We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location With Good Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Terminus
Ranked #42 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location With Good Room”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The location of the hotel is near to the railway station. It come with the facilities similar to that of other hotel. The room is big and so is the toilet. The room does come with television and fridge but without safe deposit box (if you need either of this or all). The hotel has elevators. It also allow free storage of your luggage. the room include breakfast. The hotel is quiet in the inside therefore we have a good rest. Even though our room overlook the main road. The Main Railway Station is about or less then 5-mins Walking Distance and there are no supermarket nearby not sure if there is any at the Mcdonalds side of the railway station. And the wifi is only available at the lobby area unless you wanted to pay for it. Other then the check-out which is slower then others hotel nothing much to complain about. However, do request to take your own luggage if you store it with them. Cos it will take very long before it reaches your room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    438
    246
    90
    59
See reviews for
165
331
63
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
862 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Maybe they don't like British tourists, but I found the staff offhand and not at all attentive.
We stayed in a standard room which was adequate, however it was cleaned thoroughly each morning.
The breakfast buffet was adequate but if you needed a hot drink, it was easier to find a waiter rather than wait for one to ask if you wanted anything.
The gym was adequate, but the one running machine wasn't always working and there was no water or antiseptic wipes and one day there were no towels.
If you want a central hotel, this is good because it is next to the railway station and bus station. If you want luxury and attentive service, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. They are building in the Piazza and they start work at 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The only thing that is good about this hotel is its proximity to the station. Many things were broken or missing. For instance in the fitness room, there were no towels or water or antiseptic wipes. On 2 mornings I went to use the running machine and it wasn't working. Our room lost all water one morning, although this was fixed within a few minutes. The breakfast was adequate, but on occasions, there was no butter, bowls, cereal spoons and sometimes the hot breakfast - bacon, scrambled eggs, frankfurters - was cold. If you wanted a hot drink, it was better to find a waiter and ask, rather than wait for them to find you.
Maybe they don't like British tourists, but I did find most of the staff offhand and you could be waiting a long time at reception, even though you were the only person there.
However, the room was cleaned well each day.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel because there is a lot of building work happening on the piazza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Naples is not the best place to see Italy, it is dirty busy, and lacks charm, however the Star hotel terminus by the railway station is suberb. This hotel even has a pillow menu!
In the same street are two very good inexpensive restaurants. Good friendly service and in a safe area. Come out the hotel's swing doors turn left and you are their.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparrowwelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We chose this hotel for two visits to Naples during March and April because it is close to the railway station. On this score it didn’t disappoint, being literally across the road. Unfortunately we were disappointed in many other areas.

On our first visit we found the reception staff unwelcoming, quite offhand. The room we were assigned seemed a little small and the porter pointed out that it was, in fact, a single room. We had booked (and paid well in advance) for two people, so this was clearly a mistake. The porter was directed to put us in a double room and when my partner went to reception to have the room key re-programmed he was greeted with the words “What did you do wrong?” as if we were to blame.

The double room was a reasonable size with a good bathroom and a balcony overlooking the street. It wasn’t too noisy with the window closed. The pillows from the pillow menu were wonderful and the bed was very comfortable. The decor was a bit tired and we noticed that this was the case throughout the hotel. We went upstairs, hoping to enjoy the roof garden but it wasn’t open and the area had a sad, neglected look.

Later we went down to the lobby to have a drink and use the internet. The same male receptionist was quite rude, throwing the piece of paper with the password at us. We then had to go in search of someone, anyone, to serve us. Eventually we got our drinks and then had to go through the same process in order to pay for them. Most of the staff were sitting in the restaurant, eating a meal.

Breakfast was adequate although the cappuccino appeared to have been made from a packet rather than a coffee machine. Like the rest of the hotel the restaurant was in dire need of redecorating. Some light fittings had only about half the bulbs working.

On our second visit we were checked in by a friendly, pleasant woman, a considerable contrast to our previous experience. The room we were given had a jammed plug in the washbasin and a bad smell from the drain. My partner reported the ‘puzza’ and we were immediately offered an upgrade to a large corner room overlooking the piazza (currently being dug up). We had tea and coffee making facilities, a small table and chairs, and room to spare. Very comfy bed and pillows again. Surprisingly there was no mirror in the room apart from the one in the bathroom. The bathroom was a good size and the shower spacious. Again the room was in need of updating. The television sets in the rooms are practically antiques.

Before leaving we checked our account on the in-room television and confirmed we had nothing to pay. We handed in our keys at reception and were told by the receptionist on duty that nothing was owed. Just then the phone rang and he answered it. We were preparing to leave when an older man behind reception called out to us. At first we thought he couldn’t be talking to us as we were about to leave, but he insisted that we wait, asked for our room number, checked the computer and told us we were booked in for another night and we would have to pay. At this stage I started looking in my bag for a photocopy of our voucher to prove that we did not owe for another night, while my partner suggested he check again as we definitely had not booked an extra night. After a degree of bluster he agreed that we ‘could go’, upon which we told him we were going anyway as we had a train to catch. I cannot remember ever having been spoken to so rudely by a hotel receptionist.

My score for this hotel is 2 out of 5: 1 point for the location near the train station, half a point for the comfortable bedding, and half a point for the 50% of the staff who were polite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

England
Level Contributor
315 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I decided on this hotel after lots of research on tripadvisor, in which it gets mixed reviews, which I agree with as there are some positives but unfortunately many negatives. I chose this hotel as we were only staying in Naples for 1 night and we wanted a hotel close to the train station as we were arriving by train into Naples and departing the following morning by train to Rome. The hotel is just across the road from the train station and is easy to find and get to. The area it is located in is not the nicest and my wife and I didn't feel that safe wandering round the area by the hotel, and I wouldn't want to walk round there at night, so we stayed in with a takeaway. (McDonalds is just over the road!)

Check in was quite simple and quick and we were taken to our room on the 6th floor. The room was lovely, was large and quiet with large comfortable bed. The hotel also has a pillow menu . The room had an old 'box' tv with only a couple of English news channels and sports channels with English football with Italian commentary. No free wi if in the room, but you can get free wifi in the lobby with a code and password that you can get from reception. 

We wanted to go to the Archeological museum, so we went to the reception to ask for help on how to get there. We were given a map and told the metro is the best way to get there. During this time, a random man in reception was hovering, butting in and then he followed us as we left the hotel and started trying to sell us excursions/taxis and information. We said no thank you and went on our way to the metro. We found this ok, but had no idea where to get a ticket, so ended up heading back to the hotel to find this information out, info that really should of been provided when we requested information to start with. The reception staff speak little English and seem unable to provide suitable travel information. We were told to get a ticket from the bar next door to the hotel. The random man was still hanging around the lobby and outside the hotel throughout this time harassing other hotel guests and passers by. I find it quite poor that the hotel allow people like that to hang around and harass its guests as it certainly made us feel a bit uneasy. 

Breakfast the next day was nothing special, unwelcoming staff and a poor spread of hot and cold foods. Glasses for the juices were plastic cups, so from that you can imagine the standard of the breakfast. 

Check out was also disappointing, no thank you for your stay or how was your stay, just 'finish', which was their way I guess of saying all done, bye. 

All in all a poor hotel in dodgy location, well located to the train station with fantastic, large, quiet rooms but with poor and miserable staff and a rubbish breakfast. Would not stay again and would not recommend to a friend. 

Room Tip: High floor, away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnym_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have just returned from Napoli have spent 4 nights hotel was good and staff helpful and spoke good English but it on busy road opposite train station and the driver do not stop! So u do have to push your way though traffic to get to station or buses but please beware of people given you advise of which train or bus u need to get to go capri,pompei etc as they will follow u for a tip! Also at night do not go out alone in Napoli

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Ramada Naples
#43 of 186 in Naples
849 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#19 of 186 in Naples
1,771 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stelle Hotel
#28 of 186 in Naples
446 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
460 reviews
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#53 of 186 in Naples
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Terminus

Property: Starhotels Terminus
Address: Piazza Garibaldi 91, 80124, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Terminus in Naples. We're conveniently located in Piazza Garibaldi, close to the historical centre and just beside the railway station - ideal for travelling around and exploring the city's most important cultural sights.Our romantic hotel is styled with harmonious colours and exudes the warmth and hospitality for which Naples has always been famous. Sit and enjoy drinks in the roof garden and soak up the beautiful views encompassing Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples. During the spring and summer, you can enjoy the sounds of live piano music too.In all there are 173 traditional rooms and suites, a well-equipped fitness room, new Congress Centre with 10 meeting rooms seating, all bathed in natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Terminus Hotel Naples
Starhotel Terminus Naples
Starhotel Terminus Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing