We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 4 days in Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #24 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great 4 days in Naples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

First time visiting in Naples and this hotel was recommended by a travel agency (AAA). This hotel is in a great location, walking distance with shopping, restaurants, tourist attraction sites, and ferry. Also great view while eating a great breakfast and great coffee (better than coffee in Rome). Room was very nice but bit smaller than American standard especially bathroom. Staffs were very nice and every helpful, especially, one young lady, Anna Quarantiello who helped us the most. She gave us a lot more helpful information such as places to see and restaurants other than other staffs. Only one bad experience was we did not get a wake up call on the last day to catch a train to go Rome. Other than that it's a good place to stay. I also recommend Anna to help you out if you are first time visiting Naples. She was great help for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiromi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    617
    202
    49
    26
See reviews for
217
491
50
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This hotel is in an oustanding location, has great breakfast, and staff is extremely helpful. Rooms are very nice, a little smaller than American standards, but decor is all wood and very nice. Close to buses and harbor, makes it easy to get around without a car. Staff was very helpful with restaurant and shopping information. I will always stay here when I visit Naples.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamafredmda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed here 16 nights on business. Check-in was efficient. Giuseppe, the gentleman at the front desk, was very polite and helpful throughout my stay.

If you're daring enough to drive in downtown Naples (GPS highly recommended), the hotel has a parking garage just to the left of the front entrance. It is a very tight fit with an even tighter turn to the right as you enter. If you are offered an upgrade by the car rental company, you'd be wise to decline it if you want to fit in the garage entrance. Anyway, the garage attendants speak English and are extremely helpful: They will park your car for you, as well as drive it in and out of the garage if you're uncomfortable doing so yourself. Just tell them what time you want to leave in the morning and they'll have your car ready.

The room was slightly smaller than what Americans are used to, but it was spotlessly clean, quiet, and very comfortable. Please be sure to bring a power plug converter, as there are no American-style electrical outlets. The front desk can help with this if you forget.

The hotel restaurant was excellent. The menu was a bit short, but lacking none of the representative types of Italian food. The salmon and chicken entrees were delicious, as was the grilled vegetable appetizer. Be sure to ask for a glass of their Cabernet.

Location is excellent: Just next to Piazza Municipio, you can walk to the port, Teatro San Carlo, Galeria Umberto, and Piazza Plebiscito. Or, you can pick up the Alibus for the 3-Euro hop to the train station or airport. My only concern is that the neighborhoods can get a bit seedy if you turn left outside the front entrance, but if you can make it through those streets, Via Toledo has a lot to offer in terms of small restaurants, Kebab stands, and knockoff Louis Vuittons.

Overall, this was a very good hotel to spend 16 nights on business. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleGribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Marriott was a welcome relieft. The rooms and hotel were amazing! Everything was perfect. A 5 min walk to the Marina and shopping. Everyone spoke English, rooms were spacious and relaxing. The pillow and beds were extremely comfortable. Loved everthing about it. The view from the terrace was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djsolomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Renaissance Mediterraneo in Naples in Aug of this yr.
We only got a hotel room in Naples because we didn't want to head straight to the island of Capri from Naples straight from the airport. (we flew into Naples to get to Capri). We needed a day to recover and sleep before embarking on another mission!
The hotel was well presented. I heard that it was a part of the marriot chain so I knew that there would be a certain level of standard and that I was walking into something familiar.
The staff all spoke english and did their job well. They explained how to get to Capri in a very efficient manner. The hotel rooms were pretty average, it was clean but average in terms of furnishing, and other ammenities.
My favourite part about staying at this hotel was that it was walking distance to everything.
All the main sights in Naples was about 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel. We went to Galleria Umberto, Santa Chiara, Theatro, Castel Nuovo, Palazzo Reale, and the piazza. Plus just up the hill (there is a small windmill- go in that direction) there was a small cafe with free wifi (the hotel provides free wifi for 30 minutes only)
Also near the cafe, if you keep going up a block or so, there is a cobblestone street with shops, street vedors and side streets with cafes etc... so much to see.
All that and another 5 minutes walk and you're back at the hotel.
I can't emphasize more on what a great location this hotel was. And from what I hear, this is pretty good and above average in terms of accomodation in Naples. No complaints!

oh ps. their continental breakfast which is included with the stay is awesome because it's at the hotel rooftop and you can see the city and its port pretty well. Great place to get a good picture of the cityscape.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Not as nice as other Renaissance hotels in Europe I have stayed in. The highlight is the beautiful outdoor breakfast terrace on the roof with lovely views of Mount Vesuvius and the Bay. Service was lacking...often many employees standing around talking with each other while customers sat/stood waiting. Restaurant menu was limited -- maybe 12-15 items and even then they were out of some of the items...we were one of three tables in the restaurant during the 2.5 hours we were there....nearly half that spent waiting.

Old TVs and sparsely furnishing rooms, no alarm clock, just "TV clock". No wi fi in the rooms unless u put down a €40 deposit on a router you had to self install.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chgotrvlr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

First of all, we stayed here on Marriott points so I can't say whether it was worth the price or not. This hotel was fine but nothing spectacular and I understand that it is pretty expensive. Internet was definitely spotty, which was frustrating since this was the first "real" hotel (i.e. non B&B or hostel) we had been at in weeks, and I expected that to be a perk. The breakfast area was very nice, as was the rooftop garden area. Breakfast food was only ok.

Our room was small but clean and a nice break from the crazy streets of Naples!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Mercure Napoli Angioino Centro
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Nuova Ponte di Tappia 25, 80133, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Naples
#12 Business Hotel in Naples
#16 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Naples
Naples Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing