a twin.The balcony was smaller than the other side, no table or chairs,room was ok had everything you need.On returning from breakfast we met the cleaner and we asked for another pillow, when we left the room about ten minutes later the cleaner had the pillow on her trolley and it was on the bed when we returned.The foyer on the right side is empty which is a pity as there is a huge reception desk there and nice big chairs to relax and look out to a great view.This side seems like an overflow from the hotel and you don't get the feeling that you are staying at the hotel, you go from a dead and dreary to a lively hotel in minutes.Open up the doors,put staff at the reception desk and put a bit of life on this side of the hotel for the guests.
The hotel is still too dear to eat in,and there were only a few eating dinner during our stay.Hotel bring your prices down and compete with the restaurants beside you, who are always full every night.In my other reviews I have made comments on the breakfast and staff and its still the same,buffet breakfast is ok but if you eat off the menu its pricey (€6 for an egg is crazy).I have always found the staff helpful, this time we had book a tour when the driver had not arrived a the appointed time I ask the receptionist for help in contacting the operator.She went on line found the firm and rang them for me, unfortunately, she could not get through then the barman came over asked if there was a problem, when I told him he got out his mobile rang the firm and got through,, problem solved,now that's looking after your guests also we forgot to bring a plug adapter I asked at reception where I could buy one , the receptionist loaned me one for my stay.When I go back to Naples I will stay at this hotel, for the view the service and the staff.

Room Tip: Staying here you have to ask for a front sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EQUALIZER555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,414 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 186 in Naples
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
987 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#20 of 186 in Naples
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing