We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #44 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Corroy-le-Grand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Probably one of the best location in Naples. With sea view, the hotel is perfectly located with a lot of restaurant at walking distance (in front of a nice marina and large pedestrian area). But the hotel itself is more for business than romance;-). Efficient and clean, hotel lacks of "soul". Sea view rooms should be preferred to partial sea view (worth the extra cost).
Despite my remarks, we spent good time with wife and kid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benoit_Carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Benoit_Carl,
thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests.
Your review is really important to us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the efficiency of our staff and our incredible location next to the main attractions of the city.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your family.
Best regards,
M. Morra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    1,137
    532
    172
    80
See reviews for
451
771
83
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very poor and sweet breakfast buffet with no fresh vegetables and fruit at all.

The Internet was quite slow and required recurrent log in. And even then you're still limited to Swiss Com's Internet program. True broadband Internet access is possible only against a surcharge.

This hotel certainly doesn't justify itself given the fact I paid 150 EUR per night for 2 persons, let alone 24 EUR for on-site parking, and the low-quality breakfast.

Would never go back there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gametogenesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Gametogenesis,
Thank you for your review. I have shared your comments about the wifi with the ICT Staff. We’re in the midst of improving and enhancing the way we provide this service. Suggestions like yours will help us to provide a better wifi service in the future. About the breakfast I can assure you this is not typical of a stay at Royal Continental Hotel.
Looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel and offer you a level of services that will exceed your expectations.

Best,
M. Morra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was a short break of 3 nights. The Staff are friendly and very helpful. The hotel's decoration is part of its charm. It is an exception from modern chain hotels blandness. We changed our room from a partial sea view to one facing the promenade for a 30 Euro supplement. There was nothing wrong with the previous room.
The Pool area on the roof is an added bonus and is an excellent oasis from the hustle and bustle of Naples.

Room Tip: Choose one with a full sea view, does not matter which floor as the promenade is closed to cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompey7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
*
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

If you go to Naples, this area is the best to stay in as the city is pretty hit and miss and there was a heavy police presence on this boulevard. The street is in front of one of the old fortresses and there are a lot of touristy but nice restaurants. I didn't like the city itself but that's not the hotel's fault...

The hotel was ok - but the room I had was in an annex so a bit of a walk and the rooms weren't great.

One of the reasons I chose this hotel was for the rooftop pool - the pool didn't have any water and there was no place to even sit outside and get a little sun. I was there a little early for the season (and I looked back and the listing does say it's seasonal) but it was too bad as it was quite nice weather...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is located on a great spot (boulevard closed for traffic). The inside lookds great with a lot of space. The room are very well equiped; hot shower; room safe, Free wifi (all devices) and excellent bed.
The breakfast however is not really 4 stars. For Italian principles I would say it is okay, but as a Dutchman I like some more choices. The scrambled eggs were hardly cooked and I was missing boiled eggs. Furthermore I would have expected a bit more choices. The service on the other hand was okay. Because of the excellent location and the overall looking (clean!!!) I would stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 443 on the front with a beautifull view on the castle and the Visuvio. No street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a triple superior room with balcony and sea view. This was with a special last-minute deal with flight included, at £306. A bargain. The hotel met our expectations. The room was modern, clean and a reasonable size. The included breakfast buffet was not great for a **** hotel, although the cake selection was good. There is a nice, salt water rooftop pool and very good sun beds. The hotel staff were helpful and spoke reasonable English. A good spot: the prom outside is pedestrianised except for bikes and taxis. Plenty of nearby bars and restaurants. A great base for exploring Pompeii and Herculaneum (although it's a taxi ride to the railway station) and the city. We had a wonderful break and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Sea view balcony rooms are worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilliansc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My boyfriend and I had booked one evening at this hotel. We were really excited when we arrived on the main strip to find that our hotel faced a great view, except once we checked in, we were led to the older, rundown side of the hotel. They currently have two buildings that's joined by a hallway. We were taken the 7th floor and when we exited the elevator, the hallway smelled of smoke and the walls were cracked and had gaps. We had booked a non-smoking room so we were really surprised by the smoky smell. (There was even an ashtray stand outside the room beside ours, which made us wonder how they differentiate smoking/non-smoking rooms vs floors) Once we settled in, we noticed the room was very warm. The thermostat was useless as it does nothing to control the temperature. Our room also started to smell more strong of smoke. On our way out, we brought this to the front desks' attention but they did nothing and said that the smoke smell was out of their control if other guests choose to smoke in their room. After lunch, we returned to our room to a strong smoky smell and called front desk. They refused to do anything, and then finally agreed to send someone to our room to check. She came in and said, "I don't smell it". She wasn't trying to be accommodating, but after fighting with her back and forth, she agreed to let us check out another room a floor lower. The second room did not smell, but the hallway was still cracked and had gaps in the wall. The room was incredibly hot and we slept with the windows open. The fridge was half empty in the second room. We had to advised them of this so that they would not turn around and charge us for items consumed. They were not prepared/rooms not made to be ready for guests.

Service was incredibly poor and they were unwilling to make their customer's stay pleasant. I would not stay at this hotel, or any hotels from this chain again.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLyons0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication and Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
TDot22 thank you for your review.
We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay, this isn't a characteristic of our hotel.
Your feedback was shared with the Hotel staff in order to improve the experience of all our guests.
We look forward to an opportunity to show you the many enhancements we are doing.

M. Morra
Communication and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,439 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 186 in Naples
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,012 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#19 of 186 in Naples
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing