We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area, good standard, what was expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #43 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great area, good standard, what was expected.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I spent five nights in this hotel and I was very pleased to see that it was what I was expecting: the area is really nice (we had a room with a view to the castle), the staff very friendly (kudos to the ones taking care of the restaurant, very attentive and polite) and the overall experience really made us relax after a tiring sightseeing day. The only thing I can mention on the negative side are a couple of details: our doorway had huge cracks around, which didn't allow for a positive first impression, and the hotel room was not fully intuitive (we had to call the reception twice to understand how to open the windows). Moreover, the pool is a bit small and usually crowded, but it is high season anyway, so we were happy there was a pool at all. Overall, I would certainly return here at some point when in Naples or the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view to the bay: yes, it is more expensive, but totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    1,142
    532
    172
    82
See reviews for
456
775
84
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal for 4 nights in August, we paid extra for a superior room with sea view and I'm so glad we did. The balcony was just big enough for two chairs but perfect to sit out and enjoy the view over to Castel Ovo (please excuse my spelling!) and the panoramic sea views. We asked for a high floor as the street along the sea front gets very busy and quite noisy at night.
The room was clean, a good size and had sky tv. The beds were very firm. Air conditioning functioned but was still very warm in the room, but that's what happens when you visit at the hottest time of the year!!
There was a bank two doors down, a supermarket round the corner to buy bottles of water and a fridge in the room to keep them cool. 10 mins walk to the shopping district, to the functional rail to take you up the hill to Castel St Elmo and many many restaurants and bars to choose from.

The hotel staff all spoke English, very friendly and helpful. The drinks are pricey, but it's a four star hotel, they always are!

The pool isn't huge but located on the roof with plenty shade and a welcome cool dip! You can have snacks on the terrace too.

A very pleasant stay!

Naples itself I was concerned about all the pickpockets etc but we saw none of this but was on the cautious side just incase.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We only stayed for one night and didn't get to use much of the hotel facilities (pool, gym). The room we got was very good size and had a large balcony with sea view which would have been lovely to sit out if it were warmer when we visited. the staff (reception and bar) were very helpful and professional. We got our bus tour tickets from reception, they also called a taxi for us to get to the airport early in the morning. Good selection was served at breakfast. hotel is in a great location, on a promenade, with lots of restaurants around. a bit a way from the city centre but still walkable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktorija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was the icing on the cake for our holiday esp when we were upgraded to a sea view room - loved everything about it - pool ws a little small but was out most of the day so didnt get to use it anyway. Staff were friendly and efficient - the lady in the breakfast room ws friendly and gave us top tips for our stay. The rooms are not modern but have a grand feel about them - our rooms were clean and well cared for. There is a great nightlife all around - restaurants, bars, ice cream bars, bike hire all within walking distance

Room Tip: definately pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjk4158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Location, location, location. When my wife and I travel in Europe, we try to walk everywhere, so the location of the hotel is of prime importance. We walked everywhere we went in Naples, except to the Capodimonte and to the airport; even then, taxis are available just outside, or the desk will call one for you. The location of the Royal Continental is unparalleled in Naples; there is no second that we’ve found.

We stayed at the Royal Continental in 2012 and liked it so much that we stayed there again in 2014. We reserved rooms with ocean views both times and were extremely pleased with both of our rooms. Our ocean-view rooms both had balconies. The first balcony was fairly small (maybe 5 feet by 4 feet); on it were two chairs; it was large enough to stand on without moving the chairs. The second balcony was very large (maybe 12 feet by 20 feet); on it were a table, two chairs, and two lounge chairs with a small table between them.

The view of the Bay of Naples and the Castel dell’Ovo (Castel of the Egg) is fabulous – it is directly across Via Partenope from the hotel. Furthermore, all of the hotel staff was great; they could not have been nicer or more helpful. True, the breakfasts could have been better, but they were adequate and not unlike breakfasts in many Italian hotels.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We checked in on 22nd July, we had arrived earlier than planned so we had drinks in the hotel 'Lounge Bar' where staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed on the 3rd floor and the view from our balcony was wonderful. Equally the view where we sat and eat breakfast looking across the bay was amazing.

WiFi was free and required you to get a code from reception and staff here were also friendly and helpful. One afternoon we went up to the roof where there is a pool. This was reasonably sized and I enjoyed swimming in it.

We did sometimes have trouble with getting the TV in the room to work but this was not a big concern as we were busy sightseeing a lot of the time.

After spending the day out we would normally finish off the evening in the lounge bar looking across at the city.

Overall a Nice, Friendly and Clean hotel close to a string of restaurants and the port to Capri, Ischia ect... Naples is Amazing!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Canunot,
thank you so much for your nice review. I'm so glad you liked our hotel dynamic location, your room and our staff, they are the true asset of our hotel and one of the good value of our style to provide a good hospitality for our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After having a anticlimax at the San Michele Therme and SPA hotel at Sant' Angelo Ischia this was just heaven. Great room, fantastic balconyview and location and must of all, fantastic service all the time, fast and very professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneLundberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Morra , Public Relations Manager at Royal Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Suzanne Lundberg, thank you!
I appreciate so much your simply and direct feedback.
I’m really glad to see our efforts pay off on your last stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

M. Morra Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,440 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#32 of 186 in Naples
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,014 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#19 of 186 in Naples
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#31 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing