We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really old - which I guess is the point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #44 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really, really old - which I guess is the point”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The location is superb, right on the water across the street from Castle Ovo. My room had not been renovated in exactly 60 years but because it was designed by a famous architect Gio Ponti I guess it was to honour his original design. Food was ok but lots of good restaurants right next door and near the castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    1,109
    521
    168
    80
See reviews for
431
752
81
761
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Located right on the water front the view is great and easy access to and from.
The staff is helpull and wellcoming, but the amnities are everage at best. The breakfast is slightly more than basic and tastless, the beds are too hard and the elevators are soooo slow... the water pressure, on the other hand, is superb!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maya_pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I visited Naples for the Unesco Bioethics Medical Ethics &Health Law Conference and stayed at the Royal Continental Hotel where the Meeting took place. The Hotel with the view of the sea from the front and the mount Vesuvius from the back and surrounded by the charms of a modern Naples is a good choice for any demanding tourist. In addition to the expected qualities associated with a good Hotel I wish to mention that it also has all the requirements for a smooth , efficient and pleasant organization for a large International meeting.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Did a short weekend break in Nov, last trip with the wife before Xmas. Was going to book the Romeo but liked the location of the Royal Continental and it was the right choice. Location is fantastic in a quiet pedestrian area with loads of restaurants either side and accross near the castle. Walking distance to Piazza Plebicito giving you access to some of the great sites of Napoli.
Staff very friendly, free internet and decent breakfast. Rooms not modern but much prefarable to some of the sterile places I have stayed in.
Overall would recommend to everyone and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for a free map very handy for navigating Napoli.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolyluvscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Falls, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After a long 8+ hours it was a welcoming site. When travelling by shuttle from the airport we were informed by a couple from the US and who have lived in the Naples area for more than 2 years that the besst location in Naples was in the rebuilt harbour area. They were absolutely right. This hotel may not be a 5 * but what a location. In the harbour, on a closed street used only used by walkers and runners right by the water it was an unexpected pleasure.
The hotel was well used by business people from everywhere in italy and Europe. The rooms were comfortable, very clean with quick and prompt service when needed and the view was facing the harbour. our room had a balcony but chairs on the balcony would have been perfect... we should have asked but did not take the time. This hotel was also in a very secure and safe area to take a lovely leasure walk in the evening along the waterfront and restaurants were plentiful along that walk and next to the hotel. The breakfasts buffet -style had an excellent offering with all kinds of well perpared and well layed out choices. Coffee and juices were plentiful with a great selection and excellent service.
The tour bus companies drove right to the hotel( unlike many of the other hotels where you had to make your way in a very busy inner city) to take us to Pompei, Sorrento and Capri( to the ships)....all in all very well located , safe with a great view and quiet....

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a port side view when you initially book and with a view of the Mediterranean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onsamuse1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of October. My husband was on a business trip and I took the opportunity to do some sightseeing in Naples. It is in a very good location on the waterfront. We had a sea view and looked out over the castle and a small harbour. The road is very quiet as only taxis and the odd coach are allowed to go along there. There are two parts to the hotel - the part where the reception is and, through a glass corridor, a second section which seems to be used for conferences and the associated guests. We were staying in that part. The room was large with a desk, arm chairs, mini bar tv etc - all the things you would expect and a decent bathroom. The balcony was small, but big enough for two chairs. All in all, nothing out of the ordinary but perfectly adequate, comfortable and clean. I only ate breakfast in the hotel; it consisted of fresh fruit, cold meats, yogurts and an assortment of Italian sweet cakes. It was plentiful, though I suspect if I had stayed longer I may have become bored with the same selection on a daily basis. The pool closed for winter whilst we were there and even on the days it was open the weather wasn't conducive to sunbathing or swimming, so I cannot comment on it. The reception staff were efficient at check in/out but I cannot say it was service with a smile. I enquired about the hop on hop off sightseeing bus and after a shrug was told where I could buy a ticket for the local bus. I explained that it wasn't what I was after and was met with a blank stare. I gave up and walked to the port where I picked up the bus without a problem Also, I overheard someone enquire about a doctor and what it was likely to cost to call one out and he was simply told 'don't know' with no offer of help or display of concern. In short, don't expect overly helpful service! There are some areas with large sofas for relaxing and a small bar.There are lots of good restaurants both around the harbour and along the road - a pleasant stroll along by the sea wall and lovely to see the lights of the bay twinkling in the distance.
So, the hotel is in a good location, provides a decent breakfast, is clean, large and the rooms are perfectly good. It is not startlingly good nor does it have anything to especially recommend it, but, if you want a perfectly good hotel in a good location with a wide variety of restaurants within easy reach, then it could be the place for you.
A few points about Naples; the hop on hop off bus gives a good overview. It's worth jumping off at the catacombs as it is a fascinating tour but...... check tour times or, like me you could end up hanging around a while before it starts and after it ends. There is nothing else to do in the area so you just waste time. The Archaeological Museum is not terribly well organised and they seem to close rooms at random times but it's worth seeing for all the things from Pompeii and Herculaneum. I felt perfectly safe walking around Naples on my own, despite initial fears having read that it could be very dodgy! Use common sense and don't go down empty narrow side streets alone and keep bags firmly gripped and closed. The scooters should be your biggest fear....they appear from nowhere in places you wouldn't expect and don't slow down for anything or anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Before our trip to Naples, I struggled to find any information on hotels location. Fortunately I chose well. This is ideal being on the sea front on a restricted access road (ie pedestrianised), with excellent choice of restaurants either opposite around Castel dell Ovo (La Scialuppa being our favourite), or turn right out of the hotel and any number within 200 metres along Via Partenope. It is also within walking distance of the centre of the city and the hydrofoil port. I've seen mixed reviews for this hotel but I have to say we had no problems. It is a conference hotel, yes the bathroom decor is a little dated, but I would definitely stay again. The buffet breakfast was excellent. I did struggle to get the wifi connected but got there in the end although, it seemed the 'free wifi' was only for 24 hours, as mentioned in another review. To be fair I did not check that point with reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikeshona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,413 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#29 of 186 in Naples
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
979 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#18 of 186 in Naples
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing