We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room... But thats about it!”
Review of Hotel Zara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zara
Ranked #86 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed 23 August 2011

If you are put off by first impressions, it might not be such a good idea to stay here!! We found it very difficult to find the hotel - it is located on the second floor of a building, and although there is a sign, we found it rather confusing. You have to walk up a horrid staircase to get to the reception area. When we got there, we were quite surprised at how well furnished the reception area was. We found it very difficult to communicate with the man at reception. We were shown to our room - although there were only two of us, we had been given what seemed like a family room with 4 beds plus a futon. The room was clean and well furnished, and safe, although we were not provided with a safe or towels.

The main problem we had with this hotel was the staff in the hotel. We found that during our entire stay, only one man seemed to be present. We were made to feel a burden, and therefore we did not like to ask him for help. We felt that the customer service in this hotel was absolutely awful. We were laughed at, the man was sarcastic, rude, made us feel very uncomfortable. He would often say things in Italian to other Italian guests when we were around, which made us feel particularly uncomfortable. He did not seem to take his job seriously, and while we were there was just sat around watching TV while there were guests buzzing on the intercom trying to get into the hotel. He also gave us the wrong wifi code, and acted as if he was very annoyed with us when we asked him to write it down to be sure.

We both feel that cutsomer service is a key part of enjoying your stay in a hotel. We have been travelling around Europe for a month now and this was definitelty the worst hotel we stayed in - purely because of the service we received. We thoroughly enjoyed Naples, even though it has a bad reputation, but would recommend possibly spending a little more to stay in a better hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more, and stay further away from the central train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Not far from the central station, I think a 2-3 minute walk. The hotel receptionist/manager/owner(?) was really nice and was always helpful.

Our room was clean and big with a balcony. The towels in the bathroom are quickly wet because they're too thin. We removed the drain cap because otherwise the shower would flood.

The breakfast is really basic, but there is freshly baked bread. After one week without this in Rome, we were happy!

We slept right next to reception and that was the only real problem I had with the place. The walls were so thin that I (my girlfriend slept right through it) could hear every sound at reception all night long.

Also wifi didn't work on our computer (in the other hotels before and after this one, it worked) but we could use the lan-cable at reception. We didn't find this a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This is an average hotel if all you need is a bed for the night. The location is well situated for all forms of transportation. You can walk to many of the historic sites of Napoli. Walking seems a bit uncomfortable but we had no problems. The breakfast will keep you alive until lunch. There is a large pile of garbage in front of the hotel door, but remember, you are in bella Napoli. During the night le puttane seem to like this location. A taxi to the airport costs 15 euro and the hotel will book one for you. Security is good because need to buzz you in from the street. The price is about right for this type of hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonk1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This place wasn't in the greatest spot, in terms of awe inspiring beauty, but it was certainly handy for my purposes. I needed to be fairly close to the train station, and this was a 4 minute walk. The staff at the hotel were excellent, friendly and helpful. My room was actually really cute! I had a little balcony looking out over kind of an ungly street, but still, it was a balcony! Their wifi was good, and the bed comfortable and it was clean, clean clean!
Check my blog for photos.
www.livingmylifeinreverse.blogspot.com

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andercander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The hotel is located near railway station, but on rather quiet street,it has been easily found, the room was clean and without any smell of smoke, Air condition functioned properly and not loud. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was rather basic, but what should you expect for such a low price? I think it was perfect for this price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank namedv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We found out about this hotel on tripadvisor.com . It's a very nice place, the rooms are big and Mr Lino is a very nice person. He recomended us some places where we could go and also where we could eat. We we're also very satisfied beause we could leave our luggage in the living room of the hotel. I really reccomend you this place...And it's 15 minutes from the airport by bus!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweety_16ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We found this hotel in Lonely Planet, which described it as a good value. Indeed, it was. The rooms were clean and fairly quiet. The bathrooms worked well, and were clean. The breakfast was sufficient, not lavish. And the management and staff were always pleasant and very helpful. We sould come back to this hotel were we to come back to Naples. (Actually, we *did* come back after a trip to Amalfi ... we really didn't want to stay anywhere else.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casanova
Hotel Casanova
#100 of 186 in Naples
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 186 in Naples
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#52 of 186 in Naples
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ginevra
Hotel Ginevra
#148 of 186 in Naples
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden Napoli
Hotel Garden Napoli
#151 of 186 in Naples
235 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Le Orchidee
Hotel Le Orchidee
#89 of 186 in Naples
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zara

Address: Via Firenze 81, 80142, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Naples
Price Range: £29 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zara 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Zara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zara Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing