We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs complete refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Terminus
Ranked #43 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Needs complete refurbishment”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This hotel is in a good location for the railway station and buses but is in need of complete refurbishment and some extra cleaning. The rooms are OK when things work but I had to try 3 rooms before I found one where the air conditioning worked. However, the light buzzed when turned on. Electric sockets are not fixed to the walls properly. When I returned for 2 nights I was in a room with no English language TV (I had had this is a previous room). The breakfast is OK but the dinner is expensive and not that good. Things are not helped by the road works going on outside. The staff are pleasant and helpful though and my time there was not unpleasant as there was a good space for meeting colleagues etc. but I would not choose it for a holiday hotel. They also need to review their internet availability as this was only free in 30 minute blocks in the downstairs area, which is useless if there on business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    448
    249
    92
    62
See reviews for
171
335
63
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. It was opposite the main railway station in the city in an area that was very busy and some parts very dirty. The website was misleading stating the hotel is 4 stars and there is a roof garden to enjoy the views and have a drink overlooking Naples. The terrace was closed off for renovations and we were disappointed as this was the reason we booked the hotel. We had a room at the front on the 3rd floor with a balcony. The views were of the construction site below where they are building a huge bus terminal. It was VERY noisy and dusty, so disappointing to say the least. Room was average size and bed was good but the carpet was old and stained. No clock or hair conditioner in the bathroom. Most of the reception staff were good but there was one elderly staff member who came across as very uninterested and bored. Breakfast was the same each day, a buffet, and if you go late they tend not to top the food up for you unless you ask. Would not stay there again or recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Brantford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We did not enjoy our stay at the Starhotel Terminus at all. We were warned by other reviewers about the sketchiness of the area, and it was true. We felt unsafe, especially late at night.

But the worse part was the room. It had a musty smell, and when we started using the air conditioner and it started to leak onto the carpet. We called the desk twice to explain our situation. They said nothing could be done that night. When we asked for a change in room, they told us they were full So we were left to jump over the wet carpet into the bathroom tile, being careful not to slip and break our neck. Also, while showering water leaked all over the bathroom and on to the carpet in the room. The ceiling tiles were also black. I can only imagine how much mould must have been thriving in this room.

I forgot to mention that the sheets had a questionable stain.

We would not stay here ever again. The service was awful. They were not even apologetic to the situation.

Room Tip: We would probably stay in Sorrento next time and make a day trip to Naples. The archeological museum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Spent 2 weeks in Italy and have tried star hotel in Florence, impressed with them but the Naples branch totally bring down its brand.

1) Checkin and greeted by unfriendly, monotonous staff.
2) Our no-smoking is as good as a cigarette den and sight of severe wears and tears. We complained and the front desk simply told us to open the windows to air the room and told us 3 times they will get someone to "freshen up" the room but no one ever shown up.
3) ultra small and slow lift (better off taking the stairs)
4) walls are so think, I can literally hear the next door turning on the faucet or taking shower!

We spent most of our time at night in the lobby and even thought of sleeping at the lobby lounge instead of our room! Yes it's that bad!

Do not stay unless you are not particular about cleanliness and can put up with bad services!

Only plus point is the location but I rather pay a taxi to bring me to nicer hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loracny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I recently stayed in the starhotel terminus and found it to be a comfortable place to stay.

The rooms were clean and spacious with a nicely fitted bathroom, The hotel staff were a bit rude but i think it was just their nature. Nothing i felt i had to complain about.

We went for a meal in the hotel which was a little overpriced for what we got and one of the waiters was really rude attending to other people and ignoring my request but no big deal.

Checking in and checking out was smooth the hotel bill is available on your TV so you can check it as you go. I did request a room with a good view to to be fair to them we got a brilliant view up on the 6th floor of Mt Vesuvius. There is also a rooftop garden which we had a look at and it had a scent of fresh flowers with brilliant views all over the city.

The hotel offers a range of services we didn't use them so i cant comment on them.

Overall nice hotel i would recommend this hotel and i would stay here again.

Room Tip: request a room facing mt Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet2jimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The location of the hotel is near to the railway station. It come with the facilities similar to that of other hotel. The room is big and so is the toilet. The room does come with television and fridge but without safe deposit box (if you need either of this or all). The hotel has elevators. It also allow free storage of your luggage. the room include breakfast. The hotel is quiet in the inside therefore we have a good rest. Even though our room overlook the main road. The Main Railway Station is about or less then 5-mins Walking Distance and there are no supermarket nearby not sure if there is any at the Mcdonalds side of the railway station. And the wifi is only available at the lobby area unless you wanted to pay for it. Other then the check-out which is slower then others hotel nothing much to complain about. However, do request to take your own luggage if you store it with them. Cos it will take very long before it reaches your room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
885 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Maybe they don't like British tourists, but I found the staff offhand and not at all attentive.
We stayed in a standard room which was adequate, however it was cleaned thoroughly each morning.
The breakfast buffet was adequate but if you needed a hot drink, it was easier to find a waiter rather than wait for one to ask if you wanted anything.
The gym was adequate, but the one running machine wasn't always working and there was no water or antiseptic wipes and one day there were no towels.
If you want a central hotel, this is good because it is next to the railway station and bus station. If you want luxury and attentive service, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. They are building in the Piazza and they start work at 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#18 of 186 in Naples
1,785 reviews
Ramada Naples
#41 of 186 in Naples
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stelle Hotel
#33 of 186 in Naples
455 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
480 reviews
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#55 of 186 in Naples
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Terminus

Property: Starhotels Terminus
Address: Piazza Garibaldi 91, 80124, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Terminus in Naples. We're conveniently located in Piazza Garibaldi, close to the historical centre and just beside the railway station - ideal for travelling around and exploring the city's most important cultural sights.Our romantic hotel is styled with harmonious colours and exudes the warmth and hospitality for which Naples has always been famous. Sit and enjoy drinks in the roof garden and soak up the beautiful views encompassing Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples. During the spring and summer, you can enjoy the sounds of live piano music too.In all there are 173 traditional rooms and suites, a well-equipped fitness room, new Congress Centre with 10 meeting rooms seating, all bathed in natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Terminus Hotel Naples
Starhotel Terminus Naples
Starhotel Terminus Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing