We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but not too special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starhotels Terminus
Ranked #41 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty but not too special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel was decorated nicely and the lobby was pretty. The location of the hotel was good in the way that it was right next to the railway station, so easy to come and leave. However, the area of the railway station was very restless and did not feel secure. It also caused a lot of noise into the room.

The bed was good and despite the noise, I slept very well. The room was very small (524), and I think the bathroom was approximately the same size as the bedroom, which is not the best way to divide the space, in my opinion. The shower was dirty and the sewer did not function very well - I showered standing in the dirty water I created up to my ankles.

The breakfast was good compared to many other Italian hotels concentrating only on the sweet stuff. There was bacon and eggs and some bread with cheese and a selection of ham. And of course the sweet stuff.

This was in my opinion a basic hotel that was just decorated very nicely. The Wifi cost extra, which, for instance, is in my opinion a service that should be free in top hotels.

Room Tip: At least room 524 was very small and the windows let to the Piazza Garibaldi which produced a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    418
    236
    85
    56
See reviews for
157
314
62
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I recently stayed in the starhotel terminus and found it to be a comfortable place to stay.

We went for a meal in the hotel which was a little overpriced for what we got and one of the waiters was really rude attending to other people and ignoring my request but no big deal.

Checking in and checking out was smooth the hotel bill is available on your TV so you can check it as you go. I did request a room with a good view to to be fair to them we got a brilliant view up on the 6th floor of Mt Vesuvius. There is also a rooftop garden which we had a look at and it had a scent of fresh flowers with brilliant views all over the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalifa133565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a few days. My first room was poky and scruffy, on raising the matter I was moved to a very quiet executive room on the top floor for a small extra charge. This new room felt a million miles away from the construction activity in the square next to the main station. To me the best feature of the hotel was the ability to sit and relax on the balcony with a beer in hand and to look out across the chaos of Naples or out towards Vesuvius.

Breakfast was fine, though nothing special. The hotel was well located for transport and a number of restaurants were within a couple of minutes walk (including some that offered takeaway pizza etc). Whilst I walked into the centre of Naples from the hotel, I would be rather cautious and think twice about carrying valuables around town.

To me this hotel provided reasonable quality at a sensible price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofarsogood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were booked into this hotel by a third party, and had an executive room on the sixth floor overlooking the station and with a perfect view of Vesuvius in the distance. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and impeccably clean, as was the bathroom. Being right next to the station, with a metro construction site in front, there was a fair bit of noise even with double glazing. But we did not spend much time in the room during the day and we had no problems sleeping.

The hotel provides two levels of internet access - you can get a slowish service for free (which you have to renew every half hour by getting a new username and password from reception) or you can pay €6 for 24 hours of fast internet. Breakfast was fairly standard, though unusually for Italy there was fried bacon on offer as well as the usual range of brioches, cold meat/cheese, cereals, bread etc. Staff were friendly and speak English, though we have enough Italian to get by. There is a fitness room, though we did not use or inspect it.

The location is a major plus - right next to the main train station, the Circumvesuviana (thence Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum etc) and the metro - and within walking distance of many of the principal sights. Piazza Garibaldi is admittedly a mess but this is Naples!

Though we were not paying for ourselves on this trip, based on the advertised room rates I would rate this hotel as good value for money and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed 1 week in the beginning of the october. Location is really good because it is next to the Central train station but surroundings not that pleasant. Hotel was OK, nothing special (average) but location is excellent.Staff is english speaking reasonably. Wi-fi works in public areas downstairs. Breakfast is good staff is quite helpful during the breakfast. Dinners is better to ear in the town not in the hotel (food very basic) Rooms are clean. The only thing that road construction near by can disturb you if you would like to stay during the day. In Italy and in this hotel they take municiplaity tax per person per night so that will increase your hotel bill (3 euro per night per person).Shuttle Bus from the airport stops at the square where hotel located and it is only 3 euro ticket to get from/to airport. Tip: ticket to the Airport shuttle from the Airport can be bought either with driver direclty or with the tabaco kiosk in the departure hall of the airport. Drivers sometimes sell you ticket in the bus but I was refused and was sent to buy in the tabaco kiosk. However in the bus that I took, the bus driver sold the tickets inside the bus. So from the hotel you can go by train easily to Pompei (also price of the round trip ticket is 3 euro by train). Taxi to go to downtown or sea view area around 8-10 euros per trip. Tip insist that you are charged by meter with the taxi driver if you take taxi from train station. But of course taxi drivers will play all sorts of tricks having an advantage that you are the foreigner and dont speakI Italian. Watch sometimes taxi meter because it can turn really with speed of the light ( we took taxi to go outside Naples to the commercial centre, taxi back meter was moving with the speed of the light in such a way that I need to pointed this out to driver and to agree for general price NOT by meter ). We also would like to go to fashion outlet outside Naples but you can get your discount ticket to this outlet from the hotel only if hotel books the taxi to go there by the hotel, we decided not to go. We were visiting the scientific congress so I would highly recommend if you can go on excersions (that really changes your impression of the city) and Archaeological museum is really very interesting. Of course in some hotels the warn directly in that hotel no, you better dont take with you expensive jewellery to walk in the evenings through the city, and also you dont leave your wallet or bag in the car that someone can easily take it through open window of the car during driving on the road. Moto cyclists that are many on the roads often do that at tha city.

Room Tip: Now there is a road construction going in front of the hotel. Should be side rooms not looking on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

+Hotel located right next to the train station
+Many tourist attractions within walking distance (historical city center)
+Hotel staff friendly and english speaking
+Check in/out process straight forward
+Wifi available in public area/ in room for a reasonable price (5.5 Euro/24h)
+Nice atmosphere in Breakfast-/Bar-/Lobby area
+Room size adecuate and clean, bed confortable, balcony available with side views of Piazza Garibaldi (booked executive room 626)

+/- room installations generally up to date and working with the exception of the TV set (old type and small). Channel selection acceptable containing foreign channels.
+/- Noise level high (insulation of window could be improved).
+/- Breakfast selection ok (containing various bred types, cereals, egg/sausage and small selection of ham/salami and cheese).

Room Tip: Book an executive room - they're on a higher floor, noise level is lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

A group of six of us visited Naples, purely as a base for the surrounding area, mainly Pompei & Herculaneum.
We flew into Naples & caught the airport bus to Piazza Garibaldi & only had to walk a few yards to the hotel (A big plus!)
The Railway Station is right next door too, so brilliantly located for trains to the above.
(A little tip, visit the tourest office located at the station & buy a ticket that allows entry to archeological sites that also includes transport. You can save a lot of money & hassle!)
As for the hotel itself, yes the room carpets have been "let go" a bit, could do with a jolly good dust & facelift in general, but overall it was comfortable & did the job)
The staff were very helpful & the breakfasts were good & food plentiful.
Our friends had rooms overlooking the front of the hotel, that was prone to some traffic & construction noise (Major construction works going on) but our side street room didn't suffer from this.
There are a couple of adequate restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, so once again, we saved a lot of time .
It really depends on why you are there & how long you are staying in your hotel?
Yes, it is a bit scruffy looking around the station area but much of Naples is like this anyway.
The bed was comfortable, staff friendly, breakfast good, very convenient location.
This for me, is far more important than having new carpets & the latest T.V in my room.

Room Tip: To reduce noise, get one that overlooks the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NottsMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Ramada Naples
#42 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#19 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stelle Hotel
#32 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#50 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Terminus

Property: Starhotels Terminus
Address: Piazza Garibaldi 91, 80124, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Terminus 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Terminus in Naples. We're conveniently located in Piazza Garibaldi, close to the historical centre and just beside the railway station - ideal for travelling around and exploring the city's most important cultural sights.Our romantic hotel is styled with harmonious colours and exudes the warmth and hospitality for which Naples has always been famous. Sit and enjoy drinks in the roof garden and soak up the beautiful views encompassing Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples. During the spring and summer, you can enjoy the sounds of live piano music too.In all there are 173 traditional rooms and suites, a well-equipped fitness room, new Congress Centre with 10 meeting rooms seating, all bathed in natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Terminus Hotel Naples
Starhotel Terminus Naples
Starhotel Terminus Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing