We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location but service lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #42 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Amazing seafront views of the bay and castle. Stayed in the annex where the rooms appear smaller and the balconies are small. Disappointed with the very bland furnishings, poor and intrusive maid service (banging on the door at 8.30am!!), poor breakfast, poor reception staff and pool opening hours (not open until 11am!).....this is a hotel run for the benefit of staff rather than guests....disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Insist on the main building not the annex!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Paul, thank you very much for your feedback.
About your comments on the pool opening hours we have added this information in our new website (online from september) to ensure that future travelers will be informed. We sincerely apologize if you did not know this in advance.
We’re very sorry you had a bad experience with our Staff, please feel free to email me at comunicazione@royalgroup.it if you would like to discuss any of your points further.

Yours sincerely,
M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,598)
There are newer reviews for Royal Continental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 2,598 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

everything about the hotel is great. the location, the staff, rooms, service. The staff is very cooperative and helpful. Even my tours were arranged right from the reception I will always stay here whenever i visit naples. 10/10 :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyme-Traveler-2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear fantabolous,
thank you so much for your nice comments!!
I'm so glad you liked the staff... our main goal is to provide a good hospitality for our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon...
M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Naples is a beautiful city with great walking tours to the historic quarters. This hotel sits majestically on the waterfront and many rooms look out onto the sea and the island of Capri in the distance - an incredible image to wakeup to.
Try to get a room on the 9th floor with large balconies.
The saltwater swimming pool and sundeck on the 10th floor rooftop is also an excellent place to relax.

The staff at frontdesk are very helpful, especially Vincenzo.

A great destination hotel in Naples

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review... I really appreciate reading your experience about our stunning waterfront location, the panoramic room and our seawater pool on the roof.
I’ll pass your comments on to Vincenzo!
Hope to see you back soon.

M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Continental for 3 days. We chose to stay in Naples so we could easily visit the Amalfi Coast, Positano, Sorrento, Capri, and Anacapri quickly and easily while saving some $$. The hotel is RIGHT on the sea with a beautiful view! It is a quick taxi ride from the train station (19 or 20 euro ride), and a short walk from the ferry (about 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile). The room was a good size and included a hair dryer and mini refrigerator to keep drinks cool. We felt very safe in Naples, even at night when walking from the ferry back to the hotel. It is a very active area for both locals and tourists, so there were always people out and about. We left the sliding glass door open one night to get the fresh breeze in our room. It was noisy on the street below because it was a weekend. But, once we shut the door, I was very surprised that we could hear no noise at all! The breakfast has a lot of choices! It's not a typical "American" breakfast with hot foods/eggs/etc, but it was a typical Italian hotel breakfast -- actually more choices than the other hotels we stayed at during our 10 day trip. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Rebecca,
thank you so much for your kind comments...
I'm so glad you liked the hotel lively location, the room and breakfast too.
It is made with fresh local products and we are very proud of it.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location, right on sea front, with some lovely restaurants outside the hotel. The road was closed during our stay outside the hotel, which would have made it a lot quieter we were told. Car parking in basement was great. Told them when we needed car and it was ready to drive out, still don't know how they do that with all those cars parked in there. Found it easy to get around from this hotel by car, though driving in Naples is crazy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Mr. Colin,
thank you for taking the time to write a review following your experience here.
I was happy to hear you were impressed with the central location and interesting attractions around the hotel. About the car parking we are so proud of its staff, they are a true asset for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
M. Morra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Presidential Suite at the Royal Continental was very comfortable with stunning views of the coast and castle. I visited one of the standard rooms and it was very basic, but the Suite provided adequate comfort. The bedroom has a balcony that overlooks the castle and coast. The living room/study/dining area has three balconies, though one of them gives you a view of the next door building. The Royal Continental itself appears to be a rather old hotel targeted at business conventions so it doesn't lend itself to the charm of a boutique hotel, however the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Internet was unreliable as you have to keep logging in every few minutes and you must collect a new code every 24 hours. I probably would not stay here if I were not in the Presidential Suite and/or part of a group stay.
However price wise, it really was value for money. As such, mixed review but not necessarily a negative review.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite has amazing views of the ocean, castle and boulevard. There are 4 balconies...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinitraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear trinitraveler42,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Continental Hotel, in particular that you appreciated the Presidential Suite, the hotel view and our friendly staff. About wi-fi, feedback like yours are instrumental in the planning process for our upcoming enhancements, so I appreciate you taking the time to provide your insight.
I sincerely hope you will visit us again to show you the wi-fi improvements.
M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good: position by the sea, spacious rooms, firm beds, good A/C, tons of TV channels, free WiFi
Bad: dirty rooms, few elevators and long waiting time, tiny fitness foom with few machines

I should probably let the pictures speak regarding the cleaness of the room. It is obvious that the cleaning is not thorough because nail clippings, hair on bathroom tiles and cigarette butts are quite obvious to notice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marija z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Madame Marija,
I would like to thank you for your review. I am so sorry to read that you were so disappointed with your recent stay and that our service standards did not meet your expectations, I can assure you this is not typical of a stay at Hotel Royal Continental.
Please, could you contact me at
comunicazione@royalgroup.it
in order to better examine your complains and comments.
I sincerely hope to hearing from you soon.

Manuela Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,465 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#28 of 185 in Naples
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#11 of 185 in Naples
1,038 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#17 of 185 in Naples
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#29 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £101 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing