We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Continental Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Cristina(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Europa(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nuvo(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,824)
Filter reviews
2,824 results
Traveller rating
690
1,265
585
195
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
690
1,265
585
195
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrooftop poolgio pontibay of naplessea frontbit datedpedestrian areaan upgradefabulous locationfour star hotelgelatorestaurants and barsmini barhotel is locatedroom was largecakesjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
505 - 510 of 2,824 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

friendly, if somewhat inneficient, staff. Great location but with some noise in the night from people having fun in front of hotel. Very decent prices. small but just OK rooms, small bathrooms. Only real problem, it how much the hotel is run-down. The wall was crumbling next to our door, dirty carpets, etc. It needs renovation. Looks more like a 3 stars for the moment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful hotel - right on the bay and opposite the castle, you can eat breakfast looking out to sea which is just amazing. Its close to lots of restaurants and good location to trave to Pompeii (especially as i would not recommend Naples itself) after a hot day out you can relax in the roof top pool which is just perfect! There is also a super useful barman who can give you lots of tips on travel/history and can make you a great G&T.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

There are some immensely churlish reviews of this hotel below. We spent 10 days here over Christmas and NY. The building is of a period, and, even if in need of some tarting up here and there, has its own character.

The rooms with water views are excellent, the bathrooms spacious and well-appointed, the balconies a treat. Yes, they cost more than rooms without water views, obviously, but why would anyone book into a hotel in a prime water-view location and opt for a room without a view? Proximity to Via Partenope and the restaurant strip? There are any number of hotels a short walk inland. Most of all, though, the RC's rooms with water views are excellent value relative to equivalent rooms in the neighbouring Vesuvio and Excelsior Hotels.

Our room was also overly warm when we arrived. Obviously the air conditioning system is turned off in winter. The solution was simple: turn off the heating and air the room until the temperature drops.

And the internal security is more than adequate. I returned to our room to collect something while it was open being cleaned. The cleaner insisted I put my key card into the door lock to confirm it was our room.

The staff are friendly and welcoming, the breakfasts ample and typical of hotels of this kind. We dined one night in the hotel's restaurant and the food was both excellent and very decent value. Parking is available in the hotel's own secure underground carpark. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with water views are excellent and very good value relative to the adjacent hotels. If you want to stay very close to Via Partenope but don't require a water view, there are plenty of hotels a short walk inland.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castiglionese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

At the end of August 2013 till the first days of Septemeber 2013 we had a stay of 5 nights in this hotel in Napoli. It was the second stay in Napoli - the first one was in 1999.
The hotel has a beautiful location, just opposite the "Castel d'Ovo" on the promenade of Napoli. There is still a drawback in the night, the promenade is a very circulated area and noise is present all the time, but even in this case it worth to have a sea view room. We had a 3 places room.
The hotel is a classical building with classic furniture and large lobby. Rooms are not large enough and the balcony is a nice place where you can spend some time in the long-chair but completely opened. We were still not very impressed by breakfast. Although there was plenty of food, it was directed towards the cheap stuff, like omlette made from egg powder, the same small sausages every day and the bacon was mostly boiled and not fried. It is still a 4 stars hotel and egg-powder is something that could be used in a cheap hotel not here. On the roof there exist also a pool where one could swim. The personnel is kind and service is ok.
At about 400m, on the street Santa Lucia there are two supermarkets which is nice in case you arrive very late and don't want to spend a lot on the pizza's restaurants on the promenade. Be aware, at those restaurants on the promenade the waiters asked me beside the regular price for the food to pay a "coperto"(tip in Italian) for the waiter and a separate one for his manager, which I never encountered. In fact the whole Napoli area is filled with crooks. All restaurants want to cheat you with something and be also aware at the taxi drivers.
For instance from this hotel to Napoli airport there are only 7 km. This could be normally 11 euro, a taxi driver asked me textually: "25 euro for the lift and 5 euro for myself". You should never pay more than 20-25 in case you are in a hurry. Be also aware, when you take the bus from the train station (for instance from the train which goes to Pompeii and Sorrento), back to the city, they are crowded and people are pushing and search in the pockets. They shout and curse all the time with loud voices and travelling with the bus is a nightmare. You better spend a 10 euro for taxi.
Coming back to the hotel review, the single impressive thing is location. We noticed that they might get enlarged with another building and maybe that will give another fresh air to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take care at breakfast. Rooms towards the sea have a super view but are noisy. Take care at the taxi drivers in front of the hotel, they are cheating all the time.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoustacheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Even though we arrived at this hotel around noon, we were nonetheless checked in swiftly and with a warm welcome by a friendly front desk clerk. That warm welcome quickly faded, though. Upon finding the rooms extremely hot (due to the sun beating on the sliding glass doors in the rooms), we found that the AC, so prominently advertised in the Royal Continental’s literature, didn’t work at all, not in either of our rooms. When I went to the front desk to ask if anything could be done, all friendliness faded: “It’s winter; we don’t have AC in winter, it’s turned off.” No apology, no suggestion to cool the room, just attitude. When we left the sliding glass doors open later in an effort to avoid the greenhouse effect, someone from housekeeping actually came into our rooms while we were gone and closed the doors. Nice. You might wonder why we would leave the balcony doors open in the first place – wouldn’t this be dangerous, to leave our luggage in an open room that anyone could access from the balcony? Well, you see, there were no locks on the sliding glass doors anyway. Broken. And the main room doors were completely lacking of working deadbolts, too. Not a very secure feeling, sleeping in that room. Otherwise, the room was fine; king-sized bed, okay if dated furnishings, a fridge that worked, a shower with adequate water pressure. The tv received very few working channels, and the noise on the street below was quite fierce from the drunkards until about 4am, but the view of the Castel dell’Ovo can’t be beat, the sunrises over the ocean are to-die-for, the restaurants are plentiful, the area is one of the richest and safest in Naples, and the breakfast, although spendy, is very good, with terrific bacon and more choices than you can shake a stick at. Very nice breakfast staff. Also, the wifi worked in the room and was free. Would I stay here again? Not unless I could verify first that the doors locked properly and could be deadbolted from the inside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalContinental_Nap, Sales Executive at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking time to share on Trip Advisor a comment regarding your stay at the Royal Continental Hotel.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, the kindness and professionalism of our staff and the view on the Castel dell’Ovo and the bay of Naples from your room and the restaurant area.
However, I want you to accept our apologies for the temperature in room. Effectively, during winter period we do not have the A/C in room. I am sure that the front office agent did not want to be rude.
Regarding the lock and deadbolted, I have forwarded your comment to the hotel manager and I inform you that we are doing a soft refurbishment in some of our rooms.
I thank you for your understanding and I look forward to welcoming you to the Royal Continental Hotel.

Best regards,

Alexandre Lebrat
Sales Executive
Royal Group hotels & resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews