We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts. Challenged in others.”
Review of Holiday Inn Naples

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Naples
Ranked #46 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Royal Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good in parts. Challenged in others.”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The Holiday Inn in Naples has challenges. It is in a strange location if you're looking for a tourist hotel. The commercial district that it occupies is a little way out of town, but don't let that put you off - there is a good shuttle-bus service.


Let's point out some of the good points:

1st, it's a Holiday Inn & if you're using Priority Club points for a free stay, there's only one Holiday Inn in Naples - so that's where you stay!

2 Holiday Inn Naples is well priced. Stay in the City itself and pay double. Your choice.

3 Good, free shuttle bus service. Airport to hotel & hotel to city. Scheduled and reliable. You may find that it's a good idea to call the hotel on arrival at the airport, we had a little difficulty in finding the (mini) bus on our arrival. This service alone saves lots of money compared to taxis.

4 I had read horror stories about the state of the hotel rooms and corridors. I must say that our floor (13) had been newly decorated as had our room. We had a 2 room junior suite (which may have been a Priority Club upgrade). The suite was spacious and clean, the bed was massive and was probably new.

5 I found the check-in staff to be courteous and friendly (see note below in NOT so good points), I would pick out Domenico as being a member of staff that truly "goes the extra mile". Well done Domenico.


NOT so good points:

1 The area is rubbish. It is full of rubbish. The hotel can't do much about that! In reality, this saves you money. If you can cope, stay here.

2 The hotel's computer sytem really lets it down. This is one of the things that frustrates guests (and staff). We were locked out of our room every day. The system failed to tell housekeeping to clean our room. Check in & check out is painfully slow as a result.

3 Although our room was newly decorated, some of the fixtures and fittings (especially in the bathroom) were dated, attention to detail was poor.


We didn't eat at the hotel at all, so I cannot comment on the catering (although fellow guests said that breafast was really good).


Summary. Know what to expect and you know what you'll get.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disgusted17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Disgusted 17

I thank you for the time you spent to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Naples.

The Hotel is almost completely refurbished and the comfort has been improved.
We know that the area near the Hotel will be renewed, but we don’t now the schedule of the works.

Concerning the door key system, the update is planned to start in the next months, and some problems, actually experienced, will be solved.

It’s a pity you didn’t use our restaurant, since is generally considered the “flagship” of our Hotel. Maybe next time in Naples, you will not miss it!!!

Thanks again for your contribution and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once more in our Hotel.

Best regards

Bruno De Caria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    539
    362
    73
    61
See reviews for
223
286
55
474
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Senior couple spent 4 nights. Adeqaute accommodation in clean, large room. Great breakfast. Shuttle bus deposits you at the station or central Naples, very convenient.

Room Tip: Room 1915 has a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edrsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed one night here in triple room. There were 2 double bed so there was really no need to have another extra bed.

Room was quite small compared to other holiday inn hotels. So is the bathroom although it is generally clean. Water pressure of shower was quite low.

Cable tv available which was great.

Breakfast selection was quite good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sephyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Bad quality of the room (the toilet was not flushing properly), bad location (far from the city centre), bad service, bad personnel, useless shuttle service (since the time table is absurd)... We went there only because our flight was cancelled and Lufthansa offered us a night there! We'll definetely never go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_Costantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear L Costantino,
I am really sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay at our hotel.
I would have appreciated you to contact us immediately so that we could have either fixed the bathroom or assigned you another room. I was also surprised to learn that you were not happy with my staff attitude as on the contrary we usually receive many comments of appreciation. If you are able to provide me with further details I will be happy to investigate further and take corrective actions where needed.
With regards to the shuttle service please remember that it is a complimentary service. Alternatively, our Reception staff is always available and happy to book a taxi or organize a private transfer.
Once again I am sorry to hear all this disappointment and I am sure that should you come back to our hotel in a different situation, not because you were stranded at the airport, your evaluation would be quite different.
I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
With kind regards,
Bruno De Caria
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel seemed very much suited to the business traveller rather than the tourist. The location was a fair distance from town, with the walk between hotel and Naples center being very quiet.

The hotel itself was fine, although slightly overpriced, nothiong special but no major issues either. I would recommend looking for more central propoerties for the same price if you are looking to visit the center of Naples

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon_Brit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Really a good impression overall. Modern Building, refurbished common areas, generous buffet breakfast, much better than some old and dusty hotels I stayed at in Italy! The best tip, ask for one of the newly remodelled rooms. Fresh, large and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
208 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My colleague and I had to visit Naples for 2 days and as we had stayed at the Holiday Inn at via Moncalieri, Turin and at Milan, we decided to book at this hotel.

As such, to be honest, there was nothing positive about the hotel apart from the large rooms. The reception staff were cold, not co-operative and it was as if we were doing the hotel a favour by staying there. They did not accept our Priority Club cards as they said that only at the time of checkout would they bother looking at them.

When we asked directions to our client's office, they annoyingly muttered something, and then after prodding for help, took out a map showing us the way.

The rooms are large but somehow there is no point available for charging a laptop. In fact, even the bathrooms did not have sockets for razors. I finally took out the TV's plug to charge my machine.

Internet is not free, and is priced in such a manner that you are forced to take it for the entire day considering the economics put forth to you. TV channels do not have many good channels free, unlike the other Holiday Inns we stayed at. The Real Madrid Barca Semifinal had to be watched in the bar.

The area surrounding the hotel is pathetic. When you enter the lane, it does not even feel that you are going to stay in a hotel in this lane. And once you take a taxi from the hotel, the roads leading out of the area are strewn with filth and garbage.

If I had to visit Naples again, I would surely choose a another hotel around the same price point or a little higher, located in a better area in the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMManager, Direttore at Holiday Inn Naples, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear StanleyPune,

I thank you for your report that will help us improve our service. I'm sorry to learn about your experience in our Hotel and I wish to answer to some of your points.

It is our policy to ask for the Priority card at time of check out as our system allow us to load information and due points at that time. I am pleased to inform you that a new PMS will be soon installed which will permit to manage the process in a much smoother way.

Among the news on our Hotel, I wish to inform you that a complete refurbishment of the rooms is in progress. Sockets will be installed in a better position to allow our guests to work in a more comfortable way.

Internet has different kind of access with different rates. The pricing structure allows guests to choose the best solution according to their needs.

With regards to the TV our Hotel offers the main Italian channels and English, French, Spanish, German and Japanese language channels. In addition we offer sports, music and news channels, all free. A pay per view selection is also available with the latest choice of movies. For events that are scheduled on channels we don't offer in the bedrooms, we specifically provide a wide screen in one of our restaurants to allow guests to enjoy them.

Unfortunately, the garbage issue is a problem that affects the whole city of Naples and not only our area. The authority are working on it but as you can imagine it is out of our hands and we are as much disappointed as you are. With reference to our location, most of the people find it helpful being in the heart of the main business area of Naples, 5 minutes far from the main railway station, 10 minutes far from the International Airport and a couple of miles from the highways. Railway station, the centre of the city and the Airport can be reached also with our free shuttle service, that runs on a scheduled basis.

I wish to assure you that our staff is always working with passion and doing the utmost to give guests the best possible service. Episodes that differ from our service standards are verified in details, and in this case, I would appreciate it if you could provide us the date of your stay to help us investigate further.

I really hope you will review your consideration and you will come back to our Hotel in the near future. I will be more than happy to meet you personally.

With my best regards,

Bruno De Caria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
564 reviews
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#53 of 186 in Naples
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Naples
#43 of 186 in Naples
851 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#5 of 186 in Naples
1,048 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#49 of 186 in Naples
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Naples

Property: Holiday Inn Naples
Address: Centro Direzionale E6, 80143, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Naples
#29 Business Hotel in Naples
#32 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Naples 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Naples hotel for a stay in the heart of the modern Centro Direzionale, a few minutes from Naples city centre. Everyday, take advantage of our free scheduled 16-seater shuttle bus, to/from the Naples Central Rail Station. From here, move around with metro and buses to reach all the main attractions a few stops away. If you travel by plane, book a private transfer to/from Capodichino airport at a charge. Holiday Inn Naples boasts conference and event facilities for up to 300 delegates with 18 bright meeting rooms equipped with free Wi-Fi. For sport lovers the hotel offers a mini-gym open 24 hours with cardio fitness circuit including treadmill, cycling, elliptic and multifunctional machines and dumbbells. Hop on a ferry and make time for a trip to Ischia Island and its many beautiful thermal spa. If you are a fan of good Neapolitan food, our Chef will amaze you with its wide selection of starters, desserts and numerous delicious dishes available at the Bistrot Victor restaurant. The Bellini Bar and its terrace with Sky TV, offers cocktails and snacks accompanied by live music (mon-fri) for a relaxing evening with friends and colleagues. Treat yourself to a stay in one of our comfortable Standard, Executive, Suites, Business Suites and Executive Suite, all equipped with free Wi-Fi and Mediaset Premium movie and football channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Naples Hotel Naples
Naples Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing