We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money Grubbers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2008

We stayed three days in Naples. The city is dirty, congested and the worst driving I have ever seen in my entire life. The Marriott Renaissance was by far the most comfortable room during our 40 day European trip. It was grand with a king+ bed, luxury bath with the nicest shampoo supplies of the trip. They have an excellent location for our trips to Pompei and Capri.

All of these positives aside, our trip to the Marriott was dampened by their obvious money grubbing policies. They room was expensive enough, but then they grub you a lot for parking, more for internet...and then they tried to grub us even more for a breakfast the was suppose to be included. I had enough and let the desk manager have it...then we got the breakfast for free as promised. But that stressful event ruined my stay at the Marriott, no matter how nice the bed or bubble bath...they can't make up for a rude, money grubbing staff.

Marriott, you can do better.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evelynyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymon. Good location, excellent rooms, and roof top terrace is brillaint for views across naples. There is also a sun lounger area with jacuzzi which was well received after day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dundeepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

Hotel is centrally located near harbour (great for a day trip to Capri) and a few minutes way from main shopping areas. Rooms are basis with wooden floors, so lots on noise from the room above you. Ask for a room on the highter floors as some have a great view over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius as ours did. Hotel is what I would describe as a basic 4 star and nothing special. Breakfast was worst in Marriott hotels I have come across and not worth Euro15. Food was poor in general and was only luke warm - stay away from beef dishes!! ( tough as boots comes to mind)

Take the Alibus (3 euro each way) from the Airport to nearby Plazzo Municipo as taxis will rip you off!!! Took a taxi back to airport from hotel who advised fair was special at Euro 16 - taxi driver demanded Euro 26 was would not give us out luggage!! Naples was filthy due to some sort of strike by truckdrivers. Locals have no manners and have never heard of forming a queue - do as they do and barge your way to the front.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank martManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We were given a week's stay at this hotel for our honeymoon. While not quite sure how we would like Naples or this hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by both. While Naples is not for everyone, we found it vibrant and authentic. We were able to take many day trips and saw much of the Amalfi coast and even squeezed a trip into Rome. The hotel was up to the standards of most Marriott's that I have stayed in Europe. The rooms were spacious, and the staff was friendly and helpful for the most part. While the front desk is helpful, the degree of helpfulness depends on who is working the desk. Do not expect full concierge service, but do expect the helpful hospitality that is characteristic of Southern Italy. The location was great! and the surrounding restaurants were reasonable and excellent. If staying in Naples, I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

We were pleasantly surprised and pleased at this choice - it was very central and quiet. The staff were very helpful, and we enjoyed the lovely views on the rooftop terrace for breakfast and at the outside jacuzzi. Definitely worth the money and would recommend and return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo2477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was great and helpful. Being from the U.S and knowing no Italian, the staff at the front desk being able to to speak English was a great help. I was in town for a confernce and was confronted with a problem that needed attention from someone who was fluent in Italian. The woman at the front desk made a series of calls and helped me solve my problem on the spot.

Outside of the staff, the hotel was a very clean, well appointed, Italian, urban hotel. But, for some Americans who are more used to large suburan hotels, this hotel will seem small. The rooms are smallish in dimensions as are the bathrooms. Again, everything is very clean and well maintained. A saving grace for those looking for open space is breakfast on the roof. The view is breath taking as is the coffee.

Lastly, the hotel is well located if you need to be in the heart of Napoli. The other high-end hotels are on the coast and very far from anthing of business or tourist interest.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Whiteshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

good location, Overall I would say this is a great hotel, and a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,074 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 185 in Naples
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Napoli Ambassador
#58 of 185 in Naples
2,322 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Nuova Ponte di Tappia 25, 80133, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Naples
#12 Business Hotel in Naples
#15 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#34 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £113 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Naples Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Naples
Naples Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing