We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Continental Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Romeo Hotel(Naples)
US$464
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$452
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Europa(Naples)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,851)
Filter reviews
2,851 results
Traveller rating
695
1,274
594
199
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
695
1,274
594
199
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrooftop poolgio pontibay of naplessea frontbit datedpedestrian areaan upgradefabulous locationfour star hotelgelatorestaurants and barsmini barhotel is locatedroom was largecakesjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 2,851 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a fabulous stay in this hotel for valentines. Alessandro (both of them) Laura E and Antonio at the bar were all superb. I have travelled extensively around the world but this was the best service EVER. They really cared and I felt it was genuine. Stay at this hotel I would recommend it to everyone..... Brilliant

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ferguson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

First let me tell you that Naples is one of our favourite destinations. It has a character all of its own and is full of life.

This was the first time we stayed in the Royal Continental and we were very pleased with the experience. The best hotels in Naples are those on the seafront with wonderful views over the bay and the Royal did not disappoint.

The reception staff were welcoming and efficient and our room comfortable. We had one of the top floor bedrooms which had a fantastic spacious balcony with views over the historic castle, Castel dell'Ovo.

There is a small rooftop pool area but we were happy with the sunbeds on our balcony, its not really warm enough in May for full-on sunbathing!

Breakfasts were good, lots of choice and the chance of a table at the window to further admire the sea views.

Whilst we were there Bruce Springsteen was in concert in the Piazza del Plebiscito and the following day we understood from the reception staff that he had stayed at the Royal.

The only negative we have is that one evening a party was held in the function room on the top floor (the floor above our bedroom) and it was very noisy…

Otherwise a great stay.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those on the top floors with a view of the Bay of Naples.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

friendly, if somewhat inneficient, staff. Great location but with some noise in the night from people having fun in front of hotel. Very decent prices. small but just OK rooms, small bathrooms. Only real problem, it how much the hotel is run-down. The wall was crumbling next to our door, dirty carpets, etc. It needs renovation. Looks more like a 3 stars for the moment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful hotel - right on the bay and opposite the castle, you can eat breakfast looking out to sea which is just amazing. Its close to lots of restaurants and good location to trave to Pompeii (especially as i would not recommend Naples itself) after a hot day out you can relax in the roof top pool which is just perfect! There is also a super useful barman who can give you lots of tips on travel/history and can make you a great G&T.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

There are some immensely churlish reviews of this hotel below. We spent 10 days here over Christmas and NY. The building is of a period, and, even if in need of some tarting up here and there, has its own character.

The rooms with water views are excellent, the bathrooms spacious and well-appointed, the balconies a treat. Yes, they cost more than rooms without water views, obviously, but why would anyone book into a hotel in a prime water-view location and opt for a room without a view? Proximity to Via Partenope and the restaurant strip? There are any number of hotels a short walk inland. Most of all, though, the RC's rooms with water views are excellent value relative to equivalent rooms in the neighbouring Vesuvio and Excelsior Hotels.

Our room was also overly warm when we arrived. Obviously the air conditioning system is turned off in winter. The solution was simple: turn off the heating and air the room until the temperature drops.

And the internal security is more than adequate. I returned to our room to collect something while it was open being cleaned. The cleaner insisted I put my key card into the door lock to confirm it was our room.

The staff are friendly and welcoming, the breakfasts ample and typical of hotels of this kind. We dined one night in the hotel's restaurant and the food was both excellent and very decent value. Parking is available in the hotel's own secure underground carpark. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with water views are excellent and very good value relative to the adjacent hotels. If you want to stay very close to Via Partenope but don't require a water view, there are plenty of hotels a short walk inland.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castiglionese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews