We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Terminus
Ranked #42 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Notts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Suited our Needs”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A group of six of us visited Naples, purely as a base for the surrounding area, mainly Pompei & Herculaneum.
We flew into Naples & caught the airport bus to Piazza Garibaldi & only had to walk a few yards to the hotel (A big plus!)
The Railway Station is right next door too, so brilliantly located for trains to the above.
(A little tip, visit the tourest office located at the station & buy a ticket that allows entry to archeological sites that also includes transport. You can save a lot of money & hassle!)
As for the hotel itself, yes the room carpets have been "let go" a bit, could do with a jolly good dust & facelift in general, but overall it was comfortable & did the job)
The staff were very helpful & the breakfasts were good & food plentiful.
Our friends had rooms overlooking the front of the hotel, that was prone to some traffic & construction noise (Major construction works going on) but our side street room didn't suffer from this.
There are a couple of adequate restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, so once again, we saved a lot of time .
It really depends on why you are there & how long you are staying in your hotel?
Yes, it is a bit scruffy looking around the station area but much of Naples is like this anyway.
The bed was comfortable, staff friendly, breakfast good, very convenient location.
This for me, is far more important than having new carpets & the latest T.V in my room.

Room Tip: To reduce noise, get one that overlooks the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NottsMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    438
    247
    90
    60
See reviews for
165
332
63
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
1,714 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Greetings! This hotel isn't bad at all. The hotel was clean as far as I could see and the room was fine. The service in Italy is interesting...locals don't seem to have a problem cutting in front of you and the clerks will not either notice or say anything, so it's best not to make a big deal, but be prepared for this reality. The restaurant here is great. Terrific food and service here. I dinned their three times during my stay and all meals and coffees were great. The building is old and the condition of the building interior isn't great, but they do keep the hotel clean, which is more than I can say for the area outside around the hotel. It's really dirty and garbage is tossed all over the place. The train is close to you so that could help you get around...The room had an A/C but it wasn't working, luckily it wasn't too hot in the hotel. This could be a good hotel option depending on your needs and the price...don't pay too much to stay here.

Room Tip: Be careful with you cross the street, because in Naples, people drive like they can see the future.T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

It's possible to tell that this was once a very nice hotel that has unfortunately been sadly neglected. It may have just been the floor we were allocated because we had taken advantage of a 'special' rate, but the hall carpets were dirty with the pattern barely visible and the brass lining and fittings in the lift were badly scratched and stained. Our room was (just) OK but it was badly in need of a repaint and the bathroom was not clean to the usual, expected standard. The linen, however, was clean to the expected standard and the bed was comfortable enough for our short stay.

Other, more expensive rooms on other floors might have been more acceptable but the improvement in standard would have to be very large from what we saw. We stayed there because it was right across the road from the train station and that is the hotel's only advantage. In all honesty, we could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We took advantage of a 'special" offer and received a terrible room. Check your room on arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank odo5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Naples hotels

Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel smelled. Oddly enough some of the hallways smelled like popcorn. It was weird. But the bathroom in the room smelled the worst and the stench do not go away. Everything was old and outdated. The carpets throughout the whole hotel are in dire need of replacing. The blow dryer in the bathroom was something out of the 1980s. Also the service was not great. I asked a few questions and the people at the front desk gave me a lot of attitude and were clearly talking about me in Italian. The free breakfast was satisfactory.

I would say the ONLY reason you should stay at this hotel is if you are looking for a convenient location to the train station. It's literally right next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

It's a great place to stay if youre in need of transportation, but not if you're hoping to "see the sights". It's a pretty rough area, very grungy. I'd say it's best to eat outside that plaza. The local shops are a bit...uh...well they lack a right atsmoshpere. It's not an area that's easy on the eyes due to the construction. Don't get too discouraged, tho, the nicer areas are only a bus ride away, and less than 10min.

Room Tip: If you are hoping to be "walking" distance from the beach, it's not close enough. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbykiid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights after a few days on the Amalfi Coast.
It is very conveniently located and a beautifully,renovated hotel on what I would say is not a desirable ;part of Naples.The rooms are almost 5star and the buffet breakfast is fresh and varied.
There is a lot of development in the area and the lack of rubbish collection in Naples,spoils what is an essential city on a trip to Italy

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Excellent hotel for a transit stop.

The hotel is just outside the station terminal in Piazza Garibaldi. The Piazza is been renovated, so there is a lot of chaos in the area. Once inside the hotel though all of that just fades away.

Stayed here for only one night.

The hotel is comfortable, and the rooms are of a decent night. The beds are excellent and comfortable. The rooms are clean, but could do with a little bit of touch up work.

Stay away from the mini bar, its expensive!

Breakfast was very good, without a lot on the menu. Ideal to get to the port if you are onward bound to Ischia or Capri.

If you plan to stay longer in Napoli, and are arriving by train, stay here for a night and look for other more suitable hotels in a better area.

The surrounding area is a bit dodgy. Lots of street vendors and professional con merchants. Was offered an iPad for 150€ within 2 hours of arriving.

Hotel restaurant looks good, but the prices are sky high (probably explains why it was empty). There are a few good restaurants just outside the hotel though.

Pros:
Good location for a short stay.
Quiet once inside the hotel.
Staff are friendly.
Close to the Molo Beverello (Port)

Cons:
Area is a little unsafe
Wifi is expensive
Rooms could do with a minor make over

Note: If you want to get to the port to catch a ferry to Ischia, Forio, Cassamicolla, or Capri catch the Tram No.1 from Piazza Garibaldi - tram stop is directly on the opposite side of the Piazza from the train station (its a short trip about 10 min - Molo Beverello is the last stop)

Room Tip: One night stay only recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Ramada Naples
#43 of 186 in Naples
851 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#19 of 186 in Naples
1,771 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stelle Hotel
#28 of 186 in Naples
447 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 186 in Naples
461 reviews
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#53 of 186 in Naples
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Terminus

Property: Starhotels Terminus
Address: Piazza Garibaldi 91, 80124, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Terminus in Naples. We're conveniently located in Piazza Garibaldi, close to the historical centre and just beside the railway station - ideal for travelling around and exploring the city's most important cultural sights.Our romantic hotel is styled with harmonious colours and exudes the warmth and hospitality for which Naples has always been famous. Sit and enjoy drinks in the roof garden and soak up the beautiful views encompassing Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples. During the spring and summer, you can enjoy the sounds of live piano music too.In all there are 173 traditional rooms and suites, a well-equipped fitness room, new Congress Centre with 10 meeting rooms seating, all bathed in natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Terminus Hotel Naples
Starhotel Terminus Naples
Starhotel Terminus Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing