We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for central Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #22 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We took the Alibus from the airport to piazza Municipio (3Euro),actually, due to road works, it is piazzale Stazione Marittima and walked to the hotel. Check-in was quick, we got room #804,no view but quiet. Breakfast is very good, italien salami, Mortadella, cold ham and cheese, bread and rolls, yoghurt, bacon and eggs, fresh and canned fruit and several pastries, sfogliatelle even and coffee made to order. In the lobby they offered several newspapers in english and other languages. In the business center they offer Internet acces, which is complimentary. The location can´t be better if you want to explore Naples.The busstop is just around the corner and Dante, the underground station a short 5 min walk away.
We had dinner once in the hotel, it was nothing to write home about. Much better were Trattoria e Pizzeria Antica Capri and Locando dei Borboni, both restaurants are close to the hotel, see separate reviews. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans-Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Room & bathroom is clean, room look nice & beautiful, mattress is comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is in the 11th floor, good view and good food :-
In center of Naples, convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christinaang64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Even though the city is endless, it is a great location. The staff were extremely helpful with any questions we had. The breakfast on the terrace is so beautiful, enjoying coffee watching the city come alive while the Sun shines. The rooms are just lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amylee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights starting on a Sunday for business in this centrally located hotel just a few blocks from the waterfront. Like many experiences in Italy, this hotel presents both wonderful attributes and frustratingly arcane ones. The lobby area is very nice and welcoming, with lots of seating to meet with friends or associates before tackling Naples streets. The 4 elevators with their lettering system is a bit different but easily gotten used to. The rooms are that odd combination of Italian idiosyncracies. My first room (before I asked to be moved) on the 8th floor had a small 20 inch tube type TV and not much for amenities. I asked to be moved to a better room and without a protest moved to the 9th floor with a large screen TV (but not the best TV connections or programming content--better be able to speak Italian to watch anything other than CNN or BBC). In room internet was not offered, but when I asked for a cable to be sent to my room for a hardwire connection, the staff showed up with a wireless router which he hooked up and gave me the password to...I had to sign for it and turned it in upon checkout three days later. Otherwise, I believe wireless internet is only offered in the lobby or rooftop. There was no charge either way.

The bathroom was an adventure--the overhead shower sprayed over the entire bathroom and left 1" deep of water everywhere. From the peeling paint overhead, it was obvious that this was a longstanding problem. Otherwise the bathroom was decent by Italian standards but would pale in comparison to most European 4 star properties. Bed was huge and comfortable, though with the energy saver (room key in slot to operate electriciy) inability to leave the AC running when absent, I was never able to cool the room down comfortably enough for my sleeping preference. Closets were that typical afterthought in many Italian hotels--hard to operate doors and not a lot of storage space.

Having said all that, the star of the stay was breakfast at the 11th floor garden with a to-die-for view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Food offerings were good (blood orange juice a plus) and coffee/tea service attentive but it all paled in comparison to the view.

Our concierge made several acted upon recommendations for pizzerias in old city (including Da Michele's and Di Matteos) , walking areas (craft area on Via San Gregorio) and a decent full menu restaurant nearby off of Via Toldedo (Ciro Ristorante). All were spot on.

One final thing--be prepared to stand your ground on fixed price taxi fares to the airport or cross town. The drivers will take every opportunity to get around the price, but will acquiesce if you agree prior to starting the trip. Taxi fare to the Naples airport should be no more than 20 euros.

Room Tip: Make sure you have breakfast in the 11th floor garden area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TUPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

First you have to carry your bags up the stairs after you park illegally at the curb, because there was nowhere to unload cars and no porter in sight. Then we were treated like beggars because we used Marriott Reward points. The lobby looked okay, hence the disconnect when you get to the disgusting room, which they are careful not to show in the marketing material. The bathroom had cream and blue hospital tiles, rusted metal shower rod and yellow stained shower curtain. The room itself looked like from the 1970s with tacky and glary wall lamps, yellow bed cover not seen for over 10+ years, and rough-looking, partially discoloured wood trim. Front desk staff was generally unfriendly and unhelpful except for one lady. Elevator's doors slammed on one of our arms when we were going in. When we told the GM, with bruise to prove, she didn't seem to believe us and gave us the standard line (they are looking into it and they take life safety seriously, etc.), but no sincere apology was felt. They charged our room for a breakfast at the restaurant which we had never been to. When we spotted it on checkout, they argued with us. The manager said the restaurant was sure it was us. We told her we were on a ferry to Capri that morning when we were said to be eating breakfast at the hotel and as the only Asian I saw in the hotel, I said it would be hard to mistake me. She finally took the charges off, but not without first questioning my integrity. Is this racist behavour, general poor hospitality or untrusting culture, I cannot tell. I was deeply offended. Add insult to injury (literally) on top of a bad stay and you have my honest review to the masses. Really, don't stay here if you want any respect. I reported our stay experience to Marriott (mother chain) and no one seems to care. It is disturbing and shameful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank EchoBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I've been to a few high end hotels in Naples for business and this hotel has the best all around package - location, rooms, staff, food and parking. I would definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Naples Italy.

Rooms are fair sized, very clean & comfy. Staff is very accommodating & friendly. Location (north of Piazza Municipo) is just right for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed here for one night. I stay at Marriott hotels in the US frequently, so booked a night here with points. We traveled down from Rome for 2 days/ 1 night to see Pompeii and the Archaeology Museum. Checked in here, the front desk staff was super helpful. The hotel itself was more American then European. That is, it had fairly large rooms. Large bathrooms as well. Our room had an awesome view of the harbor and Mt Vesuvius. Breakfast was included, this was a nice buffet that was located on the top floor of the hotel, awesome views. The overall location of the hotel is in the middle of a business area, but there are a few restaurants very close. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean, good location, great staff, good sized, very clean rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Vesuvius view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank enicideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,134 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Napoli Ambassador
#62 of 186 in Naples
2,344 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Nuova Ponte di Tappia 25, 80133, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Naples
#12 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £109 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Naples
Naples Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing