We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #44 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After having a anticlimax at the San Michele Therme and SPA hotel at Sant' Angelo Ischia this was just heaven. Great room, fantastic balconyview and location and must of all, fantastic service all the time, fast and very professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneLundberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Suzanne Lundberg, thank you!
I appreciate so much your simply and direct feedback.
I’m really glad to see our efforts pay off on your last stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    1,092
    515
    166
    79
See reviews for
423
737
81
754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We paid a significantly higher amount to get a seaview room with balcony. Had we NOT had this room, I would have been seriously upset at wasting my money in a hotel that is so indifferent to its guests.

The positives: the room. It was large, a corner room, and we were happy to have a balcony with a lovely seaview that we could enjoy a drink on and watch the sun set. Of course, we paid extra for that privilege.

The negatives: everything else. Service was lethargic when we checked in and took ages despite us being the only people in line. The pool is tiny, lukewarm and costs €5 for just a Coke. Worst of all, one of the housekeepers came in, mid-afternoon, to replenish our minibar, but she didn't knock! Unfortunately for her and us, we were in the middle of changing to go to the pool. Really embarrassing for all involved and totally unacceptable.

Finally, we had to check out at 12:00 but our flight wasn't until the evening, so we asked if we could spend the afternoon at the pool - NOPE! After spending £250+ for two nights, we weren't even allowed to wile away three hours by the pool and buy a few more overpriced Cokes. The gentlemen who checked us out (I'm tempted to name and shame but don't have it in me), treated us rudely, and took a phone call in the middle of checking us out, then ignored us for nearly 5 minutes, before giving us all of our change in 20p coins. This place does not respect its clientele and while I would stay in the same peaceful waterfront location, I'd never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank moonstruck72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent one night is this hotel with 2 other couples. The spot, location of the hotel is great, just in front of the sea and overlooking the fortress. You just have to cross the street to enjoy a great meal in restaurant by the small port of the fortress.
The wifi is free and available in all the hotel.
The rooms are very large and comfortable, bathrooms ok but without any luxury.
The breakfast is not at all a 4 stars hotel one. Eggs were not good and cheese melting because of the heat. The staff also at the breakfast is not so professional and helpful.

Room Tip: The view over the fortress and the sea is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOUR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Front Office Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Nour,
thank you for your nice review. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel historic neighborhood, your room and our free wifi. Our goal is to provide the best hospitality for all our guests, so I have already shared with our staff your suggestions about breakfast. I can assure you this is not typical of a stay with us, in fact every day our breakfast it is made with fresh and local food.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews of Naples I was slightly hesitant, but not wanting to spend to go to Amalfi or Sorrento we opted for the bay of Naples. I'm so glad we did, this area really is an up and coming gem with it's relaxed night life, lovely restaurants and beautiful marina! The hotel itself is a fantastic price in my opinion, it is clean, decor is ok, the rooms are big and if you are on the front you have a brilliant view-side rooms would be fine, but not as good. The staff could not help us enough on the front desk, especially as we had accidentally paid for 1person not two! And we had many questions about what to do etc. Other pluses are the ample breakfast, balconies perfect for sunbathing, lovely pool area (with bar/sea water) on the roof!, late check out And port being a 15minute walk away for trips to Ischia/Capri/Sorrento, as well as a handy bus stop to the train station. Absolutely superb, we had a fantastic holiday here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Rebekah,
thank you for your fantastic feedback! Naples it is a really good destination especially in summer time and our hotel is optimally located!
I’m glad to see our efforts to offer a good hospitality experience pay off in your words, especially about your satisfaction on price quality ratio.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Me and my two kids are staying in a junior suite with sea view on the 5th floor. We will leave tomorrow and will pay around 1000 Euros for 4 days including parking. Price qualitity is ok. Location is very good but you can't walk to the city centre. Wi-Fi is free but extreamly slow (at our room) and, we have to renew it several times a day and change codes every day. Very irritating, especially for a big business hotel. The pool is smaller then it looks in the pictures and very crowded, so we decided to go to the beach somewhere else and wanted to borrow a couple of towels from the pool but the answer was ..., No! we were not allowed to take towels with us, even after signing for it with our room nr. I stay every year 30/40 times in hotels (4/5 stars for business) and never experienced such an unexpected reaction in a 4 star big hotel. Fortunatly the room maid understands what good service is and we could borrow a couple of extra bathroom towels, but the pool man doesn't and the reception also doesn't.
Dear manager, perhaps you will not find our point very heavy and your hotel is fully booked anyway but for us this just makes the difference between a good client oriented service and a poor, unfriendly service and it would have cost you nothing at all to have happy clients: Just lend them a couple of towels to be able to escape your too small, too crowded pool.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth to pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a surprise a delayed flight resulted in me and my partner getting to stay in this wonderful top class hotel. Centrally located in an historically area of the city over looking the bay of Naples with all the coming and goings of locals and tourists alike. All life is here with resatuarnts, disco and night life a plenty, joggers, cyclists and swimmers as well as some quiet mid night romantic strolls. The fact that we had a suite on the 9th floor with specatcular views was an extra treat. Breakfast is first class and afterwards you can step out of the hotel and catch a cab from right outside the porch or you can stroll at your leisure up through the meandering streets to enjoy some retail therapy. Later on we choose to use the roof top pool and sun lounge area to get much needed relaxation. The pool are is complimented with an indoor gym which I was told was open for 24 hours. A truly spectacular hotel in a breath taking location

Room Tip: try and get a sea view and to catch the cruise ships as they make their way slowly up the bay around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stantheweeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Stantheweeman,
thank you for your awesome review! I feel full of pride when our efforts to offer a good hospitality experience pay off in our guests words!
So ‘Every cloud has a silver lining’, in fact a flight delayed gave you a chance to discover the Royal Continental hotel with perfect location, good services and the vibrant city of Naples!
I’ve already shared your compliments with our staff, that are really glad to see their efforts pay off on your last stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The location of the hotel is good and the view is beautiful proving you pay extra and request a sea view. The staff at the front desk and maintenance were very good, so that just leaves the hotel itself. The rooms are very dated, our room 240 had all of the plaster work around the external door frame smashed it looked like someone may have tried to break in. Everything except the foyer and public areas are in desperate need of renovation, the bathrooms are also very dated. It can be very noisy as a result of the restaurant precinct further down the street. We left the balcony door open for fresh air and to listen to the ocean as we don't like sleeping in air conditioning all we could hear was screening and yelling.

Room Tip: Do not pick a sea view room and sleep with the door open as you won't get much sleep with all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Communication & Marketing Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Melinda,
thank you for your review with feedback of what your expectations weren’t accomplished.
I’m really happy that you appreciated our marvelous sea view and the helpful staff of the front desk and maintenance.
I have shared your comments about the noise and the external door frame with the Hotel Manager in order to provide a better stay to the future guests.

I sincerely hope you will stay with us again to show you an improved hotel.

M. Morra
Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,385 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#31 of 186 in Naples
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
954 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#20 of 186 in Naples
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing