We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one night stand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #41 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a surprise a delayed flight resulted in me and my partner getting to stay in this wonderful top class hotel. Centrally located in an historically area of the city over looking the bay of Naples with all the coming and goings of locals and tourists alike. All life is here with resatuarnts, disco and night life a plenty, joggers, cyclists and swimmers as well as some quiet mid night romantic strolls. The fact that we had a suite on the 9th floor with specatcular views was an extra treat. Breakfast is first class and afterwards you can step out of the hotel and catch a cab from right outside the porch or you can stroll at your leisure up through the meandering streets to enjoy some retail therapy. Later on we choose to use the roof top pool and sun lounge area to get much needed relaxation. The pool are is complimented with an indoor gym which I was told was open for 24 hours. A truly spectacular hotel in a breath taking location

Room Tip: try and get a sea view and to catch the cruise ships as they make their way slowly up the bay around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stantheweeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Stantheweeman,
thank you for your awesome review! I feel full of pride when our efforts to offer a good hospitality experience pay off in our guests words!
So ‘Every cloud has a silver lining’, in fact a flight delayed gave you a chance to discover the Royal Continental hotel with perfect location, good services and the vibrant city of Naples!
I’ve already shared your compliments with our staff, that are really glad to see their efforts pay off on your last stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 2,640 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The location of the hotel is good and the view is beautiful proving you pay extra and request a sea view. The staff at the front desk and maintenance were very good, so that just leaves the hotel itself. The rooms are very dated, our room 240 had all of the plaster work around the external door frame smashed it looked like someone may have tried to break in. Everything except the foyer and public areas are in desperate need of renovation, the bathrooms are also very dated. It can be very noisy as a result of the restaurant precinct further down the street. We left the balcony door open for fresh air and to listen to the ocean as we don't like sleeping in air conditioning all we could hear was screening and yelling.

Room Tip: Do not pick a sea view room and sleep with the door open as you won't get much sleep with all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Melinda,
thank you for your review with feedback of what your expectations weren’t accomplished.
I’m really happy that you appreciated our marvelous sea view and the helpful staff of the front desk and maintenance.
I have shared your comments about the noise and the external door frame with the Hotel Manager in order to provide a better stay to the future guests.

I sincerely hope you will stay with us again to show you an improved hotel.

M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked a group of 3 superior rooms for our family for a quick 2 night stay. The room rate included WiFi and breakfast. WiFi was thottled to 256k (unless you wanted to pay up) plus you to go to front desk each day to access codes. Breakfast was a buffet style and had a pretty good selection.

The rooms themselves were pretty tired but the sea view on the balcony was incredible. The hallway had a funky smell and the large holes on the door frames and walls were a little off putting and concerning. We weren't checked in to the hotel for more then 2 hours before one of the housekeepers barged in to one of our rooms. She keyed in as she was knocking so it gave us no opportunity to respond before she was inside. It turned out she was in the wrong room.

The service from the front desk was pretty cold. We were in communication with the hotel before arrival to try and get information on transportation options from the central train station. We specifically asked about taxi rates since we were concerned about being ripped off by the Naples taxi drivers (seemingly unavoidable). We were told by hotel that the rate would be least 20EUR so we didn't think anything of it when the driver (Naples licensed driver) told us the flat rate was 20EUR. We only came to realize the fixed rate was actually 13EUR (including all supplements) and the driver was just helping him self to the extra 7EUR. It would have been nice for the hotel to provide us accurate information so we could have fought back. Obviously the cash wasn't huge but you would like to think that a 4 star hotel would be looking out for their guests.

We also asked the hotel to try to arrange us a 7 person van (no need to spend double on 2 taxis) for transportation the next day. They instead called 2 regular taxis which you pay extra for (even though there were 10 regular taxis waiting in front of the hotel). What was the point of asking for the van?

Additionally, both the front desk and the bar initially refused to break a 100 Euro note as we were leaving the hotel since we wanted smaller bills for the return taxis. We've never experienced a hotel refuse to provide change to their guests.

In the end the hotel was manageable for the 2 nights we were there but it is doubtful we'll return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dan0383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Dan,
thank you for your review with feedback of what your expectations weren’t accomplished.
Comments like yours are important in the planning process for our upcoming enhancements, so I appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments about our staff. I’m sad to hear that you didn’t match very well with them in order to arrange your transportation. I can assure you this is not typical of a stay at Royal Continental Hotel and I have already shared your review with our front desk staff in order to provide a better stay for the future guests.

I sincerely hope you will stay with us again...
M. Morra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Amazing seafront views of the bay and castle. Stayed in the annex where the rooms appear smaller and the balconies are small. Disappointed with the very bland furnishings, poor and intrusive maid service (banging on the door at 8.30am!!), poor breakfast, poor reception staff and pool opening hours (not open until 11am!).....this is a hotel run for the benefit of staff rather than guests....disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Insist on the main building not the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Paul, thank you very much for your feedback.
About your comments on the pool opening hours we have added this information in our new website (online from september) to ensure that future travelers will be informed. We sincerely apologize if you did not know this in advance.
We’re very sorry you had a bad experience with our Staff, please feel free to email me at comunicazione@royalgroup.it if you would like to discuss any of your points further.

Yours sincerely,
M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

everything about the hotel is great. the location, the staff, rooms, service. The staff is very cooperative and helpful. Even my tours were arranged right from the reception I will always stay here whenever i visit naples. 10/10 :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyme-Traveler-2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear fantabolous,
thank you so much for your nice comments!!
I'm so glad you liked the staff... our main goal is to provide a good hospitality for our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon...
M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Naples is a beautiful city with great walking tours to the historic quarters. This hotel sits majestically on the waterfront and many rooms look out onto the sea and the island of Capri in the distance - an incredible image to wakeup to.
Try to get a room on the 9th floor with large balconies.
The saltwater swimming pool and sundeck on the 10th floor rooftop is also an excellent place to relax.

The staff at frontdesk are very helpful, especially Vincenzo.

A great destination hotel in Naples

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review... I really appreciate reading your experience about our stunning waterfront location, the panoramic room and our seawater pool on the roof.
I’ll pass your comments on to Vincenzo!
Hope to see you back soon.

M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Continental for 3 days. We chose to stay in Naples so we could easily visit the Amalfi Coast, Positano, Sorrento, Capri, and Anacapri quickly and easily while saving some $$. The hotel is RIGHT on the sea with a beautiful view! It is a quick taxi ride from the train station (19 or 20 euro ride), and a short walk from the ferry (about 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile). The room was a good size and included a hair dryer and mini refrigerator to keep drinks cool. We felt very safe in Naples, even at night when walking from the ferry back to the hotel. It is a very active area for both locals and tourists, so there were always people out and about. We left the sliding glass door open one night to get the fresh breeze in our room. It was noisy on the street below because it was a weekend. But, once we shut the door, I was very surprised that we could hear no noise at all! The breakfast has a lot of choices! It's not a typical "American" breakfast with hot foods/eggs/etc, but it was a typical Italian hotel breakfast -- actually more choices than the other hotels we stayed at during our 10 day trip. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Rebecca,
thank you so much for your kind comments...
I'm so glad you liked the hotel lively location, the room and breakfast too.
It is made with fresh local products and we are very proud of it.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,487 reviews
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#30 of 185 in Naples
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 185 in Naples
1,051 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#17 of 185 in Naples
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#28 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £100 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing