We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Britannique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Britannique Hotel
Ranked #117 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We came to Napoli to visit family and stayed at this hotel. This hotel is in an ideal location. 10 minute walk to the sea front and a 5 minute walk into the shopping area and subway. This hotel is not modern but has a traditional feel and look to it. It certainly has a very welcoming effect.
The staff were very helpful, especially one in particular, his name is Luigi. He speaks quite good English and nothing ever seems to much trouble. Every time we asked for directions or suggestions where to eat, where to visit and not to visit he will always take time to show you. One place I would recommend to eat is about 3 minutes walk to Antonio Antonio's. Fantastic service and the food is lovely.
The rooms were very clean. The continental breakfast is very nice.
If you are looking for a nice traditional looking hotel with a warm reception this hotel is ideal.
We will be staying here again next year.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the front because of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    68
    74
    33
    25
See reviews for
40
90
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This once grand hotel is slowly fading away, though perhaps gracefully. It's position is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful but it is in serious need of investment. The rooms need updating and the electrics look in need of care and attention.

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavKathBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with a friend. The hotel has a faded grandeur which we found charming and characterful. If you want soulless sleek and modern, don't stay here! We had an amazing view of the bay and Vesuvius from our huge room on the 3rd floor. It was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and most spoke good English. We couldn't get wi-fi in our room but it worked well in the sitting areas downstairs and this was a good place to relax with a drink. The breakfast was excellent - fresh croissants, pastries & bread, ham and cheese, fruit, cereal, yoghurt.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The location was great and the view from the room was awesome. The hotel is easily reachable by the port as well as the airport (hotel can arrange cab service for 23 euro to airport). The hotel is also pretty cheap. We stayed there two nights but I missed out on the breakfast so can't speak to that. The pictures of the hotel make it seem super cute in terms of decor, but it wasn't what I had hoped for. The main pitfall was that when we walked into our room it smelled of cigarette smoke, which is because smoking is allowed in the rooms. Aside from that the bathroom wasn't as fresh / clean as it could have been. We had fresh sheets and towels which felt fresh, but some old carpets on the floor were questionable to walk on. Bottom line - when they say the hotel is "untouched" they really mean that it hasn't been renovated since its fruition. This isn't necessarily a bad thing but it had a little older / stuffy feeling to me -- as a euphemism let's say rustic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sondra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Me and my husband were on our honeymoon to Italy and we booked hotel Britannique for our stay in September this year. We reached there through Naples Metro and took a funiculore to the top to get out of station that was just ten mins away from Hotel Britannique. Meaning the connectivity was good for us.. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and excellent with fresh juices, yogurt and all kinds of bread...the room was clean, very classy and very very cozy. The moment we set our foot into the room we simply loved it...The best part about the hotel was however the sea view that it provided...Every night, we drank some wine and had a few snacks keeping the balcony door open to the naples skyline and must say that it was one of the best honeymoon moments we spent...Everything was in order...they changed our room automatically when they realized that the air-conditioning was not as perfect as it should be...We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Britannique..If you're looking for something that is totally medieval yet cozy, you must go with hotel Britannique..If given a chance we would go there every time we are in Naples... :) There was a posh shopping street and a busy restaurant place near the metro station that was ten mins away through public transport from the hotel and the street of hotel Britannique itself was a good place with many shops and restaurants..

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view and prefer 3rd floor cause it has wifi, the other floors don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllamBhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed 5 nights for my Honey moon ..very nice hotel if you like older buildings
Good location few steps from the heart of Napoli and still in a quiet area
receptionist Paolo was everyday proposing an area to visit or a restaurant to try he is excellent
rooms has no safe but are really big
poor breakfast
i piad a wonderful price of 70 euro per night BB from a website

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karim_kamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Reading the other reviews, I wonder if it's the same hotel. Breakfast was by far the poorest i've ever seen, without any vegetables and only one type of cheese and ham. the paper wall in the breakfast room was dusty and dirty, as well as the coffee cups. eating there was an awful experience
The room was small and had old furniture, but decent.
Please disregard the receptionist's Luigi recco for trattoria Bausan, it's the same black hole.
I definitely would not reccomend staying at Britannique. Better add some more money and enjoy Naples.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Chiaia
Hotel Exe Majestic
Hotel Exe Majestic
#34 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Chiaia
Pinto-Storey
Pinto-Storey
#84 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Grand Hotel Parker's
#28 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
#31 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Chiaia
Ausonia Hotel
Ausonia Hotel
#94 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Chiaia
Hotel Mergellina
Hotel Mergellina
#81 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannique Hotel

Property: Britannique Hotel
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 133, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Chiaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Hotel housed in former classically styled villa dating from 1870, with panoramic views of Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannique Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing