We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location within Naples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
Ranked #31 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location within Naples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location with splendid views of the nearby castle and yacht marina. We did not have the direct sea view room, but we had similar views from the side of our balcony. The area felt safe and the road in front of the hotel was closed to traffic in the evening when we were there. Many tourists were jogging or doing evening walks along the promenade. The main attractions, shopping areas were within walking distance from the hotel. The wifi was a mild irritation as it required entering a long complicated password for connection from time to time. Rooms had enough space for 2, comfortable and usual amenities. Breakfast was pretty good and it was a great stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AequanimitaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    241
    92
    44
    23
See reviews for
116
248
27
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is gorgeous and the views across the bay of Naples is fabulous. The hotel is a luxury hotel and the rooms are well done and the hotel has a breakfast buffet that is fantastic. The hotel is located on Via Partenope which is close to the Castle and the promenade which you can walk to find many restaurants. We ate a few blocks behind the hotel at a very nice local place, it felt safe for Naples. Naples is a place you really have to be careful. The ferry terminal is very close also, a short taxi ride or you could walk, it's about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ri0grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
686 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Via Partenope is absolutely the best location in town, right in front of the fort and the private yacht marina, with the most splendid views and a wide choice of restaurants. My room was spacious and comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and I had the bay view.

However, three issues considerably detracted from the experience.

One, the WiFi system was designed by a paranoid sadist. Though it was free, it required a complex log-in using random character sequences that were really hard to input correctly on an iPad, much more so an iPhone. Then, the signal would cut out frequently, forcing me to log in again. In a 2-day stay, and with only two devices, I had to log in at least 10 times, and finally gave up during my last 16 hours. Two, the bathroom was badly designed, and no amount of caution could prevent wetting the floor severely in the course of a mere shower. And third, there was some evidence of misguided cost-cutting - slip covers to hide threadbare furniture (and two lightweight chairs where there should have been at least a love-seat), teeny soap bars, few tv channel choices appealing to North Americans, perfunctory stationery setup.

Still, the Grand Santa Lucia is probably an okay choice for many kinds of traveler, just for its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The location is perfect for those walks on the promenade overlooking the water from the hotel. The room is large, clean, modern, free-wifi (but you have to enter this long password all the time to connect), free breakfast (which I was never told about so I missed the first morning). It's a good 20 minute walk to the downtown area so I ended up taking a few taxis which are conveniently lined up around the corner. The room price is average-reasonable for what you get. Staff are friendly and helpful if you can get their attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location on. The water

Safe and super food near by

Very clean and luxurious


The boardwalk comes alive at night

Breakfast was wonderful

The view was amazing overlooking the medeterian

We had an ocean view and met up with a tour at one of the conference rooms

The roman style patio was really cool

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Grand Hotel Santa Lucia is one of those survivals from the days when its clients drove Hispano Suizas and had their luggage brought on for them by their valets. It is still a class act.

The view, of the Castel del Ovo just across the road, can hardly be bettered, even in Naples. The reception and public areas, with their marble floors and spotless walls, still look as good as they did 100 years ago, which is more than can be said of most hotels of this vintage.

Service at reception was quick, friendly and attentive, with perfect English spoken on reply to my hesitant Italian.

The suite they showed us to had a huge sitting room, comfortably and elegantly furnished and well maintained with everything you would want. The only sign of penny pinching was providing pencils instead of pens. The bedroom was not much smaller and had comfortable beds, sensible lighting and adequate storage space and a safe, three things which cannot always be relied upon in Italian hotels. The bathroom was more marble, with a Jacuzzi bath and all mod cons including bidet. Bathrobes and slippers made the last finishing touch. The rooms were carpeted throughout (except the bathroom) , so much more comfortable (and quieter) than the parquet or tiles so often found in the Mediterranean area.

Wi-Fi was free and worked most of the time. The only English channels on the TV were BBC World and CNN, but there was also a Sky box and remote control which I never got the hang of, so potentially more channels were available.

Breakfast was good without being in any way outstanding but this can be said of most Neapolitan hotels ( the breakfast at Parkers has certainly gone downhill since last year). Cereal choice of cornflakes, bran flakes or coco pops was a trifle disappointing. I always think a hotel of this standing should at least have muesli. The scrambled eggs were very good, and the bacon looked appetising too. There was the usual selection of bread, cheese, cold meat, fruit and yoghourt, and the vast array of cakes which the Italians consume so avidly at breakfast time. Coffee comes in your own pot, so much nicer than one cup at a time or having to get up to go to a machine. The tables are generously spaced too, a commendable rarity these days.

Add in the location which is as good as you are going to get, and this has to be a hotel to consider for future visits to this fascinating city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akathistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We just spent a week at the Santa Lucia. It is in a brilliant location opposite the gem village by Castel dell'Ovo. The location is quiet, clean and easy to get around. The staff were helpful and the ambience attractive without being snooty like the hotels either side. Other pluses were fast elevators, good breakfasts, quiet rooms and excellent standards of cleanliness. But the hotel internet is a huge problem. You have to laboriously key in a ten digit user name and password every 24 hours and this never worked on my iBook Pro because there was no receptioin. One day I went next door to the Grand Hotel Vesuvio and their internet was fine. So please, management of Grand Hotel Santa Lucia, FIX THIS!

Room Tip: We had scaffolding on our balcony but at least we had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaGemina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#45 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Partenope Relais
Partenope Relais
#40 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
San Ferdinando
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#17 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Santa Lucia

Property: Grand Hotel Santa Lucia
Address: Via Partenope 46, 80121, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#26 Business Hotel in Naples
#37 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Santa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Naples
Grand Santa Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing