We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super view of the bay, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Continental Hotel
Ranked #43 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super view of the bay, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed for 3 days in Naples in August 2014. Selected the hotel from Google maps street view - loved the area, loved the views of the water and the castle. The hotel was very nice and room was comfortable, a good size with large bathroom. The air conditioning was good, beds were comfortable and Wi-Fi worked well in our room. The breakfast was wonderful with large selection of items, wait staff was attentive and polite - be sure to ask for a cappuccino! The roof top pool was a terrific treat at the end of a day of sight seeing! The street outside the hotel provided a lovely strip to wander along at night and enjoy the sights and sounds. You will need transportation to get to other sights in Naples and to the train station - the #151 bus runs regularly from Piazza Vittoria just down the street from the hotel. The only negative was that our train tickets disappeared from our room during our stay....be sure to keep all your documents with you at all times while in Naples!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dohertypa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    1,076
    504
    164
    77
See reviews for
419
728
78
739
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

As tourists we had been given the advice to watch our belongings when in Naples. Having been told that I'm glad our flight was cancelled and we had the opportunity to spend a night in Naples because it gave me a chance to see a different side of the city. The Royal Continental Hotel is perfectly located. I was delighted to get a room with a balcony which had a table and two chairs. From the balcony I could see the beautiful castle across the road, the area with the boats and further down the road was a decorative archway. If you go to the right when you come out of the hotel there is a lovely walk along the sea front. The room was very comfortable with a double bed, a couch, a writing table, TV, free WiFi, and an ensuite bathroom. There was a fantastic choice of food for breakfast. All the hotel staff were polite and helpful. I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the bay where the castle is. It's an amazing experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discovery2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed for six nights in “Hotel Royal Continental” in August 2014. Location of that hotel is really great. It situated at the Partenope Street just at the first line of the seashore. Since we had the sea view through the windows of our room we had really wonderful landscape to enjoy with. We could enjoy excellent sea views and Castel Del Ovo Castle situated at the peninsular just in front of our windows for twenty for hours daily. The very important thing is that this hotel is situated in the safest region of Naples. That’s why to reach Spacanapoly or Sanita areas you will need to spend at least half an hour. Although it will take only fifteen minutes to get by walk the Royal Palace, San Carlo Theater, New or Angevin Castle situated in the area of Santa Lucia.
So, it was an excellent base to commit our cultural raids on the city of Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius. Regarding to hotel itself I can tell that our room was very big, such big rooms are more typical for the five stars hotels. Everything was very clean, the room was equipped with air-conditioner, mini-bar, TV set, phone and so on. Bath room was very big too, and was equipped with the comfortable bathtub and all other necessary things including the phone.
Free Wi-Fi was available at the room. Public areas were equipped with comfortable arm-chairs and sofas. Restaurant was very good with plenty of delicious food. Unfortunately omelet was prepared with some specific sauce and smelt with the fish. We had our breakfasts there. Bar was pretty good.
Hotel also possesses the swimming pool. There was the boutique with men’s and lady’s fashions dress in the ground floor.
All staff was very polite and useful and spoke fluent English. So, I think this is very good hotel and I can recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Take a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I spent five nights in this hotel and I was very pleased to see that it was what I was expecting: the area is really nice (we had a room with a view to the castle), the staff very friendly (kudos to the ones taking care of the restaurant, very attentive and polite) and the overall experience really made us relax after a tiring sightseeing day. The only thing I can mention on the negative side are a couple of details: our doorway had huge cracks around, which didn't allow for a positive first impression, and the hotel room was not fully intuitive (we had to call the reception twice to understand how to open the windows). Moreover, the pool is a bit small and usually crowded, but it is high season anyway, so we were happy there was a pool at all. Overall, I would certainly return here at some point when in Naples or the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view to the bay: yes, it is more expensive, but totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal for 4 nights in August, we paid extra for a superior room with sea view and I'm so glad we did. The balcony was just big enough for two chairs but perfect to sit out and enjoy the view over to Castel Ovo (please excuse my spelling!) and the panoramic sea views. We asked for a high floor as the street along the sea front gets very busy and quite noisy at night.
The room was clean, a good size and had sky tv. The beds were very firm. Air conditioning functioned but was still very warm in the room, but that's what happens when you visit at the hottest time of the year!!
There was a bank two doors down, a supermarket round the corner to buy bottles of water and a fridge in the room to keep them cool. 10 mins walk to the shopping district, to the functional rail to take you up the hill to Castel St Elmo and many many restaurants and bars to choose from.

The hotel staff all spoke English, very friendly and helpful. The drinks are pricey, but it's a four star hotel, they always are!

The pool isn't huge but located on the roof with plenty shade and a welcome cool dip! You can have snacks on the terrace too.

A very pleasant stay!

Naples itself I was concerned about all the pickpockets etc but we saw none of this but was on the cautious side just incase.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We only stayed for one night and didn't get to use much of the hotel facilities (pool, gym). The room we got was very good size and had a large balcony with sea view which would have been lovely to sit out if it were warmer when we visited. the staff (reception and bar) were very helpful and professional. We got our bus tour tickets from reception, they also called a taxi for us to get to the airport early in the morning. Good selection was served at breakfast. hotel is in a great location, on a promenade, with lots of restaurants around. a bit a way from the city centre but still walkable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktorija J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was the icing on the cake for our holiday esp when we were upgraded to a sea view room - loved everything about it - pool ws a little small but was out most of the day so didnt get to use it anyway. Staff were friendly and efficient - the lady in the breakfast room ws friendly and gave us top tips for our stay. The rooms are not modern but have a grand feel about them - our rooms were clean and well cared for. There is a great nightlife all around - restaurants, bars, ice cream bars, bike hire all within walking distance

Room Tip: definately pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjk4158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#33 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#38 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Continental Hotel

Property: Royal Continental Hotel
Address: Via Partenope 38/44, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Naples
#30 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Family Hotel in Naples
#36 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Continental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four stars for the Hotel Royal Continental, a hotel on the seafront promenade of Naples with a fascinating past, rebuilt in 1955 by Ferdinando Chiaromonte where once stood the Grand Hotel Royal des Etrangers . Today it is known as a structure of great prestige framed by the extraordinary beauty of the Bay of Naples. Large common areas , multiple meeting spaces , picturesque corners of relaxation, the Royal Continental sparkles elegantly with vintage charm thanks to the interiors designed by Gio Ponti , one of the greatest architects of the twentieth century. The furniture too was designed by him combined with designs by young architects of his choice . All 397 rooms, of which most have large windows and a balcony facing the breathtaking view of the Gulf, are spacious and very bright. On the Floor Museum Gio Ponti you can stay in one of the 24 rooms with wooden furnishings and fixtures designed specifically for the Hotel by Ponti. Suspended furniture, three-drawer chests with feet, and magazine racks and lamps in satin brass integrated into headboards from briar have made the history of Italian design. In stunning New York style, the Roof on the tenth floor, from which the beautiful view of the ancient Borgo Marinari and the legendary Castel dell'Ovo can be enjoyed, presents the one of a kind sea-water pool designed by Gio Ponti, published in 1954 on the cover of Domus. Guests are offered the solarium, outdoor bar, Fitness Center, massages booked in advance and two exclusive restaurants with spectacular panoramic views that stretch from the Vesuvius to the hill of Posillipo and the island of Capri. Breakfast served by the sea, in addition to the buffet which offers freshly baked pastries by Hotel Royal Continental, including oven fresh Neapolitan sfogliatelle, pastry horns. Location of reference for events and meetings, the Royal Continental is a well known Conference Center of primary importance in the national scene. Equipped with the most modern equipment and complimentary Wi-Fi, the Conference Center is characterized by its many meeting rooms with natural light and sea views. An exceptional location for large or small events thanks to its Auditorium setaing 530, its 16 Meeting rooms, 13 business suites and exhibition space, more than 200 sqm large. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed with an extra cost of 20 euros per stay. Located in one of the liveliest and most dynamic areas of Naples, the Royal Continental is the ideal location for living and exploring the city, within walking distance from shopping streets and the main local attractions, 10 minutes walk from Piazza Plebiscito and the Royal Palace. Furthermore, it is a 7 minutes drive to the harbour for ferry connections, 10 minutes to the Central Station and 20 to the International Airport. Not just a hotel but the real meeting point in the city, with its numerous events, food and wine tasting events, exhibitions, parties and aperitifs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Continental Naples
Hotel Royal Continental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing