We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Ranked #64 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Advantages: Helpful, lovely staff. Unspotted clean, relatively big sized rooms with huge beds. Nice and relaxing surroundings inside the fence. Close to the airport.
Disadvantage: location since it is situated far away from restaurants, shops, public transport.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majmoczi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    165
    81
    33
    16
See reviews for
59
142
14
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n.wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel for the simple reason it is fairly near the airport. The hotel is not the easiest to get to, along very narrow streets, some overflowing with rubbish, in a run down area of Naples. The hotel itself is lovely. Bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and all staff are very helpful and friendly. I certainly would not recommend walking out near the hotel but to get the staff to call a taxi for you if you wish to go into Naples centre or the seafront for a meal. Last time we stayed we ate at the hotel but we were told the restaurant was closed the evening we stayed due to a private party, which we did not think was very satisfactory, therefore we could only have room service with a limited menu or go into town which we had to do.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosierose46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We booked this hotel through Airmiles to celebrate our silver wedding aniversary and thought it sounded great. Couldn't go wrong with a 4 star hotel! Big mistake! Planes flew in and out of Naples airport right over the hotel. Not good if you want an early night. The hotel is situated in 'Skankville' on the outskirts of town. To say the area is rough would be an understatement. During our 5 day stay we dreaded the journey from and to the hotel because there was no alternative route. On our last evening we met a couple of ladies who were visiting Italy as part of a sponsored volcano climb. They had just arrived at the hotel after using 3 buses, followed by the 600m walk, or should I say gauntlet, through Skankville to the hotel and one of them was attacked by a local thug who tried to take her bag.

If you use this hotel we would strongly recommend using a taxi to and from it and bear in mind that there are no decent amenities nearby so you will probably end up using the hotel restaurant most of the time.

Now the good points: The hotel is of a very high standard with spacious rooms (we had a room with two double beds. Which mean't the wife and I had one each....best nights sleep I've had in a while LOL) with very comfortable beds. The breakfast is adequate with the same choice of food every morning (could do with a change now and again). The restaurant food is very good. However, the same dish can vary from meal to meal. Also, one evening we ordered the fillet steak but were served a cheaper cut and nothing was said by the waiter until we mentioned it the following evening and he replied that he knew it was wrong as the chef had said he was completely out of fillet. The staff are very friendly and helpfu(especially the young female receptionist)l and their spoken English is of a good standard.

We would only recommend this hotel for a quick stopover.

Room Tip: Pay for a room upgrade to get best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exocet350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

This is a very nice hotel. The location may seem not so good to some, to us it was fine. It is about 600 meters to the nearest bus stop so if you can't walk a quarter of a mile you might not want to consider this.

The rooms were really nice, clean and quiet. The roof of the hotel features some spectacular views of Naples and Vesuvius. It's a wonderful place to just eat some bread cheese and wine from right down the street. Also a pretty decent pizza place and a pastry shop.

Everything Naples is minutes away by bus (for some reason they don't charge for you to ride?) or cab. Don't let the cabbie screw you. Agree on a price before. From city central you should not have to pay more than 7 Euros.

The staff is extremely nice and accomodating. The grounds are very nice. All in all I would say a very pleasant place to stay.

If I had a suggestion it would be what about breakfast? First of all it is not included, secondly it is over priced and really not very good. The restaurant for dinner is decent but not outstanding.

It's minutes away from the Capodimonte Mueso which is very very good.

I feel very comfortable recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia33, management consultant at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review of our hotel!
We appreciated the compliments. Your suggestions and complaints will have our full attention.

Hotel Villa Capodimonte offers a free morning transfer service to the historical centre.

Rates including breakfast and rates room only are on all major travel web sites. The price for our cold buffet breakfast is of Euro 10 per person.

Trusting to welcome soon again tripadvisor's travellers at the Villa Capodimonte, we remain with our best regards.

Letizia Tancredi
management consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
448 reviews
308 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

we selected this hotel because of 3 reasons: free parking on site, the view and the quiesence.

As other have reported the latter is a bit disturbed by the incoming airplanes (BTW: NAP airport is close to every Naples hotels as the aiport is in the city) and also the access to the hotel is a tight and uneven street.

Yes the food is overpriced as in most hotels in Europe, Italian restaurants especially in the South usually use the menu only as reference. For a full meal with a courses and drinks (wine, water) they'll charge you finally between 25 and 30 EUR/person regardless if you had 5 courses or 2, a bottle of wine of 2 beers... remember this in places without a written menu and missing prices!

We once walked to city centre daytime (!) which was fine but upstairs it's exhausting in the summer heat....

Still the advantages outbalance the disadvantages for my understanding and the rates (75-90 EUR/night with BF) will give you a great value for a relaxing Naples visit. A pool would make it a perfect place!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

First of all, I’ve got to say this is a nice hotel. Probably not the best 4-star I've stayed in, but the rooms are of a good standard (although the air-conditioning is very noisy - I was moved 3 times before I was put in a room with air-con that didn’t sound like a washing machine on spin-cycle), the are staff very helpful and the food pleasant. However I need to warn travellers of a security issue that I experienced.
Part of the charm of the hotel is that it is nicely secluded in a quiet location down a dead-end lane with wonderful views. However, if you arrive at night (I arrived at the hotel by taxi at around 10pm) the roads leading to it are very dark and narrow, and like many hotels this one has an automatic gate to the road that is closed overnight.
As it is the only hotel in the area all a thief needs to do is wait for a taxi to go down these dark lanes with someone in a suit in the back of it – they’ll almost certainly be staying at the 4 star hotel and therefore probably have some money on them. There is nowhere for a taxi to go when you’re down the dead-end lane and you have to get out of the cab to ring the doorbell for the gate opened - you’re in a very vulnerable situation. As it happens, these particular muggers didn’t wait for me to get out of the taxi – they followed us down the lane on a scooter, one of them pulled the taxi door open straight after we pulled up outside the gate and pointed a gun at me demanding my wallet.
I came to no harm, I cancelled my cards very quickly, and my company got me home the next day, but I’m convinced that I didn’t do anything to put myself in harms way other than arrive at the hotel late in the evening.
Beware!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ds44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacapodimonte, Direttore at Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte, responded to this review, 27 June 2010
Dear Sir,

following your bad experience, in our hotel (november 2009), we are to inform you that we have install many cameras along our street that are check 24 hours a day from the local police.
In additional, we have, every days, a private police. How you know, Neaples is a metropolitan city like Rome, Milan, Florence and while in all the big cities can happen this kind of situations;
from last year, when we have provide to equip us, our zone is became very safe and quite.
Hopeful that one day you can check with your eyes all that we have already do, wee send you our regards.

La direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
314 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

The Villa Capodimonte is a lovely hotel with lovely rooms. The Executive room we had booked (because of a “stay three nights and pay for two” offer for that level room) had two good double beds. We had stayed there in 2001 and decided to return because of the blessing of being able to drive there directly (via the airport) without driving through Naples. The hotel has a shuttle van on weekends that takes guests into Naples and one can return via two buses (and a very long walk) or by an expensive taxi.

BUT being fairly close to the airport, the sound of several flights each hour until around 11 PM were very loud and very disturbing. There is a very long walk to public transportation (perhaps 1/3 to 1/2 mile) and the museum. We had to switch rooms because the air conditioning wasn’t working in our first room and the a/c fan in the somewhat cooler second room would wake the dead.

And there are no nearby restaurants, so you are really stuck eating at the hotel. The food is so-so, and the lovely garden dining room was closed two of our four nights and we ate in the closed-in lower level room and the service was far from good. Because we waited an hour for our pasta one night, the entrees were burnt, and we were overcharged for each substituted course, we were told we wouldn’t be charged for the dinner -- but it was on our bill, at the inflated prices. We refused to pay and finally the amount was subtracted.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#30 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Pendino
Culture Hotel Centro Storico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Naples
#46 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Hotel Tiempo
#38 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza
#52 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte

Property: Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte
Address: Via Moiariello 66, 80131, Naples, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Naples
#33 Business Hotel in Naples
#43 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte è un hotel 4 stelle di Napoli che sorge all’interno di un meraviglioso giardino botanico sulla collina che ospita il grande Parco di Capodimonte e il suo Palazzo Reale. La struttura ospita il rinomato ristorante Torre del Palisciano, e dispone di un centro congressi con diverse sale attrezzate per meeting e conferenze. The Villa Capodimonte Culture Hotel is a 4-star hotel in Naples which stands in a splendid botanical garden on the hill which accommodates the large Capodimonte Park and its Royal Palace.Every morning a free transfer service to the historical centre is available for our clients.The hotel has WiFi internet connection throughout, which is free in all the Executive rooms.The hotel has a large unmanned internal parking space, which is free and exclusively for client use. Breakfast is served in the magnificent Oleander Veranda, looking out on the beautiful hotel park where each morning the hotel will extend its good morning greetings with a substantial buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culture Hotel Villa Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capodimonte Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing